Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Batman: Arkham Asylum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2011, 12:52 PM   #1
walenice
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 133
M+KB vs controller

Just read about Batman: AC and am now interested in Arkham Asylum. I don't have a controller to plug into the PC... Is this game playable with M+KB or is it too difficult?

I was able to play darksiders on PC with M+KB... is this game similar?

thanks
walenice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:14 PM   #2
EliteTemptation
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 754
Posts: 3,024
This game is extremely playable with keyboard and mouse, in fact it's what I used to beat the game from start to finish on hard mode first playthrough

I don't know how it even plays with a controller

Just make sure to note these things

1) The game uses Games for windows live, any issues you have with that will most likely be here to annoy you

2) The game has machine install limit DRM, but comes with a revoke tool, so be sure to revoke your key before you uninstall (this will appear in steam tools)

3) Make sure you meet the "recommended requirements" to play the game
EliteTemptation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:14 PM   #3
mudflaps
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 1,044
i would just use keyboard n mouse unless you wanna play thru your tv. played arkam asylum with both and didnt favour either. I suppose if you are doing the combat challenge its probably a little easier with the mouse.
mudflaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:20 PM   #4
walenice
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteTemptation View Post
This game is extremely playable with keyboard and mouse, in fact it's what I used to beat the game from start to finish on hard mode first playthrough

I don't know how it even plays with a controller

Just make sure to note these things

1) The game uses Games for windows live, any issues you have with that will most likely be here to annoy you

2) The game has machine install limit DRM, but comes with a revoke tool, so be sure to revoke your key before you uninstall (this will appear in steam tools)

3) Make sure you meet the "recommended requirements" to play the game
Thanks for the reply, not sure what number 2 means? Is games for Windows Live a bad thing? Guess I"m not much of a computer gamer as I thought...
walenice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:22 PM   #5
EliteTemptation
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 754
Posts: 3,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by walenice View Post
Thanks for the reply, not sure what number 2 means? Is games for Windows Live a bad thing? Guess I"m not much of a computer gamer as I thought...
Games for windows live can prove to be annoying if you need to download "downloadable- content" or transfer your save from computer to computer, or try and use your save on a different "gamertag"

And no number 2 isn't a bad thing, just before you uninstall the game if you ever need to (ex: changing computers, or replacing hard drive) just be sure to use the license revoke took under "tools" section of steam BEFORE you uninstall the game

You shouldn't have any problems really
EliteTemptation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:25 PM   #6
walenice
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteTemptation View Post
Games for windows live can prove to be annoying if you need to download "downloadable- content" or transfer your save from computer to computer, or try and use your save on a different "gamertag"

And no number 2 isn't a bad thing, just before you uninstall the game if you ever need to (ex: changing computers, or replacing hard drive) just be sure to use the license revoke took under "tools" section of steam BEFORE you uninstall the game

You shouldn't have any problems really
Thanks for the Info!
walenice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:58 PM   #7
KingFisher316
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 58
Posts: 512
I used both M&K as well as a 360 controller for this game, and they're both as good as each other.
KingFisher316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 04:42 PM   #8
Orko...
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 469
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by walenice View Post
Just read about Batman: AC and am now interested in Arkham Asylum. I don't have a controller to plug into the PC... Is this game playable with M+KB or is it too difficult?
I played B:AA on my PC using keyboard and mouse and had no problems. I don't know if the game was also available on consoles, but if it was they did a good job of taking advantage of the PC's keyboard and mouse controls and IIRC they did a good job of allowing you to edit the controls too.
Orko... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:54 AM   #9
DeeZaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 18
I've used both with this game and I can HIGHLY recommend a controller over the mouse and keyboard. This is the type of game which plays a lot better for most people with a controller. I tried a Saitek P2900 and a Microsoft xbox360 controller with the pc, both worked flawlessly. I'd get either a Saitek xbox360 clone (for the software tweaking alone is well worth it), MS xbox360 wireless or wired controller, or if you want a really slick controller, check out the Razer Onza Tournament Edition Professional XBox 360 Gaming Controller (USB). Ncix has them for a good price, I'd get the TE version as well, just search for Razer joystick and its at the top.
DeeZaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 10:58 AM   #10
sikboy1029
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 43
Posts: 1,365
This is my only 1000 point game on live and I only used a mouse and keyboard. It comes down to preference, really.
sikboy1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Batman: Arkham Asylum


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.