Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2011, 09:24 PM   #1
UOGSammich
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 44
Posts: 901
LoD is totally screwed [now with screenshots]

This thread noted at "thesixthaxis" http://www.thesixthaxis.com/2011/10/...ture-problems/


Please enjoy this thread's theme music http://endlessvideo.com/watch?v=mLuOtGwLnzQ

Every time you turn 90 degrees items are rendered in front of you, for those who can't get in the game you aren't missing anything.


My system:
Phenom II X4 @ 3.7Ghz
Radeon 6950
16GB RAM
Sata III SSD

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2030584
http://i.imgur.com/cx6mh.jpg

System Recommended
Recommended:
OS: Win XP SP3, Vista, Win 7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad or Equivalent AMD
Memory: 4GB
Hard Disk Space: 25GB
Video Card: GeForce 9800 GTX, Radeon HD 5550




Sitting still - http://i.imgur.com/iPS3l.jpg
after turning - http://i.imgur.com/C8q9p.jpg


sitting still - http://i.imgur.com/sBcL4.jpg
after turning - http://i.imgur.com/Lq6kA.jpg


even tried changing resolution from 1920x1080 to 1280x720, same problem. Looks like I will be doing nothing until Skyrim launches after all.

I also like how there is no option for vertical sync, and you can't even exit the game without opening command prompt because the "press start" menu was designed for consoles.

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomsFZ1 View Post
Horrendous texture popping on my system too:

Alienware Area 51
Intel Core i7 990 Extreme
GeForce GTX 580 x 2 SLI
6GB RAM


LOOKS LIKE NONE OF US WILL BE PLAYING, THIS IS CURRENTLY THE BEST MACHINE MONEY CAN BUY.

Intel 990x - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115079
580 GPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130587

Last edited by UOGSammich: 10-04-2011 at 07:55 PM.
UOGSammich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:25 PM   #2
jim2point0
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 229
Posts: 1,583
Yeah it's... pretty terrible looking.
jim2point0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
how about you list your specs in detail. what you are describing might be normal for lower end comps.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:26 PM   #4
JayRiot_
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 114
Items are rendered in front of me in Dead Island too, didn't stop me from loving it. I love most games :3
JayRiot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:26 PM   #5
TheGiraffer
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by UOGSammich View Post
Every time you turn 30 degrees items are rendered in front of you, for those who can't get in the game you aren't missing anything.
Give us your specs and some screenshots, yo
TheGiraffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:27 PM   #6
Gvaz
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 14
Posts: 784
Need more reports but outlook doesn't sound good
Gvaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:30 PM   #7
0xiDIzE
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 582
Posts: 1,476
Yeah it's ed. First of all, there are no graphics options. You have resolution, fullscreen, and AA. No scaling. If there was scaling, my computer would tear this thing apart on on max settings.

Everything renders right after you turn to look at it, and apparently de-renders when you're not looking at it. WTF is wrong with this game?
0xiDIzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:31 PM   #8
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
I do appreciate the guinea pigs paying 50-60 bucks for new releases. its guys like you that will help get the game patched so I will get a better experience when I pay 20 bucks for it 2 months from now.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:32 PM   #9
mad1723
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 18
Posts: 110
Does the same thing here:

i7 2600K @ 4.6GHz
8GB of RAM
HD5870 with Rage Performance Drivers installed

Don't think it's a low performance computer issue. More like a bug in the streaming of textures, etc. I'm verifying integrity of game cache to make sure I'm not missing files or patches.

Hope this is not a Dead Island repeat, where we got a dev version instead of the official release
mad1723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:32 PM   #10
schism84
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 192
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek554 View Post
I do appreciate the guinea pigs paying 50-60 bucks for new releases. its guys like you that will help get the game patched so I will get a better experience when I pay 20 bucks for it 2 months from now.
Here's your condescencion prize, grats!
schism84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #11
BoomWav
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 29
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0xiDIzE View Post
Everything renders right after you turn to look at it, and apparently de-renders when you're not looking at it. WTF is wrong with this game?
That's exactly how it's done in every 3D game ever made. Normally, you don't see it though.
BoomWav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #12
Topper58
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Think about it, so many people trying to get in its going to lagg the heck out of things
Topper58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:34 PM   #13
WilliamAgain
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 36
They were up front about the game changing setting dynamically based on your hardware - this means that everyone will have different levels of IQ as there are no set HIGH/MEDIUM/LOW setting within the game/engine, it instead lowers/raises LOD's dynamically, lowers/raises texture resolution dynamically, lowers/raises light sources, etc...

I hate the idea of it, but the reality is this - most of us will see great visuals and bad ones depending on the scenario onscreen, there is no constant here.
WilliamAgain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:34 PM   #14
JayRiot_
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topper58 View Post
Think about it, so many people trying to get in its going to lagg the heck out of things
Now I'm no computer wiz, but please explain how the hell a single player game lags?
JayRiot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:35 PM   #15
Levi
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 4382
Posts: 8,708
This sure doesn't sound like ID software...
Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.