Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2011, 11:26 PM   #1
Rippleeffect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 201
Lets start a thread of pics showing your worst/LQ textures found

I'll start.

After the ATV ride I entered the a cave. I looked at the floor and I saw this. Am I playing an N64 game from 1996?

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/54...57FB58999A6F2/

Btw, this is 1920x1080 on a GTX 480.
Rippleeffect is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:30 PM   #2
pingchecker
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 12
Posts: 132
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...100400007.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...100400008.jpg/
pingchecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:30 PM   #3
surfrock22
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 5324
Posts: 13,664
Glad I'm not the only one. I've got a 580 running that same resolution.. looks exactly the same.
surfrock22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #4
huntakilla
 
Join Date: May 2006
Reputation: 1
Posts: 118
http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/9...0322215294.jpg
huntakilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #5
atilaadt
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
ID is now bestheda engine-like gamebryo engine, but in better gameplay ... than fallout thats all i think
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #6
FuzzyYeti
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Yeah same here... what the hell.I can run the BF3 Beta on Ultra without any problems O_o.. granted it's lower requirements than retail, but still...
FuzzyYeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #7
Aigik2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 8
Posts: 65
You guys clearly don't understand the game development process. Just because there's a low resolution texture, or many of them, in a game, does not mean that they got lazy, or are poor artists. I'm a game artist, and besides the hardcore time constraints we are often put under, we have texture resolution limitations that we can't break, to make sure the game is shipped to run well, and bring down the file size. Unfortunately (and I mean unfortunately, because I am an environment artist), the environment textures are usually the first to get sacrificed.
Aigik2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:33 PM   #8
pingchecker
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 12
Posts: 132
system specs btw

Phenom II Qaudcore stock 3.4 ghz oc'ed to 3.8
8 gigs of corsair 1600 oc,ed to 1800
geforce 460 1 gig
pingchecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:33 PM   #9
flyingmunkey
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i got this on my 2600k and hd6970 http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p...munkey/lol.jpg
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:35 PM   #10
KnaveSkye
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 34
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aigik2 View Post
You guys clearly don't understand the game development process. Just because there's a low resolution texture, or many of them, in a game, does not mean that they got lazy, or are poor artists. I'm a game artist, and besides the hardcore time constraints we are often put under, we have texture resolution limitations that we can't break, to make sure the game is shipped to run well, and bring down the file size. Unfortunately (and I mean unfortunately, because I am an environment artist), the environment textures are usually the first to get sacrificed.
This is a 25GB game that is suposedly 10-15 hrs long. Does not add up.
KnaveSkye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:36 PM   #11
StingingVelvet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 264
Posts: 4,797
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/55...9680961F13008/
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/55...13FD2EB2EE45B/

Look at the floor in the second shot. One of the worst floors I have seen in many years.
StingingVelvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:36 PM   #12
pingchecker
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 12
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aigik2 View Post
You guys clearly don't understand the game development process. Just because there's a low resolution texture, or many of them, in a game, does not mean that they got lazy, or are poor artists. I'm a game artist, and besides the hardcore time constraints we are often put under, we have texture resolution limitations that we can't break, to make sure the game is shipped to run well, and bring down the file size. Unfortunately (and I mean unfortunately, because I am an environment artist), the environment textures are usually the first to get sacrificed.
STFU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8KK35fguW9I
pingchecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:36 PM   #13
Stry
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 62
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aigik2 View Post
You guys clearly don't understand the game development process. Just because there's a low resolution texture, or many of them, in a game, does not mean that they got lazy, or are poor artists. I'm a game artist, and besides the hardcore time constraints we are often put under, we have texture resolution limitations that we can't break, to make sure the game is shipped to run well, and bring down the file size. Unfortunately (and I mean unfortunately, because I am an environment artist), the environment textures are usually the first to get sacrificed.

Jon Carmack was saying that a lot of the guys did NOT like the limits they were put under for Texture Load. I don't blame them. Its almost like in order to release the game multiplatform and on time, they had to cage the talent of iD. They make some pretty damn amazing games, and considering the tech they've done it with at times, blows my mind.
Stry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:37 PM   #14
mechtech
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 10
Posts: 75
I have a winner! I opened the game back up just to get a screenie and show this to you guys.

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...F01A307A31CF6/

MEGATEXTURE!
mechtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:37 PM   #15
scubs
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 324
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aigik2 View Post
You guys clearly don't understand the game development process. Just because there's a low resolution texture, or many of them, in a game, does not mean that they got lazy, or are poor artists. I'm a game artist, and besides the hardcore time constraints we are often put under, we have texture resolution limitations that we can't break, to make sure the game is shipped to run well, and bring down the file size. Unfortunately (and I mean unfortunately, because I am an environment artist), the environment textures are usually the first to get sacrificed.
that's not our problem. most of the people that game on a PC is for better graphics. if we wanted those graphics we'd just play on a console.
scubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.