Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > IL-2 Sturmovik: 1946

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 10:45 AM   #1
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Il 2 sturmovik 1946 won't start

I recently bought this game off of steam. I have windows 7, my computer is a g73jh asus laptop with a mobility radeon HD 5870. Every time I try to start the game, either the mouse shows a loading sign then nothing happens, or it changes the resolution on my computer and changes the color scheme of my computer because the game is not compatible with it. Even when it does that still the game shows no sign of starting. It does however so a quick message that goes away before i can read it. I have tried re installing it a couple of times and it still doesn't work. If any of you have an idea of what to do I would appreciate it. I have tried changing the compatibility settings, running the securom scan (which doesn't pick up anything from il 2 sturmovik), and disabling visual themes, desktop composition, and display scaling on high DPI settings.

another weird thing is that every time i install the game and try to play it it never does the first time setup thing or direct x installation that a game on steam normally would do.

Last edited by bongo0310: 10-04-2011 at 12:09 PM.
bongo0310 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:24 PM   #2
Anvilfolk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 17
Posts: 227
Here's a post I did for a similar issue:

"I have no idea what might be going wrong, but here's a few things you can try.

- Update video drivers, etc etc.
- Revert back to the old 4.09 version. That should work before you apply the patches. Either remove it completely and reinstall, or do "verify integrity"
- In the settings, use openGL rendering and use a "standard", low resolution, like 1024x768, to see it if starts.

Let us know!"
Anvilfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:38 PM   #3
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
how do i use open GL rendering? I know how to open the config file but im not sure how to do that. Thanks for your help!
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:52 AM   #4
Anvilfolk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 17
Posts: 227
Go into your Steam directory and open "ilset.exe" instead of "il2fb.exe". That should open the game setup. In the first tab, "graphics", you've got "provider", and change it there.

I've never had problems, so I really have no idea if this doesn't work You can probably google around, there's bound to have been other people with this problem.
Anvilfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 09:06 AM   #5
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Wow that doesn't open either haha. It says the game is currently unavailable. thanks for helping though. I goggled around already, but everyone who had the problem fixed it and when I tried to do what they did it didn't work :/
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:10 AM   #6
Wolfseven
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongo0310 View Post
Wow that doesn't open either haha. It says the game is currently unavailable. thanks for helping though. I goggled around already, but everyone who had the problem fixed it and when I tried to do what they did it didn't work :/
MAKE SURE YOU RUN THAT AS WELL RUN AS ADMIN IN THE PROPERTIES / ADVANCED /run as admin
you must do this for il2set up as well.
Wolfseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:42 PM   #7
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
hmmm. I have already set the steam.exe to run as administrator so when I set the setup to administrator it asks "do you want this program to make changes?" and when i click yes it pops up again and again until i say "no".
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:37 PM   #8
Anvilfolk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 17
Posts: 227
Don't do it for the Steam executable - do it on the game itself. I'm not sure that if Steam launches the game, the game inherits the admin privileges. Just go to your Steam folder, find the game, and do that there
Anvilfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:40 PM   #9
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
It's still doing it haha even with steam not set to run as administrator. What compatibility am I supposed to have it under?
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 04:22 PM   #10
lloyd0161
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same Issue Here

I have the same laptop you have with the same issue. I installed the reference graphics driver from AMD for the ATI 5870HD/Windows 7 64 and I was able to launch the game. Once in the game change the graphics to DirectX in lieu of Open GL. Once this is done you will need to reinstall the updated graphics driver sofware from the ASUS support downloads site as the AMD reference driver will cause the laptop to lock up at times.

Maybe someone knows how to manually edit the IL-2 1946 config.ini file to revert to DirectX. I could not figure this out. The setup utility did not work for me either both from the start menu and also from the game folder under steam.

This is kind of a pain but works to be able to play the game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:15 AM   #11
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
........ Thank you so much!!!! Wow it works perfectly now. I can't tell you how much i appreciate that. I almost gave up on it!!! Again thank you!!!
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:56 AM   #12
Anvilfolk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 17
Posts: 227
Out of curiosity, that means you can't use the newest drivers from AMD? That sucks

Bongo: now don't forget to manually update the game to 4.10.1, and perhaps put a modpack in. Maybe I'll see you online someday
Anvilfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:19 AM   #13
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
well actually all I had to do was change it from opengl to direct x in my settings and then it worked. It's weird haha. ok though I will. What's the best mod or mods?
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 03:43 PM   #14
Anvilfolk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 17
Posts: 227
Most online servers that I play on are currently using UP3.0, which is a massive modpack that adds loads of airplanes. You have to download UP3.0RC, then UP3.0 RC4. Or you can just learn to fly in regular 4.10.1, and wait until the final version of UP3.0 comes out

To install UP3.0 RC4 anyways, in a way that you will be able to fly on the full real Warbirds of Prey servers, here's a guide: http://www.warbirdsofprey.org/index.php?topic=9984.0

If you do not intend to fly on the Warbirds of Prey servers and only want to try it out, then you can probably install just UP3.0RC and then RC4 (skipping RC2 and RC3).


If you want to up the graphics of the game (don't expect miracles), then install UP3.0RC4, and then install the graphics modpack at http://ultrapack.il2war.com/index.php/topic,4462.0.html. Hopefully, these will be included in the final UP3.0 version. All you have to do is unzip the file into the "jsgmemods" inside your IL2 Sturmovik folder

Again, before all this, patch the game up to 4.10.1 (install 4.10 and then 4.10.1) manually, and disable Steam updates of the game.

Good flying
Anvilfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:27 PM   #15
bongo0310
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Ok thank you very much! I think i will stick to learning the game for now before I try online haha. I'm still pretty knew to flight sims and i'm trying to find a good tutorial somewhere.
bongo0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > IL-2 Sturmovik: 1946


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.