Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sanctum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Me2nice
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 232
Posts: 4,384
Exclamation How do I make the game run better on my computer (if possible)?

My laptop (yes, laptop) has the following specs:

4GB of RAM (though, I can only use 3.75GB of it of course)

A quad core AMD CPU (clock speed ~2.1GHz per core)

1GB video memory (of course, this is a laptop so that doesn't really mean much). The card itself is an ATI Mobility Radeon 5650.

It also runs on windows 7 ultimate


Now, when I first began playing, which was a week or so after the game was first released, my computer could run it just fine. Then the updates came. Every time an update was released, my computer's performance with the game would drop Whereas, I once managed to stay above 60 frames-per-second and have my laptop remain relatively cool, now, ever since the Glade update, my laptop not only gets extremely hot when playing, but my framerate takes a nose dive when the mobs come in (I'm typically between 10 frames-per-second and 50). This is especially apparent on Glade, where there is a lot of scenery for my computer to render.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Now, before you ask:

-I have turned my video settings. Helped somewhat but not enough. My computer still gets extremely hot when playing.

-I have tried verifying the cache. Nothing

-I have tried defragmenting the game. Nothing.

-I have no other means of keeping my computer (relatively) cool other than a crappy cooling pad. Sorry.

Is there anything I can do to make the game run better?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
On a side note, I have noticed that the game is not fully taking advantage of my CPU; the highest CPU usage I've ever recorded from it was 26 percent (which roughly the same as any other game I play). Anyway to make it use all the processors for better performance (assuming this is possible)?

Last edited by Me2nice: 07-08-2011 at 05:50 PM.
Me2nice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 05:11 AM   #2
AntonWestbergh
 
Coffee Stain Studios
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 67
Posts: 415
I know there was some thread around about how to adapt the game for mobile settings. Someone was pretty successfully squeezing some extra fps out of it using it. I can't find it right now though..

Anyhow, the simple tips are to turn down the resolution and make sure to run without any dynamic lightning etc.

__________________
Follow me on Twitter!
AntonWestbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:54 AM   #3
Me2nice
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 232
Posts: 4,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonWestbergh View Post
I know there was some thread around about how to adapt the game for mobile settings. Someone was pretty successfully squeezing some extra fps out of it using it. I can't find it right now though..

Anyhow, the simple tips are to turn down the resolution and make sure to run without any dynamic lightning etc.
I have turned down the graphics settings. Again, they helped a little, but...just a little.
Me2nice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:12 AM   #4
DanielLundwall
 
Coffee Stain Studios
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 33
Posts: 172
Hello Me2Nice,

I believe this is the thread Anton was talking about.
DanielLundwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:09 PM   #5
Me2nice
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 232
Posts: 4,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielLundwall View Post
Hello Me2Nice,

I believe this is the thread Anton was talking about.
Thank you, but my computer is not low-end (at least middle. Well, as far as laptops go) and I meet the recommended requirements (though, admittedly, possibly not in the GPU department, but my card still has more memory than the game is recommending).My computer should be able to handle the game just fine, but it can't for some reason.

Still, I appreciate you showing me this and will try it out.

Now, how do I get it to take full advantage of my processor?

Last edited by Me2nice: 07-08-2011 at 06:35 PM.
Me2nice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Sanctum


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.