Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Bastion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2011, 12:13 AM   #1
frumbert
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
won't install?

I pre purchased Bastion and when I go to install it it comes up with
Quote:
Converting existing game installation. This may take several minutes.
Copying existing content into steam...
But it doesn't do anything. It just sits there for hours without the screen changing, the cpu or hard disk isn't doing anything according to the resource monitor, steam's memory isn't changing, there is no progress bar...

I check the support page but steam do NOT have a support page for this game, nor apparently any way of logging this as an actual fault.

Last edited by frumbert: 08-17-2011 at 01:07 AM. Reason: Because the people who run steam are idiots
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 01:50 AM   #2
Insayne84
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Then try deleting local data and redownloading it ?
Insayne84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:26 AM   #3
frumbert
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
There is NO LOCAL DATA. Nothing called 'Bastion' anywhere in the steam folder.

E.g. it won't download, it thinks it's a third party game. I can't re-download it because it says I already own it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:29 PM   #4
Fasalina
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Is there a solution to this? I have the same problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 02:30 AM   #5
laZee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
I have the same Problem with Metro 2033.
laZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 01:24 AM   #6
laZee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 1
Posts: 29
FIXED!

I got it working.

Not sure which of the following steps was the important one, but i mention them all:

1) shutdown steam
2) start steam as administrator (right click on icon -> run as admin)
3) make sure u have ENOUGH DISK SPACE on the steam drive!
4) install in steam as usual

For me this removed the stuck dialog. steam began to create the cachefiles and started downloading. hurray!

In my case the disk space was important, i guess. so not sure about running as administrator. Metro2033 needed 6GB space and i just had 2 GB free. Steam didn't say something like "dude, ur disk space is too low", but maybe its just buggy regarding disk space.

anyway, good luck using my method.

btw: i opened a steam support ticket as well. unfortunately i got a reply which was clearly some copy&paste answer explaining which installfiles i had to execute manually - completely ignoring the fact that these installfiles were not downloaded in the first place. a pity that the steam support doesn't really READ the stuff i am writing to them :/

to be fair, the "run as admin"-hint was included in the steam support answer.
laZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Bastion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.