Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Hitman series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 02:01 PM   #1
pluppen1
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 28
Gamepad in blood money?

Is there possible to use an xbox 360 gamepad on blood money?
pluppen1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 08:23 AM   #2
KillaKanl0rd
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 361
I'm not sure if the PC version supports it, but I would assume it does.
If not, you could purchase a key emulator such as xpadder, controlMK (freeware) or Pinnacle Game Profiler, which lets you assign mouse movements and keys to the gamepad.

But just to be sure, I don't know if it supports it.

EDIT: I just had a read of some articles on other forums, apparently the PC version doesn't support gamepad. I would recommend an emulator, or just give it a go with the mouse and keyboard!
KillaKanl0rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 03:23 PM   #3
gashadokuro
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 232
Posts: 1,263
joy2key is another good mapper. it's a bit complicated setting it up at first, but works like a charm and is free.
gashadokuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 10:49 AM   #4
Getliffe
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 148
I remember getting this and finding it had no Joypad surport, mouse for this type of games doesn't feel right IMO.

Does the joy2key take into account analoug inputs? if so might give it another go
Getliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:40 PM   #5
chillgreg
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 76
Posts: 241
Well they just lost my sale. When will developers get it through their thick heads that they lose business by excluding a large (and growing) percentage of the market? (Wait for the WASD trolls to attack...wait...wait...here they come...)
chillgreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:14 PM   #6
DV8ing1
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 55
Posts: 357
If you think that devs are going to waste their time patching old games you have some critical thinking to do Newer games as in the last 2 years would warrant some complaints if controller support isn't natively available.
DV8ing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:55 AM   #7
hal752
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillgreg View Post
Well they just lost my sale. When will developers get it through their thick heads that they lose business by excluding a large (and growing) percentage of the market? (Wait for the WASD trolls to attack...wait...wait...here they come...)

Lol I just had to register just to comment on this. The game was on sale for 2 quid and your complaining that It doesn't come with controller support? Im sure they wont miss your 2 quid...

BTW im not a troll. I use a 360 controller myself for games.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 05:09 PM   #8
chillgreg
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 76
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal752 View Post
Lol I just had to register just to comment on this. The game was on sale for 2 quid and your complaining that It doesn't come with controller support? Im sure they wont miss your 2 quid...

BTW im not a troll. I use a 360 controller myself for games.
Most decent businesspeople take every missed sale seriously...

It's more the principal. If enough people make their thoughts known then the developers might take some notice. Which is difficult when the mere mention of "controller" around here is like painting a target on you...
chillgreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:13 PM   #9
v00d00man
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 130
Posts: 495
Exclamation

Every hitman since Hitman 2 support native gamepad via DitectInput (dinput.dll).
However support is undocumented legacy of crossplatform development process of game and to bind the buttons, you needs to use ini and cfg files and PS3 buttons names.

I debugged Hitman BM exe and thats all the code i found inside:


