Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Medieval II series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2011, 05:44 PM   #1
shan735
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Medieval Total War II Launcher Problem and Others. Please help

Hello all.

I've had medieval total war ii and kingdoms for a very long time now and have had logged over 320+ hours on it. And never before have I had a problem with it =/

However, 2 days ago, when I tried to play it again I noticed the Medieval Total War II Launcher continued to play music after I quit the launcher...and the only way I could stop it was press ctrl-alt-dlt and then go on processes and quit the launcher.exe myself =/

Furthermore, I noticed that my launcher does not have an internet connection anymore and also that when I press settings this comes up : "Unhandled exception has occurred in your applicaiton. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the applicaiton will close immediately. Index was outside the bounds of the array."

AND THE DETAILS ARE:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
at System.Security.Cryptography.RijndaelManagedTransf orm.DecryptData(Byte[] inputBuffer, Int32 inputOffset, Int32 inputCount, Byte[]& outputBuffer, Int32 outputOffset, PaddingMode paddingMode, Boolean fLast)
at System.Security.Cryptography.RijndaelManagedTransf orm.TransformFinalBlock(Byte[] inputBuffer, Int32 inputOffset, Int32 inputCount)
at System.Security.Cryptography.CryptoStream.FlushFin alBlock()
at System.Security.Cryptography.CryptoStream.Dispose( Boolean disposing)
at System.IO.Stream.Close()
at CoreLib.Security.DecryptString(String encString, String phrase, String salt, String initVector)
at UpdateLib.UpdateCore.get_Password()
at Launcher.ConnectionSettingsForm.ConnectionSettings Form_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Mes sage& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Mess age& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.O nMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.W ndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3074 (QFE.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Launcher
Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
CodeBase: file:///c:/program%20files%20(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/medieval%20ii%20total%20war/launcher.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
CoreLib
Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
CodeBase: file:///c:/program%20files%20(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/medieval%20ii%20total%20war/CoreLib.DLL
----------------------------------------
SkinLib
Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
CodeBase: file:///c:/program%20files%20(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/medieval%20ii%20total%20war/SkinLib.DLL
----------------------------------------
AxInterop.SHDocVw
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
CodeBase: file:///c:/program%20files%20(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/medieval%20ii%20total%20war/AxInterop.SHDocVw.DLL
----------------------------------------
Interop.SHDocVw
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
CodeBase: file:///c:/program%20files%20(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/medieval%20ii%20total%20war/Interop.SHDocVw.DLL
----------------------------------------
Accessibility
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Accessibility/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Accessibility.dll
----------------------------------------
UpdateLib
Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
CodeBase: file:///c:/program%20files%20(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/medieval%20ii%20total%20war/UpdateLib.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3074 (QFE.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback
Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.DirectX
Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


One other thing I should mention that also occured to me was...I recieved a new router around a week ago...and I haven't started medieval total war ii launcher until 2 days ago...perhaps theres a link?
shan735 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:54 PM   #2
Sayne
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
I'm having similar problems, my launcher says it can't connect to the internet either. It seems to be a bigger problem than just the three people who've posted about this on the Steam forums. I don't have the unhandled exception problem, though, I still get the connections dialog box.

Another thing I've noticed is that if I DON'T kill the launcher with task manager (and I have to kill the process launcher.exe because the launcher no longer appears in the "Applications" tab of task manager) and I quit Medieval 2 and open up a second copy, the original launcher keeps running - I have two instances of Launcher.exe running in task manager.

My thread on the issue is here: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1999558

Last edited by Sayne: 07-16-2011 at 06:58 PM.
Sayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:43 AM   #3
Cranial Vacancy
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 169
Posts: 291
I had a similar problem with the launcher exe running in the background but never actually launching the game. After a few repeated tries in different comp modes with the exe with no luck I then had to kill a few launcher exes running still. I then decided to actually log into steam and launch the game from steam since I often play offline mode. Launching from steam then I was able to run the game ok and even exit and then go offline mode and launch the game fine. Might be worth a try if you haven't tried this.
Cranial Vacancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 06:22 AM   #4
muncusbreed
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Is there an answer to this problem this is really frustrating i just bought this game and i want to play it. I started up just fine the first time running it but started doin this everytime after that
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 09:25 PM   #5
chickem1232
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Exclamation installing problems

i had to reformat my hard drive due too upgrade but now i cant install medival 2 total war it keeps saying steam is too busy to install the game but it installs all my other games any help plz..
chickem1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 09:43 PM   #6
juanito225
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Bump. We need help in this problem, I am also experiencing the launcher to not quit and keep playing over and over, at some point it stop with a sound of error but my computer still sees the launcher running even when i can't find it anywhere. This slows my computer down way too much and is annoying. Also I can't quit steam because he thinks I'm playing M2TW, can't even end task the program.
juanito225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 11:34 PM   #7
Fenris.
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Yup, just bought and downloaded the game and get:

