Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Orcs Must Die! series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 01:48 AM   #1
Vustom
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 48
Posts: 499
Can my PC handle Orcs Must Die!?

Can my PC handle Orcs Must Die! in high settings? I would at least like to be able to run Orcs Must Die! in high settings on my full native resolution of 1680 x 1050.

My PC specifications are:

OS: Windows 7™ Ultimate 32-bit (SP1)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 3070MB RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 240
Resolution: 1680 x 1050
DirectX Version: DirectX 11 (Video card only supports up to 10.1)

P.S. I already have this as a pre-order.. but still thought I'd ask.
Vustom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 02:39 AM   #2
Meowthemouse
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 161
Posts: 746
OS:Windows XP, Windows Vista or Windows 7
Processor:2GHz Dual Core
Memory:2 GB RAM
Graphics:NVIDIA GeForce 6800 or ATI Radeon x1950 or better with 256MB VRAM
DirectX®:dx90c
Hard Drive:5 GB HD space
Meowthemouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:04 AM   #3
RhinoMatte
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 47
Posts: 633
Run the demo if you want to know?

I can run it maxed out on a:

Core 2 Duo P7350 @ 2.0Ghz (2 cores)
4GB Ram
ATI Radeon HD 4570M
Windows 7 64 bit

It's a laptop, as you might have noticed. You have nothing to worry about.
RhinoMatte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 04:08 AM   #4
komanko
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 10
Vustom, I am unsure but, it looks like you can with pretty much no problem. OMD is not a very demanding game graphically so unless you have 3000 orcs on the screen in the same time I dont see a reason for why your game won't work smoothly, even on maxed (I think).
komanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 04:51 AM   #5
Tecnotronics
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 78
I tried it out on:

i5 2500k stock clock on a P8P67 mobo
ATI Radeon 6850
1920x1080 resolution

It's the fastest, most optimized game I've ever played graphically on this PC. I don't know what kind of magic it was programmed with, but I can't even see a difference between 0xMSAA and 4xMSAA (when normally games go from ~65fps to ~40fps when I change this setting on hdmi).

Can almost guarantee it will run well on a core 2 duo (been thinking about getting an core 2 laptop on craig's list so I can broadcast the game thru that over wifi Steam onto a 27" widescreen 1920x1080 screen when I'm working out).
Tecnotronics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:43 AM   #6
pingchecker
 
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 12
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vustom View Post
Can my PC handle Orcs Must Die! in high settings? I would at least like to be able to run Orcs Must Die! in high settings on my full native resolution of 1680 x 1050.

My PC specifications are:

OS: Windows 7™ Ultimate 32-bit (SP1)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 3070MB RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 240
Resolution: 1680 x 1050
DirectX Version: DirectX 11 (Video card only supports up to 10.1)

P.S. I already have this as a pre-order.. but still thought I'd ask.
you should be fine
pingchecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 05:25 PM   #7
dragonG1
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Guys, I can play the demo of OMD on my laptop on low settings, if I can do that you should be able to play on high.
dragonG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 11:33 PM   #8
Lurpsukka
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 314
Posts: 2,295
This is one of the rare games that runs really well on low end pc's. Thanks to Robot Entertainment showing that you can still code decent looking game with good frame rate and play it on a low end machine.
Lurpsukka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:37 PM   #9
squidracerX
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
my computer runs it on low

Ive got an older computer, still running XP with a Geforce 7950 GT, (which is better than the lowest requirement but not by much), but if I run it on high, it looks fine except behind the player, there must be a dust or smoke graphic or something? All I see is black pixel boxes, so I turned it to low and it runs fine. Almost can run it at high, doesn't seem like that one special graphical affect shouldn't work on my card, but i dunno how to try to fix it.
squidracerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:42 AM   #10
SixOkay
 
Robot Entertainment
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 200
Posts: 755
Use this site:

http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/

It will check your PC and tell you if it will run the game in question. OMD is in their database for checking.
SixOkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Orcs Must Die! series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.