Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 08:23 PM   #31
Zoey Artyom
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 27
Actually, The new patch hasnt given me any problems, If not anything, Everything looks better.

But effects are playing up a bit, No grenade explosions or muzzle flashes going on.
Zoey Artyom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:26 PM   #32
JK_DC
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 222
Posts: 2,199
For everyone that the game worked before the patch and now won't load. You can try deleting the patch file to see if it fixes the game if it worked fine before. The trouble is it also updated rage.exe which can't be undone. If Steam will let you of course.

rage\base\gameresources_sp_01.patch. Delete that and see if it loads. If it doesn't you can verify cache to redownload it. Or you can simply move it out of the base directory and back again.
JK_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:30 PM   #33
oldsnake5
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 88
The update fixed alot of problems for me, including fps issues, freezing, and just totally messed up textures, now the game runs fairly smooth between 40-55fps and no hitching. Unfortunately all is not well because I now have a new texture problem...

Is this whats called Texture Pop-In, or Texture Popping? ^^

http://steamcommunity.com/id/sin4pro...24/?tab=public
oldsnake5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:32 PM   #34
schism84
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 192
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsnake5 View Post
The update fixed alot of problems for me, including fps issues, freezing, and just totally messed up textures, now the game runs fairly smooth between 40-55fps and no hitching. Unfortunately all is not well because I now have a new texture problem...

Is this whats called Texture Pop-In, or Texture Popping? ^^

http://steamcommunity.com/id/sin4pro...24/?tab=public
No, that's what's called textures in the wrong places. Texture pop-in is when you can notice textures "appearing" or replacing lower res textures, when it should be happening unnoticed. Many AMD users included myself have the glitches you're experiencing. I had them since day 1 though.
schism84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:33 PM   #35
FusedCore
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 346
Posts: 2,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oberon_87 View Post
Hi,

Is the FOV being set to 96 appropriate for playing at 1920x1080p/16:9?
yes

-FusedCore
FusedCore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:33 PM   #36
EternalWanderer
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
This is what the patch did to me:

http://steamcommunity.com/id/thefini...84312257802379

MY EYES!

(I managed to beat the complete five finger fillet minigame, so theres that)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:38 PM   #37
headhot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
ATI hd 5770 here patch caused game to insta-crash with fusioncore's config. I removed the config, then it started crashing on world load. I down graded my drivers from the AMD rage patch to the 11.9 drivers. The world would load but texture popping and black corrupted textures were as bad as ever. Then it started crashing on the next area loads.
headhot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:43 PM   #38
Drackan
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 8
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsnake5 View Post
The update fixed alot of problems for me, including fps issues, freezing, and just totally messed up textures, now the game runs fairly smooth between 40-55fps and no hitching. Unfortunately all is not well because I now have a new texture problem...

Is this whats called Texture Pop-In, or Texture Popping? ^^

http://steamcommunity.com/id/sin4pro...24/?tab=public
Yes this is i'd say one of the most common issues now i think.
Although im not strictly sure it should be refereed to as "Texture Pop-In, or Texture Popping" as you call it. Texture poping is actually something else entirely, and different to this. This is dynamic missing/misplaced textures.

The worrying thing is that there doesn't seem to be any mention of it being a known or recognized issue by bethesda in the RAGE Patch Release Notes - October 8th 2011 which is very concerning.
Drackan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:45 PM   #39
Regulater29
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 36
my game is fine after patch but getting screen tearing. so in frustration i deleted the game and might just wait for another patch to be released if any
Regulater29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:53 PM   #40
4g94_Lancer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
i still get gfx popin after the patch.... not using any custom config.. once i disabled aa ingame the gfx seemd sharper and clear but i still seen the annoying poping and stutter hear and their.. gonna tru ur solution next
4g94_Lancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:57 PM   #41
Squishy23
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Launch Game, get to the main menu, load a Save Game or Start a new one (doesn't matter), get to the loading screen and CRASH!

I think I'd rather have 'Q-bert' mode than this.
Squishy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:08 PM   #42
Rippleeffect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 201
Wow, what a fouled up patch. I had it running perfect and now it pops textures in like mad. Guess I need to go fix what id broke again
Rippleeffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:09 PM   #43
FusedCore
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 346
Posts: 2,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippleeffect View Post
Wow, what a fouled up patch. I had it running perfect and now it pops textures in like mad. Guess I need to go fix what id broke again
You and me both... Now I don't even feel like playing the game...

-FusedCore
FusedCore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:14 PM   #44
FusedCore
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 346
Posts: 2,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by FusedCore View Post
You and me both... Now I don't even feel like playing the game...

-FusedCore
I'm going to go watch a Movie now Call me when they Patch it again...

-FusedCore
FusedCore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:15 PM   #45
Rippleeffect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 15
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by FusedCore View Post
You and me both... Now I don't even feel like playing the game...

-FusedCore
I tried the modified configs you had and they really don't work now, even after I tuned it for my system.

I can pan around slowly and way maybe 5-8 instances of textures popping in over eachother. id, wth are you doing?

Does anyone know how to roll back the patch?
Rippleeffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > RAGE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.