Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2011, 12:56 PM   #1
ronnieb555
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 67
Unhappy Fallout new Vegas Not Responding When Loading Save

Yesterday I was playing New Vegas fine, no problems at all. I go on today and click continue, it is not loading so I thought that it was just a one off so I relaunched the game and the same thing happened. I then decided to manually load the save by going to the load option in the main menu and I got the same problem. I then tried loading another save and it did it again. I launched the game in windowed mode to see if it stops responding when I try to load a save, sure enough, the game stops responding every time I try to load a save. I have verified integrity of game cache and it passed. Anyone know what to try or do? I know my system is not at fault as I can play other games and it is only 3 days old. My specs are;
Dell XPS 15
Intel Core i7 2630QM @ 2ghz with 2.90ghz Turbo Boost
Nvidia GT540m 2GB
8GB DDR3 Ram
750GB HDD
ronnieb555 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:02 PM   #2
ronnieb555
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 67
Well I don't know what it was but I restarted my system and it worked lol.
ronnieb555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:08 PM   #3
ronnieb555
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnieb555 View Post
Well I don't know what it was but I restarted my system and it worked lol.
Forget that post. I closed the game to post that and then I relaunched it and it has started to do it again. Still need help please!
ronnieb555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 11:50 PM   #4
starsrift
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 452
I have this problem now.

I can, however, load a game if I start a NEW game, first - start the new game, and then I can load the old one, and it works. It's an ugly workaround, but it gets me into my game.

Otherwise, if I try to load from game launch, it just sits on the loading screens forever and ever. I haven't bothered to let it run more than ten minutes.

Last edited by starsrift: 08-09-2011 at 09:01 AM. Reason: Just thought I'd clarify this.
starsrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 08:42 AM   #5
Edeslash
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 275
Posts: 898
I've got the problem too. Damn frustrating
Edeslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 03:33 AM   #6
omninakago
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 387
I'm experiencing the same problem as well, even though the game worked perfectly the last time I played it about a month ago.

This is obviously not an isolated incident.
omninakago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 03:56 AM   #7
T@F
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 1875
Posts: 10,388
I don't think the devs even come to this forum tbh.
Better off contacting them with the bug.

While you guys at it put in the loader not responding as well.
T@F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 05:53 AM   #8
marKram
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Try going to the properties of the game in Steam and under the "Local Content" tab, press the Verify Integrity of Game Cache button. It worked for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:28 AM   #9
starsrift
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by marKram View Post
Try going to the properties of the game in Steam and under the "Local Content" tab, press the Verify Integrity of Game Cache button. It worked for me.
I just came back to put in this thread that as per suggestions in another thread, I did this (also defragged cache) and it fixed the problem. I'm guessing I'll have to do it every so often...

Last edited by starsrift: 08-14-2011 at 05:44 PM.
starsrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 11:30 PM   #10
thefreeman0001
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 88
Posts: 1,439
im getting these crashes now even when i do validate the files and stuff.
thefreeman0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:04 AM   #11
jordanaustin
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
I'm not really sure why I'm having issues with an Nvidia GTX 560 Ti Superclocked. i7 4.5ghz with 8gb of ram and a Vertex 3 SSD.

Coincidentally the exact same issue everyone in this thread is having with a never-ending loading screen.
jordanaustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 09:07 AM   #12
jordanaustin
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
FYI to everyone. Starsrift is right. If you create a new game, then load a saved game it works everytime. How .
jordanaustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 10:46 AM   #13
thefreeman0001
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 88
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordanaustin View Post
FYI to everyone. Starsrift is right. If you create a new game, then load a saved game it works everytime. How .
i wonder why?. plus on my never ending loading screen i get a few crackles and pops coming out of my speakers. a sound issue maybe?
thefreeman0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:29 AM   #14
MordGeischt
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 232
Posts: 715
This is happening to me as well. Just bought the game through steam yesterday. Got about 9 hours into it, and now I can't load my game. I uninstalled and am now currently reinstalling the game. If the problem persists, I will try the proposed workaround of starting a new game before loading a save.
MordGeischt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 02:01 PM   #15
thefreeman0001
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 88
Posts: 1,439
i remembered this problem from launch. disable autosave and it should fix the problem. if you choose LOAD rather then CONTINUE at the menu screen and have a peek at the autosave thumbnail you should notice the graphics int he auto save are all messed up.
thefreeman0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Fallout series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.