Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2011, 09:57 PM   #1
City Builder
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 1,331
Is it possible to combine Arma 2 retail and Steam version of OA?

Hi,

I took advantage of the free give away recently of the Arma 2 full game, and would like to know if I can buy the OS expansion and somehow use that with the free give away version of Arma 2 that I have?
City Builder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:05 AM   #2
Whiterabbit01
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by City Builder View Post
Hi,

I took advantage of the free give away recently of the Arma 2 full game, and would like to know if I can buy the OS expansion and somehow use that with the free give away version of Arma 2 that I have?

Hi City builder,

No I don't think you can, but I'm not 100% sure. The free version is a dumbed down version in that you don't get all of the modes that are available in the commercial version, plus the graphics are not as good as the purchased game. I don't think you can combine them. If you want to you'll have to purchase the games.
Whiterabbit01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:52 AM   #3
Toto pectore
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 901
Posts: 2,018
I think he wrote about free-but full version of Arma 2 from Green Man Gaming. Therefore I think it's possible: OA is standalone expansion (you don't need Arma 2 to play it), but OA should be able to detect Arma 2 installed on your hdd and use it's data files.
Toto pectore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:21 AM   #4
vohk
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 662
This one gets answered a lot: you can run 'Combined Operations' with any full* versions of Arma2 and OA, you just need both installed (and run at least once with admin privileges).

I don't remember if the the binary Steam uses ('Launch A2:Combined Operations' in the OA menu) can detect a non-Steam A2 install, but if it can't just search for something like 'How to run Combined Operations'. Plenty of options.

*You're right, A2F does not work for CO.
vohk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:16 AM   #5
PiratexCore
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I know it at least works the other way around. I have ArmA 2 on steam and Operation Arrowhead retail and it works perfectly.
PiratexCore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:19 PM   #6
City Builder
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 1,331
Maybe I just need to take all the files from Steam's OA and lay them over where Arma 2 is in the capsule games folder.

I may give it a try, it's not too expensive to try at least.
City Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 06:43 PM   #7
vohk
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by City Builder View Post
Maybe I just need to take all the files from Steam's OA and lay them over where Arma 2 is in the capsule games folder.
I believe you would then also need to change the relevant registry entries. Easier to just use a launcher.
vohk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 02:37 AM   #8
Dwarden
 
Dwarden's Avatar
 
Bohemia Interactive
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 362
Posts: 3,002
if people read the FAQ sticky or use search the forum would w/o so many redundant questions

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1337127

the answer is yes

You can use retail ARMA 2 with OA on STEAM and also vice versa

__________________
Open Game Protocol : www.open-game-protocol.org
Follow me at http://twitter.com/FoltynD
Dwarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 06:16 AM   #9
City Builder
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 41
Posts: 1,331
Would probably have been a good idea to sticky the faq in both forums, or at least a sticky in this forum for FAQ's with only a link to the other forum where the sticky is, as this is the forum I asked it in which doesn't have the faq in the stickies.

Anyway, thanks for the info,.
City Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 05:53 PM   #10
Dwarden
 
Dwarden's Avatar
 
Bohemia Interactive
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 362
Posts: 3,002
each game has own sticky, the global forum don't need duplicated sticky

__________________
Open Game Protocol : www.open-game-protocol.org
Follow me at http://twitter.com/FoltynD
Dwarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 07:05 PM   #11
vohk
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwarden View Post
each game has own sticky, the global forum don't need duplicated sticky
Now people just need to read them.
vohk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.