Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Linux)

Old 12-22-2004, 11:03 PM   #1
Vadakill

Comprehensive HL2MP Linux Setup Guide

I'm not new to running HL dedicated servers but like many Ops here I had a hard time figuring out the nuances between the old system and the new. Much information is scattered and often times incomplete and ultimately up to the individual Op figure out what is what.

I've put together a new guide aimed specifically at setting up and running a HL2MP (DM) server. It covers everything from setting up a user account for the process, modifying the server.cfg file and finally setting it up to run in a screen session.

I've been writing newbie guides for HL dedicated servers since 2002, hopefully some people will find this useful. Feel free to make suggestions. Also, in the near future I plan on writing an advanced configuration guide covering html motd's, automatic logfile archiving and more.

Enjoy!

http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides

Old 12-24-2004, 08:09 AM   #2
rh_fang

This is superb! I wish I had something like this two weeks ago. Thanks for taking the time to type this up.
Old 01-02-2005, 10:59 AM   #3
Arkaine101

Wheeeee! *Bump*
Old 01-03-2005, 08:46 PM   #4
cgehring

Very nice... one of the best I have seen.... STICKY!!!!!
Old 01-10-2005, 11:08 PM   #5
Arkaine101

Quote:
Originally posted by cgehring
Very nice... one of the best I have seen.... STICKY!!!!!
Isn't it the best?

*cough*
No, of course not, Mr. Moderator, this reply isn't just a cheezy excuse to bump it again.
Old 02-07-2005, 02:01 PM   #6
Vadakill

This is a bump to help out those new people to the forums. Please check it out.
Old 02-10-2005, 09:26 AM   #7
Tweak22

Does HZ 100 help all game servers? Even source or just NS?

What does it really do? Increase your systems ticrate? Can you still run high fps servers or does it cap at 100?

It uses less cpu usage but will server lag and such?
Old 02-10-2005, 01:40 PM   #8
Vadakill