Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 12:01 AM   #1
netarchy
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 32
FOV adjustment howto

Right, I figured out how to adjust the FOV.

First you'll need to enable the console by adding +set com_allowconsole 1 to your launch options

Then, inside the game, bring down the console, and use the cvaradd command to modify the g_fov variable.

Example: (g_fov defaults to 80, we are going to modify this)

cvaradd g_fov 15 (this results in 80 + 15 = g_fov 95)

example 2:

cvaradd g_fov -15 (this results in 80 - 15 = g_fov 65)


Enjoy.

Update: As has been noted by others on the forum, it is also possible to set this in your Rage launch options in steam, just use something like:
+cvaradd g_fov X
where X is your preferred number.

Last edited by netarchy: 10-07-2011 at 12:44 PM.
netarchy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:03 AM   #2
Almalovesme
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Also, Enabling the Console during a game disables achievements for that entire save.

So there is no way as of now to get achievements and use a proper FoV.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:04 AM   #3
netarchy
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almalovesme View Post
Also, Enabling the Console during a game disables achievements for that entire save.

So there is no way as of now to get achievements and use a proper FoV.
You can probably get around that by putting the cvaradd line into default.cfg, just remember you're modifying a base value of 80.
netarchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:04 AM   #4
cunnelatio
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almalovesme View Post
Also, Enabling the Console during a game disables achievements for that entire save.

So there is no way as of now to get achievements and use a proper FoV.
Put the command in default.cfg
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:10 AM   #5
SyphonX
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 92
Impressive sir.

I will give you +1 internets, or a gift of your choosing that I have in my possession.
SyphonX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:14 AM   #6
SyphonX
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 21
Posts: 92
Rating and bumping this thread.
SyphonX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:15 AM   #7
alwaysfullboost
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by cunnelatio View Post
Put the command in default.cfg
where is default.cfg located?
alwaysfullboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:19 AM   #8
RadicalTed
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 41
Putting the command in the default.cfg doesn't disable achievements?
RadicalTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:21 AM   #9
RadicalTed
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 8
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysfullboost View Post
where is default.cfg located?
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\rage\base
RadicalTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:22 AM   #10
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
Works. You can also add it in the launch options with a + in front.
JK_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:22 AM   #11
alwaysfullboost
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadicalTed View Post
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\rage\base
oh thanks! i was looking in that hidden appdata folder
alwaysfullboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:25 AM   #12
Mikey-
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 133
Posts: 1,383
And just like that, Rage looks miles better.

Seriously. Eidos Montreal broke the ice with Deus Ex Human Revolution by including a bloody FOV slider. Time for all developers to follow suit. Not having an FOV slider should no longer be an option even.

Thanks so much OP.
Mikey- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:35 AM   #13
ChaseRocker
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Can anyone clarify this?

Does enabling the console with com_allowconsole 1 disable achievements?

Are you changing FOV using the default.cfg or startup options?

I can't seem to get either to work, only changing via the console does
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:35 AM   #14
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
It didn't work in default.cfg for me. I put it in launch options. You can remove the console command from the options and it shouldn't disable achievements. I haven't found where it saves the updated cfg file. That is where it would need to be added. Remember the "+" in front.
JK_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:38 AM   #15
ChaseRocker
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK_DC View Post
It didn't work in default.cfg for me. I put it in launch options. You can remove the console command from the options and it shouldn't disable achievements. I haven't found where it saves the updated cfg file. That is where it would need to be added. Remember the "+" in front.
what does your exact launch options look like?

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.