Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Battlefield series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2011, 07:51 PM   #1
Bratchanin
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
BC2 Vietnam Crash

Hello everyone.

Recently I bought Vietnam expansion, and I have to say, I enjoy it a lot more than bc2. The only thing, I have a huge problem where the game just crashes after 10-15 mins of gameplay, every single time. At first sound starts stuttering and repeating, then the screen turns white, and I can still hear the sound, but cannot do anything and have to hard restart. If I act quick enough, and as soon as the sound starts stuttering I press quit, I can safely quit to desktop, but if I am too late, then screen turns white.

All the drivers are up to date, no OC on anything, and this crash and stutter happens only in Vietnam, and never happened in bc2.

I did some research, and some people said it was related to on board realtek sound. So I went and bought a sound card and disabled the onboard one, and the same crash still occurs.

Any help would be greatly appreciated because I really enjoy the game (for all the 10 minutes it lasts).
Bratchanin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 06:47 AM   #2
iceman087
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 40
Posts: 726
specs?
iceman087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 09:12 AM   #3
jake9891
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
strangely I have the same problem, ever since I installed the expansion I cannot play stable for a long periods of time, I thought it was my overclock, but every other game runs fine. For me it doesn't matter if I play the expansion or not, it does it even in the normal BC2 :/

I have Q9550 @ 3.7GHz and 8800GT.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:53 AM   #4
Bratchanin
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Specs are i7, gtx 285, rocketfish sound card, 6 gb of ddr3. Nothing out of ordinary.

@Jake, I havent really played bc2 for that long to see if it crashes or not. I will try it and see if it also crashes. Is your crash similar to mine with stuttering sound and white screen?
Bratchanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:24 AM   #5
dubey
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 10
Posts: 504
Vietnam isn't worth playing more than 10-15 minutes

That's a feature
dubey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:41 PM   #6
jake9891
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
@Bratchanin yes it was the same at first, but after few days it started BSODing after few minutes of playing, at first I thought it was my overclock, as I have both GPU and CPU overclocked, but I reset everything to default settings and it was still the same.

However, I might have found a solution.... not sure how long it will stay fine but anyway.... after my last post, I backed up the game, then removed it through Steam and restore it from the backup and I've been playing it for the past 3h straight, without any problems... not sure if that fixed the problem or not, but I was happy I could play it for so long at least once
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:47 PM   #7
iceman087
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 40
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bratchanin View Post
Specs are i7, gtx 285, rocketfish sound card, 6 gb of ddr3. Nothing out of ordinary.

@Jake, I havent really played bc2 for that long to see if it crashes or not. I will try it and see if it also crashes. Is your crash similar to mine with stuttering sound and white screen?
your card is kinda small,maybe overheating
iceman087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:55 PM   #8
Oz_JuicE
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 92
Posts: 781
Vietnam is awesome but it won't be the cause of the crash. It will be your rig and probably sound card, drivers or memory error.
Oz_JuicE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 08:20 AM   #9
jake9891
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I wonder.... is it possible to install just BC2 without Vietnam? or since the add-on is bought it will be always installed together with the original?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 02:29 PM   #10
Oz_JuicE
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 92
Posts: 781
Vietnam is loaded as part of one of the latest updates to the game but you have to buy the key to unlock it. So therefore the game is there but not used.
Oz_JuicE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Battlefield series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.