Medieval II Launcher

The Launcher is your portal to the latest news and information regarding the Total War Series!
To access this valuable resource you will need an Internet Connection.

If you already have an Internet Connection, please check your computer's Internet Connection and Proxy Settings.

No Net Connection
You must be connected to the internet to participate in Polls.


Then if I click on settings the game asks for a proxy address, proxy port, proxy username, and proxy password. Downloaded and play Total War Napoleon, so I dont know what the problem is. I guess I should note that I can actually play the game, just not get into launchers option menu.

Last edited by Fenris.: 08-22-2011 at 11:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 10:19 PM   #8
viceice85
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 125
There is a way to fix this...First launch your game and get to the main menu

when you get to the main menu alt-tab

when you are alt tabbed hit ctrl-alt-delete

then click on the "Processes" tab

then scroll down till you find "Launcher.exe"

then hit end process

then you can alt tab back into your game without all the dang music playing all the time...

Personally after just waiting 30 secs to 60 secs...My game will tell me I am not connected to the internet blah blah blah...so that stops it...but if you are not so lucky as I...do the method above each time you play the game...
viceice85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 12:07 AM   #9
-GS-
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 5
Posts: 108
Same here. I have to manually terminate the "launcher32.exe" process in order to stop the background music (besides this, the game works perfectly). I just recently downloaded Medieval 2, so in my personal experience there never was a time when it worked without problems (the launcher gave this error message from the very beginning). Luckily I'm not interested in multiplayer, but I'm wondering how MP is being handled now in Medieval 2: people must be quite upset if they cannot log into the servers.
This is clearly a bug on Creative Assembly's side: too many people are reporting the same problem.
-GS- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 04:45 AM   #10
icekooldutton
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 18
I don't think the issue is a bug.

I believe the Medieval 2 servers have been switched off and therefore there is no connection to actually connect to.

The reason the music keeps playing is that the launcher is still trying to find the web page it used to connect to.

I have had the exact same issues and have noticed that the information box in the launcher remains blank.

It won't stop you playing the game but will delay what were once instantaneous actions with the launcher.

After a while the launcher process will shut down when closed but it takes about 1 to 2 minutes.

Regards
icekooldutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:23 PM   #11
Mopeyennui
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I have the same problem, but it doesn't even let me play M2TW. (Which dangit I just learned how to play - I'm moderatly decent at RTW, but only today learned how to play this. Was doing so-so.)

My problem is that after I enter M2TW or when I clock on 'continue campaign' it errors and I get kicked out of the game and have to kill the process.)
Mopeyennui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:47 PM   #12
-GS-
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 5
Posts: 108
Mopeyennui: have you already tried the usual countermeasures, such as defragmenting and verifying the integrity of the game cache?
-GS- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 04:38 PM   #13
pokeymans
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 108
Go into the install folder and rename launcher.exe to whatever you want. Rename Medieval2.exe or whatever it's called to Launcher.exe. Now steam will bypass the launcher and just launch the game.
pokeymans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:38 AM   #14
slaists
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokeymans View Post
Go into the install folder and rename launcher.exe to whatever you want. Rename Medieval2.exe or whatever it's called to Launcher.exe. Now steam will bypass the launcher and just launch the game.
This actually is not a good solution for the ones who have also the Kingdom's expansion (or any other MTW 2 mods). The expansion choices (Americas, Teutonic, Britain, Crusades campaigns) are available from the launcher.
slaists is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:30 AM   #15
Rossignol
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 59
Posts: 204
Try using v1c7r1x's launcher.exe replacement. That works well for me, including Kingdoms campaigns.

For other mods, take a look at the thread at http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2187107. The methods in that thread and v1c7r1x's launcher do work together.

Last edited by Rossignol: 05-16-2012 at 10:31 AM. Reason: Corrected link
Rossignol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Medieval II series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.