Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 10:42 AM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #1
Chase M
 
Chase M's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 20
Thumbs up Additional workarounds for RAGE visual fidelity

Below you will find a series of additional workarounds to improve the visual quality for RAGE:

These scripts are added to a file called rageconfig.cfg in steamapps\common\base\

vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 16384
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 16384
vt_pageimagesizeunique 16384
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 16384
vt_restart
vt_maxaniso 4
image_anisotropy 4

More information can be found here.
Chase M is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:48 AM   #2
lexcyn
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Isn't this only if you have 2GB+ of VRAM?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:52 AM   #3
ShTuPm
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 10
Posts: 385
......Yep.
ShTuPm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:52 AM   #4
Sinhealer
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 2925
Posts: 2,831
Yes with that setting you need a 1.5+vram

You are much safer trying ..


vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique 8192
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 8192
vt_maxaniso 4
vt_restart
image_anisotropy 4
Sinhealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:53 AM   #5
Rumtruffle
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 38
Posts: 1,636
why do people keep saying maxaniso @ 4 ?

surely maxaniso should be x16, or cant the engine handle x16?
Rumtruffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:57 AM   #6
atilaadt
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i m running at
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique 8192
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 8192
vt_restart
vt_maxaniso 16
image_anisotropy 16
seta vt_lodBias "-1"
seta image_anisotropy "16"
seta image_usecompression 0
seta image_lodbias "-1"
seta image_ignoreLowQuality "1"
seta image_ignoreHighQuality "0"
seta image_useCache "1"
seta com_videoRam "1024"

on my i5 2500k
6gb ram ddr3
gtx 560 ti directCUII oc 1gb

and i run very fine 60fps constant no problem, i don t think i need 1,5Vram or better because i m only at 1.0gb Vram...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:59 AM   #7
Sinhealer
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 2925
Posts: 2,831
atilaadt yes you are fine,the OP's numbers require 1.5+ but your numbers are set for I think 700Vram+
Sinhealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:03 AM   #8
binarysplit
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 18
I've been doing some tinkering and it seems like vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly is the only setting that seems to matter.

At 898MB of VRam, I can't set all 4 settings to 8192 without it lagging, but I can set vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly to 8192 and the others to 128 and I seem to get the same visual quality with a much higher frame rate.

My recommendation: set vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly to as high as you can and keep the others at 4096, or even drop them back to 2048.
binarysplit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:06 AM   #9
paramite12
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 159
Don't worry about the vram issue, I have 1gb and I run the 8192 settings fine at 60fps with 8x AA. As long as the rest your your computer is up to snuff it shouldn't be a problem.
paramite12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:10 AM   #10
Sinhealer
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 2925
Posts: 2,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by paramite12 View Post
Don't worry about the vram issue, I have 1gb and I run the 8192 settings fine at 60fps with 8x AA. As long as the rest your your computer is up to snuff it shouldn't be a problem.
People were replying to the OP and his setting with 16384 which would require 1.5Vram+ the lower setting are fine with the 1gbVram.
Sinhealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:51 AM   #11
swarmjag
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinhealer View Post
People were replying to the OP and his setting with 16384 which would require 1.5Vram+ the lower setting are fine with the 1gbVram.
So is there an even higher setting if you have a 3gb video card?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:33 PM   #12
Groovy-Music
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 38
Posts: 39
Some Screenshots comparison

Note: Since RAGE's latest update, there is an in-game setting to adjust the cache from LOW to HIGH.

LOW:
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly = 4096
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 = 4096
vt_pageimagesizeunique = 4096


HIGH:
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly = 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 = 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique = 8192


== > vt_pageimagesizevmtr = 4096 and, remains unchanged when set to LOW or HIGH (doesn't require to be set any higher, as noted by "binarysplit" in Post #20)

=== > So there is still a way to somewhat improve further more the in-game settings by editing the Rageconfig.cfg and setting the 3 first vt_page values to 16384. < ===

Higher cache values than the in-game settings:

vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly = 16384
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 = 16384
vt_pageimagesizeunique = 16384
vt_feedbackLodBias -1 // or -0.5 <-- for better distant textures sharpness



--------------------------------------------------------------------

I tried the different settings of "pageimagesize" and the greater is the number, better is the textures quality (at distance), and also it greatly reduces the texture pop-in because of more RAM being used at all time.

*Note that these screenshots were taken by the STEAM overlay screen capture option (F12), thus causing some quality lost compared to a pure .BMP or .PNG (but it's easier/quicker for me to post), so they ALL look better AND sharper before screen capturing into these small .JPG

(I suggest to open all of these at once, and navigate between them to notice all the subtle changes.)

--> Anti-Aliasing = 8

The most noticeable differences I observed between 8k and 16k are in images 1 and 2


Img 1 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...ABC4912D6D3DD/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...EBDEE5B698863/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...2E8DDC591626B/


Img 2 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...D2C1BCA76E23D/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...7E08F152E7993/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...3F4DEDAA338C9/


Img 3 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...9A45E97BABC9D/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...39C6F44780DEF/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...3720849FDAFA1/


Img 4 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...9614CC917D29B/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...E40224E235B8D/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...42807469F0934/


Img 5 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...61D5EC7F6ACCA/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...25C3BEEEA5CC4/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...B6533F27AD885/


Img 6 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...17156076F6A98/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...8ACACA685473D/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...F6D1EB66F3F26/


Img 7 -----------------------------------------------------------

Default RAGE cache set to LOW (4096):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...6DE29675DFE53/

Default RAGE cache set to HIGH (8192):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...B075D7E64B6BA/

Custom config using the 16384 settings:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/59...BE5C1E62F53A0/

Depending of the area/point of view, the visual differences between 8192 and 16384 may be very little to non existent, so we can assume that the 8192 setting is sufficient to max out the textures quality required by the game in theses areas/points of view (Or the id Tech5 engine further auto reduce the graphics when set too high, when judging the performances will suffer).

In addition, setting the game to 16384 results in better textures buffering (Textures pop-in are practically gone, even when rapid 180 degree mouse spin outs) but requires a lot of VideoRAM (more than 1Gb apparently) in certain locations and will more likely causes stuttering/freezes/LAG if you don't have that much on your present video card.
--> 8192 is more suitable for 1Gb or less VRAM


--------------------------------------------------------------------

Additional useful and cool config commands from enthusiastic users:

Maxwell Adams <--- Click
&
MAD MAX RW <--- Click




edit: I added more screenshots from different locations

Last edited by Groovy-Music: 10-24-2011 at 10:24 AM.
Groovy-Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:45 PM   #13
nemssss
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
i don't see differences between 16k and 8k
nemssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:46 PM   #14
Feed_Bucket
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 17
Posts: 129
It's subtle but it's there.
Feed_Bucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:49 PM   #15
nemssss
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
explain because for me 8k looks better than 16k, 8k version is more clear and less blurred
nemssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE


Tags
rage , visuals , workarounds

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.