Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2011, 01:26 AM   #1
duck123
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Steam Connection Lost

Hello everyone I just started playing counter strike on steam recently and the gameplay was fine or atleast I thought it was every 5 minutes I kept getting an error that said Steam Connection Lost I never got this error until yesterday could anyone please help me
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 12:10 AM   #2
duck123
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
bump its getting worse now every game I play I get this error
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 12:41 PM   #3
cs_speeder
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Reply from Speeder

Hi there,
Your problem is easy, You must make sure you are connected to Steam when you open CS 1.6, How to check? Easy:

Open steam, On the bar, Click Steam, on the second option, Make sure it says "Go Offline...", If it says that, Then that means you are connected and online, If not, Then click on it to restart Steam in online mode, Then on Games section, Play Counter Strike 1.6 and you should no longer get the "Steam Lost Connection" message

If you stayed in Offline mode, You will still get the messages, Hope I helped out, Tell me if it worked with you and if everything is fine now


---------------------
Steam name: cs_speeder
Skype username: cs_speeder
6 Years Counter-Strike 1.6 Experience
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 01:04 PM   #4
forrestparkay
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 359
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
You must make sure you are connected to Steam when you open CS 1.6
I'm pretty sure it's impossible to even launch Counter Strike without being connected to steam. I'm surprised a 6 year CS player doesn't know that.
forrestparkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 01:27 PM   #5
cs_speeder
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Arrow Reply from Speeder

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestparkay View Post
I'm pretty sure it's impossible to even launch Counter Strike without being connected to steam. I'm surprised a 6 year CS player doesn't know that.
LOL, Sure you can play even in offline mode, Go on offline mode and then on Games click Play, Tell me if it doesn't work
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 04:09 PM   #6
forrestparkay
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 359
Posts: 4,547
Oh I see. There is a difference between offline mode and not being connected to steam, but you were using the same terminology for both. Overlapping namespace ftl.
forrestparkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 04:40 PM   #7
duck123
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
lol thx for the help guys but it seems the error has stopped coming up
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 02:16 AM   #8
duck123
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
just when I thought it was gone bam it comes up agian any solutions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:05 PM   #9
duck123
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cs_speeder View Post
Hi there,
Your problem is easy, You must make sure you are connected to Steam when you open CS 1.6, How to check? Easy:

Open steam, On the bar, Click Steam, on the second option, Make sure it says "Go Offline...", If it says that, Then that means you are connected and online, If not, Then click on it to restart Steam in online mode, Then on Games section, Play Counter Strike 1.6 and you should no longer get the "Steam Lost Connection" message

If you stayed in Offline mode, You will still get the messages, Hope I helped out, Tell me if it worked with you and if everything is fine now


---------------------
Steam name: cs_speeder
Skype username: cs_speeder
6 Years Counter-Strike 1.6 Experience
I tried this and it says go offline I played cs but I still keep getting the error
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:11 PM   #10
tylergillies
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
anyone on this thread know why I can't see any servers in my server list? It just says that it is refreshing the server list...but nothing comes up
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 06:05 PM   #11
duck123
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
bump this is getting really annoying
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 07:27 AM   #12
Sandoooooo
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 22
Posts: 275
I also got the same problem. But after 4 month.

FINALLY! I got the solution

1st. Raise the console.
2nd. type these commands "rate 7500" + "cl_cmdrate 30" + "cl_updaterate 20"

I hope that I helped you.


Best Regards,
Sandoooooo
Sandoooooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.