Quote:
ccc={
TiltCamera=rel(ms,y);
TurnCamera=rel(ms,x);
};
CutSequence2={
DropCutSequence11=|tap(gc,cross) tap(gc, a);
DropCutSequence22=|tap(kb,esc) tap(gc,start);
};
CutSequencE={
DropCutSequence=|tap(gc,cross) tap(gc,start);
DropCutSequence2=tap(kb,esc);
OverrideMap=hold(kb,m);
};
DeathSequenceInput={
EndDeathSequence=tap(kb,escape);
};
FireShot2Control={
MenuUptap(gc,right1);
MenuDowntap(gc,right2);
Firehold(gc,cross);
Reloadhold(gc,triangle);
Chamberhold(gc,circle);
};
HMControl={
CycleInventory=tap(kb,i);
Holster=fasttap(ms,right);
IMOSanitycheck=tap(ms,right);
InventoryMenuOpen=holddown(ms,right);
InventoryMenuClose=release(ms,right);
MenuRight=tap(kb,right);
MenuLeft=tap(kb,left);
MenuUp=|tap(ms,wheelup) tap(kb,up);
MenuDown=|tap(ms,wheeldown) tap(kb,down);
Stick1h=ana(gc,leftx);
Stick1v=ana(gc,lefty);
PickupFast=fasttap(kb,spc);
PickupMenuOpen=holddown(kb,spc);
PickupMenuClose=release(kb,spc);
ActionMenuFast=fasttap(kb,e);
ActionMenuOpen=holddown(kb,e);
ActionMenuClose=release(kb,e);
IngameMenu=fasttap(kb,esc);
PauseNoOSD=fasttap(kb,8);
CheatsMenu=fasttap(kb,c);
CheatsMenuGC=seq(tap(gc,left1),tap(gc,right1),tap( gc,right2));
Briefing=tap(kb,b);
Map=tap(kb,m);
Back=tap(kb,esc);
Accept=tap(kb,e);
Enter=tap(kb,return);
MouseClick=tap(ms,left);
ContainerMenuClose=release(kb,e);
CycleCCs=tap(kb,1);
CyclePistols=tap(kb,2);
CycleSmgs=tap(kb,3);
CycleAssaultRifles=tap(kb,4);
CycleSnipers=tap(kb,5);
CycleBinoculars=tap(kb,6);
CycleCoins=tap(kb,7);
ScopeHolster=release(ms,right);
};
HMControl={
ReloadWeapon=tap(kb,r);
FireWeapon=hold(ms,left);
FireWeapon2=hold(ms,mb4);
FireWeapon2b=hold(kb,x);
CrouchSneak=hold(kb,lctrl);
MoveLeft=hold(kb,a);
MoveRight=hold(kb,d);
MoveUp=hold(kb,w);
MoveDown=hold(kb,s);
MoveHor=- get(MoveRight) get(MoveLeft);
MoveVer=- get(MoveUp) get(MoveDown);
TurnHor=rel(mouse,x);
TurnVer=rel(mouse,y);
Stick1h=ana(gc,leftx);
Stick1v=ana(gc,lefty);
Stick2h=ana(gc,rightx);
Stick2v=ana(gc,righty);
UseAction=fasttap(kb,e);
LeanOutLeftShoot=clickhold(kb,z);
LeanOutRightShoot=clickhold(kb,c);
LeanOutLeft=& hold(kb,z) ! get(LeanOutLeftShoot);
LeanOutRight=& hold(kb,c) ! get(LeanOutRightShoot);
CancelExit=tap(mouse,right);
MovementIncrease=tap(mouse,wheelup);
MovementDecrease=tap(mouse,wheeldown);
DropItem=fasttap(kb,g);
ThrowItem=holddown(kb,g);
PickupItem=fasttap(kb,space);
Run=hold(kb,lshift);
ToggleCamera=tap(kb,f1);
ToggleBinoculars=tap(kb,5);
CameraZoomIn=tap(ms,wheelup);
CameraZoomOut=tap(ms,wheeldown);
CameraZoom=tap(kb,v);
CycleInventory=tap(kb,i);
BocTest=tap(kb,t);
Swap=tap(kb,q);
WeaponStatus=tap(kb,b);
};
HMControl={
UseGameController=true;
};
IngameMap={
MapLegend=tap(gc,square);
MapSelect=tap(gc,cross);
MapCameraRight=ana(gc,leftx);
MapCameraDown=ana(gc,righty);
MapMoveUp=holddown(kb,w);
MapMoveDown=holddown(kb,s);
MapPrev=tap(ms,wheelup);
MapNext=tap(ms,wheeldown);
};
PushScene={
KeyStart=tap(gc,start);
};
StatisticsTestActions={
StatUp=hold(kb,w);
