Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Altitude

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011, 07:29 AM   #1
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Getting A Black Screen (Intel GMA 3100 video card)

I've checked various threads and searched but can't find a solution

Downloaded the free trial they're giving out. All I get is a black screen
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 03:00 PM   #2
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
bump.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:28 PM   #3
lamster
 
Nimbly Games
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 335
Have you tried updating your video drivers? Does the version from http://altitudegame.com exhibit the same behavior?
lamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:08 PM   #4
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamster View Post
Have you tried updating your video drivers? Does the version from http://altitudegame.com exhibit the same behavior?
I actually realized I hadn't updated for a while

I tried to get the most recent but my comp doesnt meet the min requirements

So I got the one before that of last year (which should be fine as my drivers were quite old)

Also yes that version of the game has the same behavior. I can hear music but all I see is a black screen.


On a sidenote thank you for the speedy response if only the makers of Magicka were this fast
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:24 PM   #5
lamster
 
Nimbly Games
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 335
Hmm. After the game launches (and you hear the music playing) try pressing F3 to toggle fullscreen. If that works you can play in "windowed fullscreen" by pressing F1 to open the console, then typing testWindowedFullscreen true

Otherwise please email the files in C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\log to support@nimblygames.com and I'll take a closer look.
lamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:00 PM   #6
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Didn't work I'll email you the info
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:05 PM   #7
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Sent it
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:15 PM   #8
lamster
 
Nimbly Games
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 335
Please try the test build from
http://nimblygames.com/altitude/inst...1/altitude.exe
and let me know if the problem persists.
lamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 09:35 PM   #9
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Good news. It's no longer all black! It's now clear

Bad news, the same problem persists. Just music, no video.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 09:43 PM   #10
lamster
 
Nimbly Games
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 335
Doh

Could you try another version of the old (but newer than what you started with) video drivers? I know there were a couple old drivers that just didn't work at all for unknown reasons.
lamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:11 PM   #11
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamster View Post
Doh

Could you try another version of the old (but newer than what you started with) video drivers? I know there were a couple old drivers that just didn't work at all for unknown reasons.
I'll try.

Do you think it's my graphics card? My graphics card is really old but I have no problem playing games like League of Legends or Cataclysm on it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:17 PM   #12
lamster
 
Nimbly Games
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 335
I suspect video drivers -- any graphics card manufactured in the last 10 years should be able to run the game just fine. The only exceptions are a couple intel cards that inexplicably don't support OpenGL (they have plenty of power to run the game in theory). What was the video card model again?
lamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:50 PM   #13
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Intel(R) GMA 3100

I tried downloading a different version of the driver but still no luck
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:32 PM   #14
lamster
 
Nimbly Games
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 107
Posts: 335
Uh oh I think this is one of those chipsets Intel really messed up the driver/OpenGL support on. They claim to have eventually released drivers for your card with 1.4+ OpenGL support but they might be those drivers that are refusing to install for unknown "incompatibility" reasons. Here's Intel's statement on the G35/G33/G31 chipsets (of which I believe the 3100 is one) and OpenGL compatibility: http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-028169.htm

If you can get the right drivers to install it should run, otherwise you may be out of luck. Sorry.
lamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:12 AM   #15
Bobdoyle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Alright I'll try to find it
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Altitude


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.