Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2011, 11:17 PM   #1
Adalace
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
TF2 Replay - No Quicktime

Please make Quicktime not a requirement to save TF2 movies.
Adalace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 12:35 AM   #2
Acetyl
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 169
Posts: 236
I'm not sure as I have yet to care about replays if it requires quicktime. But if it does, I'll have to agree. quicktime is terrible on windows.
Acetyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 02:57 AM   #3
Executioner1337
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 68
/agree
Executioner1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 09:34 AM   #4
AzzX
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 5
Posts: 237
The Quicktime requirement is a joke. Valve couldn't pick a worse closed source badly coded codec pack if they tried. Please refrain from using Apple crap in the future - Why not something open source for starters....
AzzX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:33 PM   #5
Inacurate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3
Posts: 110
Guess that answers that question with this new a topic, Steam replays still require QuickTime eh?

Valve, please remove this mandatory requirement and allow the user to have an option here.

I will have no Apple bloatware on my system thank you, but would really like to save some replays from time to time.

How about a server-based option? We pick our settings(do not allow for crazy quality), your servers do the work and make available for download the video files in a much more common and morally acceptable file format?

Please consider this. After all, ~94% of your Windows user base consists of only ~44% of QuickTime using users. Which means ~6%(Mac users) of them NEED to use QuickTime while the other ~94% are forced without reason to use an application that is all but obsolete.

Last edited by Inacurate: 10-15-2011 at 12:11 PM. Reason: Clarified user base
Inacurate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 01:01 AM   #6
Zerias
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 179
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adalace View Post
Please make Quicktime not a requirement to save TF2 movies.
huh?

http://wiki.tf2.com/wiki/Replay#Saving

Quote:
Whole replays or previously-edited takes can be rendered from replay files (.dem) into movie files. In the Replay menu, the player can select the 'Save to Movie' button to bring up the Save options dialog. The filename, resolution and video quality settings can be selected in the dialog, and filesize and time to render estimates are also provided based on the current settings. Checking the 'Show Advanced Options' box displays further options including video codec, render quality, motion blur quality, and an 'Enable Glow Effect' checkbox.

The save feature supports rendering of replay files with two codecs (H.264 and MJPEG-A) with 5 preset resolutions (480p, 720p, 1080p, Web, and iPhone). Alternatively, the replay file can also be saved to raw files in the form of a .tga sequence and an accompanying .wav file. This method renders each frame in the video to an individual .tga file at maximum quality and renders the audio for the scene to a .wav file. The sequence and the audio file can then be encoded together using a video processing program such as VirtualDub (see Help:Replay Editor for further detail).
Neither H.264 nor MJPEG-A require Quicktime for encoding or playback.

I suspect what is happening is that you have Quicktime installed and it has set itself as the default for these files and that's why you THINK the program is required.
Zerias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 01:29 AM   #7
Scared
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Reputation: 1961
Posts: 7,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerias View Post
Neither H.264 nor MJPEG-A require Quicktime for encoding or playback.
Try to make a video without quicktime (or the alternative quicktime files) and it will tell you to bugger off till you have them.

Have a look at this post for more information
Scared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 12:53 PM   #8
Madd the Sane
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 502
The requirement of QuickTime is most likely to do with the Mac port, where QuickTime is a system library. Since QuickTime is cross-platform (Mac and Windows), they probably wanted to kill two birds with one stone and made the Windows port use QuickTime. It's true that the Windows port does need some re-writing (the Mac version has that in the form of QuickTime X, QTKit, and AVFoundation), and apparently Apple thinks so as well (iTunes no longer requires QuickTime on Windows).

As for other methods of encoding h.264, there's libx264. It's open-source and cross-platform. And FFmpeg.
Madd the Sane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.