StatDown=hold(kb,s);
StatLeft=hold(kb,a);
StatRight=hold(kb,d);
StatIn=tap(ms,wheelup);
StatOut=tap(ms,wheeldown);
StatContinue=tap(kb,return);
};
Video={
DropVideo=hold(kb,esc);
DropVideo2=hold(kb,return);
};
WEAPONDETAILS_1={
WeaponDetailsPan=hold(ms,middle);
WeaponDetailsPanX=rel(ms,x);
WeaponDetailsPanY=rel(ms,y);
WeaponDetailsRotate=hold(ms,left);
WeaponDetailsRotateX=rel(ms,x);
WeaponDetailsRotateY=rel(ms,y);
WeaponDetailsZoomIn=tap(ms,wheelup);
WeaponDetailsZoomOut=tap(ms,wheeldn);
};
ZWINDOWSKEYS_1={
ZW_DOWN=hold(kb,down);
ZW_UP=hold(kb,up);
ZW_LEFT=hold(kb,left);
ZW_RIGHT=hold(kb,right);
ZW_SELECT=hold(kb,return);
ZW_CANCEL=hold(kb,esc);
ZW_LBUTTON=hold(ms,left);
ZW_RBUTTON=hold(ms,right);
ZW_MBUTTON=hold(ms,middle);
ZW_MWHEELUP=tap(ms,wheelup);
ZW_MWHEELDOWN=tap(ms,wheeldown);
ZW_SELECT=tap(gc,circle);
ZW_SELECT2=tap(gc,cross);
ZW_SELECT3=tap(gc,square);
ZW_SELECT4=tap(gc,triangle);
ZW_CANCEL=release(gc,cross);
ZW_START=tap(gc,start);
ZW_L1=tap(gc,left1);
ZW_R1=tap(gc,right1);
};
//Debug
Debug={
CompleteLevel=& tap(kb,c) hold(kb,lshift);
FailLevel=& tap(kb,f) hold(kb,lshift);
};
Debug={
ToggleTexture=tap(kb,t);
DisplaySounds=& tap(kb,f3) hold(kb,lshift);
DisplayGates=& tap(kb,f5) hold(kb,lshift);
DisplayLights=& tap(kb,f6) hold(kb,lshift);
DisplayCameras=& tap(kb,f7) hold(kb,lshift);
DisplayGrid=& tap(kb,f8) hold(kb,lshift);
InstantKill=& tap(kb,f11) hold(kb,lshift);
InstantKillR=& tap(kb,f11) hold(kb,rshift);
Explode=& tap(kb,f12) hold(kb,lshift);
ExplodeR=& tap(kb,f12) hold(kb,rshift);
ShootAtEverything=& tap(kb,l) hold(kb,lshift);
};
DebugAlways={
Mode1=|hold(kb,rshift) hold(kb,lshift);
Mode2=|hold(kb,rctrl) hold(kb,lctrl);
Mode3=&!hold(kb,rshift) &!hold(kb,lshift) &!hold(kb,rctrl) !hold(kb,lctrl);
Mode4=0;
MoveX=-hold(kb,right) hold(kb,left);
MoveY=-hold(kb,down) hold(kb,up);
SubSpeed=tap(ms,wheeldown);
AddSpeed=tap(ms,wheelup);
Mode1MoveX=-hold(kb,right) hold(kb,left);
Mode1MoveY=-hold(kb,rshift) hold(kb,rctrl);
Mode1MoveZ=-hold(kb,up) hold(kb,down);
Mode1MouseL=hold(ms,left);
Mode1MouseM=hold(ms,middle);
Mode1MouseR=hold(ms,right);
};
DebugAlways={
EditPostfilter={
EPFViewFinishAlpha= hold(gc,left1);
EPFViewZBufferAlpha= hold(gc,left2);
EPFViewLast= hold(gc,right1);
EPFViewBloom= hold(gc,right2);
};
};
DebugAlways={
spawn=tap(kb,space);
variant_up=tap(kb,1);
variant_down=tap(kb,2);
};
DebugAlways={
};
DebugKeys={
Pause= tap(kb,pause);
QuickSave= & tap(kb,s) hold(kb,lctrl);
QuickLoad= & tap(kb,l) hold(kb,lctrl);
};
DebugKeys={
ToggleFreeCam=tap(kb,k);
};
DebugKeys={
ToggleGates=tap(kb,y);
ToggleAlignment=tap(kb,v);
};
Put this code in hitman.cfg and set read-only attrib, to prevent game from clearing it, but before you will do it, you need to customise it for your gamepad (keep in mind that 360 controller dont report LT and RT as buttons via dinput but reports them as 2 halfs of 1 axis Z, which makes its unusable in most of old games, including Hitmen)

