Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 10:22 PM   #1
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
*updated* New 10/6 texture pop in fix. And hard drive cache fix for Windows 7

Thanks to quadid and others who came up with this fix before me.

Save this config file in valve\steam\steamapps\common\rage\base

This fix forces more textures into vram so they won't have to keep loading constantly and improves texture quality immensely.

New patch configs

Add any of the below if needed to the rageconfig.cfg download with notepad or any text editor of your choice.

jobs_numthreads 0 or 1
Useful for ATI cards with very low framerate and hitching. Temporary until the drivers are updated.

vt_maxPPF 128
This was the default before patching. Use if your pop in is worse after the patch and you have a fast CPU.




New config for 1GB+ vram

Extremely low pop in with this new version, but for 1GB+ video cards only. This is a mix of the low and high vram versions that will work for most video cards. The people that said 16384 didn't work will soon eat their words. Check this out in Wellsprings and run between the mechanic shop and the path between the mayors office and quickly turn around. At the previous 8194 setting there was still some pop in. Now with this setting there is none. Enjoy!

If you have 1GB of vram you may need to turn down antialiasing to 2-4x unless you have 2GB of RAM as it will fill up after your vram is filled to the max.


http://www.mediafire.com/file/yldv8k...Rageconfig.cfg


New config for 1.5GB+ vram

The ultimate config. You will have to search for pop in. There should be almost no pop in after the initial loading. With this it should be like any other optimized PC game except for some of the texture resolutions which can't be fixed unless a high res texture pack is released.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/1r35ni...Rageconfig.cfg



New config for 512-<1GB vram

Mostly for 512mb-1GB video cards. For 1GB and above use one of the two versions at the top of the page. If you have a 512mb video card this may make it run worse or cause artifacting such as a blue color everywhere. This is primarily for cards with >700mb of vram. If it causes too much hitching/stuttering make sure you turn off antialiasing. Use at your own risk with less than 512mb of vram.

This new update should make it okay to run on 512mb cards.



http://www.mediafire.com/file/44xsvd...Rageconfig.cfg



Hard Drive Cache for Windows 7

This may help further with pop in/stuttering/hitching problems in the game.

Unzip the file into your username folder(C:\users\yournamehere) to enable the Rage hard drive cache. Less messy than enabling hidden folders. I need confirmation if this works for Vista too. This won't work for Windows XP, but I can host one if someone tells me the folder structure.

This simply creates the folder where the cache files are supposed to go. Tell me if it improves the game above and beyond what the pop in fix does.

Cache folder for Windows 7

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wsz9mychzm8ehb9/Cache.rar




Old files

512MB(preferably >700mb) to 1.5GB of VRAM.
https://rapidshare.com/files/76740298/Rageconfig.cfg
http://www.mediafire.com/file/yaxjf8...Rageconfig.cfg


2GB+ VRAM version(testing purposes. The above fix should work great for most people)
https://rapidshare.com/files/710117844/Rageconfig.cfg
http://www.mediafire.com/file/4qad9w...Rageconfig.cfg

Last edited by JK_DC: 11-02-2011 at 04:13 PM.
JK_DC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:23 PM   #2
Cloud8521
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 102
Posts: 3,457
couldn't you just type it here?
Cloud8521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:24 PM   #3
Cloud8521
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 102
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK_DC View Post
Drop this config file in the base subdirectory within rage. If you have only a 512mb video card tell me if it runs okay as this fix forces more textures into vram so they won't have to keep loading constantly.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/yaxjf8...Rageconfig.cfg
also you forgot to take the txt off
Cloud8521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:25 PM   #4
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
It is easier this way as each person has to make a text file and then type it. With this cfg it can be dropped in with no effort. It's been floating around but nobody has posted it yet as an easy download.


seta vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 "8192"
seta vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly "8192"
seta vt_pageimagesizeunique "8192"
seta vt_pageimagesizevmtr "8192"
JK_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:38 PM   #5
Rippleeffect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 201
It did not fix the texture pop in or the HD usage when you pan the screen, but it did make the game use more VRam. It used around 400MB more with w/o the cfg file.
Rippleeffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:38 PM   #6
Hachima
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Finally a fix! This fixed the texture popping issue for me on an ATI 6970 card
Hachima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:41 PM   #7
Dredknotzx600
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Definatly made mine better, im running 2 3gb gtx 580s and this actually makes use of the vram in the cards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:43 PM   #8
Codine
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 26
Posts: 657
Made my game a lot better but not 100% fix. Can still notice texture popins pretty easy still.

Thanks for this though, makes the game a lot more tolerable.
Codine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:45 PM   #9
SomeGuyDude
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 52
Didn't do squat on my ATI Mobility 5850. Literally you just drop it in the "Rage" folder in steam\steamapps\common\rage ?
SomeGuyDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:47 PM   #10
tastethecourage
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 43
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeGuyDude View Post
Didn't do squat on my ATI Mobility 5850. Literally you just drop it in the "Rage" folder in steam\steamapps\common\rage ?
No, he said to put it in the "Base" subdirectory. There's a folder called "Base"
tastethecourage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:50 PM   #11
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dredknotzx600 View Post
Definatly made mine better, im running 2 3gb gtx 580s and this actually makes use of the vram in the cards.
Would you be interested in trying a more aggressive setting? I don't have a 3gb card so it crashes me if I set it higher.

2GB-3GB VRAM version. If it crashes put the old one back in.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/4qad9w...Rageconfig.cfg


@fatb0yz/someguydude

valve\steam\steamapps\common\rage\base

Last edited by JK_DC: 10-04-2011 at 10:53 PM.
JK_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:51 PM   #12
Dredknotzx600
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
trying now
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:51 PM   #13
Torgul
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 44
Posts: 576
Those setting did have an effect ,,, seems like im dropping and reloading textures much less often ... the pop in is still there but not as much.

nVidia 550Ti (1GB)

I put the settings in my default.cfg file.
Torgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:54 PM   #14
Dredknotzx600
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Runs better and better use of vram textures dont seem AS Bland

http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7...24610614691298

2100+ vram
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:58 PM   #15
alwaysfullboost
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 78
oh...my...god....

IT'S PERFECT

no pop-in detected. using 6970 cfx (2gb card) cfx still doesnt work but idk if i really need it if its running at 60fps on just one.

Edit: I used the larger of the two .cfg files
alwaysfullboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.