Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2011, 01:06 AM   #1
Mickthom
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Can I reinstall games on Steam for free or do I have to buy them again?

Hey guys, I need to know if I can reinstall Steam games on my account because I got a new hard drive and I am putting Steam on it, but I have some Steam games that need updating and downloading and I can't back them up, so I need to know if I have to buy them again or can I reinstall them for free.

Thank you if you answer.
Mickthom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 01:08 AM   #2
emcct
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
If you have bought a steam game, for instance CS and its on your account then you can always download it again
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 01:11 AM   #3
Eunos
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 366
Posts: 1,217
Emcct is correct, you can download them as many times as you want to.
Eunos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:45 AM   #4
ozgeek
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 252
Posts: 2,162
Yep, you can reinstall the games on ANY computer but remember some games have install limits due to SecuRom. here is a website dedicated to listing all the games that have DRM that interferes with Steam's true purpose:

http://steamdrm.flibitijibibo.com/
ozgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 12:30 PM   #5
Howler54 II
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 95
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozgeek View Post
Yep, you can reinstall the games on ANY computer but remember some games have install limits due to SecuRom. here is a website dedicated to listing all the games that have DRM that interferes with Steam's true purpose:

http://steamdrm.flibitijibibo.com/
Hmm browsed around there, didnt really know what SecuRom was. Now I understand why people don't like it that much.

I saw this from their support on Batman: Arkham asylum (randomly chosen). It's info on what to do if it says that your game has been activated to many times.

Quote:
Please run the revoke tool, http://download.securom.com/support/...kebatmanaa.zip, on the PC where you have originally activated 'Batman: Arkham Asylum'. After revoking this activation, you will be able to activate your application on a different PC.
What if you don't have the computer you originally activated the game on? Do you have to buy a new copy of the game then?
Howler54 II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 01:03 PM   #6
snapjak
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 1480
Posts: 4,438
You would be down one activation if you can't use the revoke tool. Sooner or later you may either be forced to contact the dev/distributor to get your key reset, or have to buy it again.
snapjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.