This is little quick reference:

Input events:
hold
release
downedge
fasttap
doubleclick
holddown
clickhold
press
Input selector:
UseGameController
UseDirectInputMouse
UseDirectInputKeyboard

Gamepad buttons (PS2 names to Dinput numbers):
triangle=1
cross=3
circle=2
square=4
start=10
select=9
left2=5
left1=7
leftstick=11
rightstick=12
right2=6
right1=8

Game lacking Dpad support or i wasnt lucky to find correct names for dpad up\down\right\left buttons, to fix this you will need external tool like Pinnacle game profiler or Xpadder to bind ONLY 4 Directional pad buttons as Keyboard Up Down Left Right, dont map anything else in these tools and let game handle the rest of buttons natively, in case of 360 controller you would also need to bind LT and RT to keyboard or mouse buttons.

To make it work, you need to add these lines to HitmanBloodMoney.ini

//UseGameController - dont use this, it will enable PS2 menues, and will remove keyboard and mouse input completely, as well as gfx options, thats why i commented it, just to explain that instead you need to use 2 lines bellow
Gamepadmode
HeroControlMode 1
//ConfigFile=Logitech.cfg - this is optional, you can point game to use custom config file instead of default hitman.cfg, this way you can expirement by having several configs with different binds\presets for different gamepads and swap them just by editing this line.

Also i tried to code tinny Fix for Dpad and LT\RT for 360 controller, using AutoHotKey, it works external with any window and game, but for some reason it could not hook Hitman Blood Money, so i ended up modifying Dragon Age 2 AHK script by xtravar [at] yahoo.com )


Quote:
 
Enabling Gamepad in previous games little bit different, you need to add these lines to main ini file:

UseGameController
UseDirectInputMouse
UseDirectInputKeyboard
Gamepadmode
HeroControlMode 1

(mouse and keyboard are necessary to let them work alongside gamepad) My method is a little different about these lines, but for rest of configs for Contracts and Silent Assassin, check these threads
http://www.hitmanforum.com/index.php...gamecontroller

http://www.hitmanforum.com/index.php...gamecontroller
(links above was edited by author and only contains ;-p smile, i dont know why he removed useful information )

I suggest you to ignore recomendations about main ini file and use 4 lines from above, the rest works fine, except for dpad and lt\rt.

P.S. I also suggest you to use not at Xinput 360 compatible gamepad, or to find out or code dinput.dll wrapper for xinput device.

Last edited by v00d00man: 11-23-2012 at 06:38 PM.
v00d00man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 06:10 PM   #10
MattNY
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 41
Not using a controller, but just wanted to post that was an extremely helpful post. Nice to see a good contribution.
MattNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:09 PM   #11
oshaylinux
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillgreg View Post
Well they just lost my sale. When will developers get it through their thick heads that they lose business by excluding a large (and growing) percentage of the market? (Wait for the WASD trolls to attack...wait...wait...here they come...)
I'm with you, they just lost my sale also. This game released in 2006, by then there was more then enough controller knowledge and many examples of good games that done it well. There's really know excuse for this game not having controller support out of the box. No matter how good the sale is, on principle I'm not buying.
oshaylinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 05:35 PM   #12
kitekrazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 22
Posts: 346
The games work quite well without a gamepad. These are not Rockstar games that are notorious for crappy ports.

Play them with a keyboard. You might enjoy them even more.
kitekrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 05:48 PM   #13
oshaylinux
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitekrazy View Post
The games work quite well without a gamepad. These are not Rockstar games that are notorious for crappy ports.

Play them with a keyboard. You might enjoy them even more.
If I wanted to be limited the options I have in video gaming, then I would go to console gaming.

Who said anything about Rockstar games anyway?
oshaylinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:32 AM   #14
kitekrazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 22
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by oshaylinux View Post
If I wanted to be limited the options I have in video gaming, then I would go to console gaming.

Who said anything about Rockstar games anyway?
I was pointing alternatives for the OP. Just in case you didn't read, I said something about Rockstar games.
kitekrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:54 PM   #15
oshaylinux
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitekrazy View Post
I was pointing alternatives for the OP. Just in case you didn't read, I said something about Rockstar games.
Well, since we are talking about Rockstar games on my PC and both of them have controller support. One of them was released in 2003, so there's no reason only excuses for HM:BM not having controller support.
oshaylinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Hitman series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.