Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > VAC Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 06:58 PM   #1
Jaws2002
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Is Nvidia Antialiasing post effect "FXAA" safe for VAC games?

Hello all.

I have a newer game on Steam that is a bit of a mess right now, but I just love the darn thing.
Il-2 Sturmovik Cliffs of Dover. A gorgeous ww2 combat flight simulator, released in March, that still has quite a few bugs small and big.
One of things that doesn't really work is antialiasing.
Some people found NVIDIA's New FXAA Antialiasing post processing to fix the antialiasing in this game, simply by droping three files in the main game folder.
Here's an article that explains FXAA:
http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/...g_technology/1

This game cant get anything over 2xAA and this little tool makes a difference and on top of that, has very little performance hit.

In order to get it to work, one has to drop three files in the game folder and then you can turn on the program in game with a key press.

I know this trick also works in ARMA2 and many people use it. Here's a link to a thread about the use of this tool in ARMA2
http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=123121

Here are two screenshots from Cliffs of Dover that shows the difference it makes:

http://i.imgur.com/gkdKg.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/QqOns.jpg

Is anyone able to tell me if this program is allowed online in a steam game? I don't want to get banned for this and if there's a chance to be banned I won't touch it.

Thank you.

Last edited by Jaws2002: 08-11-2011 at 07:03 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 06:58 PM   #2
MillyBays2
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, it's safe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 10:06 AM   #3
Teh_Guy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 99
Posts: 1,842
Why not be on the safe side and use the nvidia control panel to override the settings?

EDIT: does it even USE VAC?
Teh_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 10:23 AM   #4
L.o.D.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 1647
Posts: 22,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh_Guy View Post
EDIT: does it even USE VAC?
Yes it does.
L.o.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 11:43 AM   #5
Jaws2002
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh_Guy View Post
Why not be on the safe side and use the nvidia control panel to override the settings?
It doesn't do nothing. Trust me. I tried every possible combination in the Nvidia control panel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 10:16 AM   #6
Jaws2002
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Any official word on this?

Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 10:21 AM   #7
Ettanin
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 115
Posts: 682
ask Support for official word.
Ettanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 10:47 AM   #8
Jaws2002
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thx. Will do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 11:10 AM   #9
themires
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 244
Posts: 1,487
support will not tell you what will or will not get you banned.

i would not use anything that mods a vac game.. imo...
themires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 11:34 AM   #10
99Reaper99
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 123
Posts: 1,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh_Guy View Post
Why not be on the safe side and use the nvidia control panel to override the settings?

EDIT: does it even USE VAC?
Nvidia CP is notorious for its "not working" enhanced/override AA. I think Guru3D had a test showing most of the time the settings never kick in when used via Nvidia CP. Or was it tweakguides...? Dunno, but pictures speak a thousand words.
99Reaper99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:19 PM   #11
Terranwolf
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99Reaper99 View Post
Nvidia CP is notorious for its "not working" enhanced/override AA. I think Guru3D had a test showing most of the time the settings never kick in when used via Nvidia CP. Or was it tweakguides...? Dunno, but pictures speak a thousand words.
That's rather odd; I've never had them not kick in once I pointed the game path to the actual game-running EXE.
Terranwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 01:59 PM   #12
Jaws2002
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Reaper99 is right. Overriding the settings from from Nvidia control panel is hit and miss.

Here's a detailed two parts article from Tom's hardware, that looks at antialiasing in detail. Good read.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...deon,2868.html

Surprising how unreliable is the Nvidia control panel in forcing antialiasing in games.

Last edited by Jaws2002: 08-15-2011 at 02:02 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 03:11 PM   #13
Teh_Guy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 99
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99Reaper99 View Post
Nvidia CP is notorious for its "not working" enhanced/override AA. I think Guru3D had a test showing most of the time the settings never kick in when used via Nvidia CP. Or was it tweakguides...? Dunno, but pictures speak a thousand words.
Well, I guess its notoriety either missed my system completely or somethin.. it works pretty well on my laptop
Teh_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > VAC Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.