Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2011, 04:18 PM   #1
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
RESOLVED | AMD FX-8120 Shogun 2/Deus Ex: HR cause BSOD.

RESOLVED | The Culprit is in sight.


Not sure why it happens, but just wanted to see if anyone that bought one gets this too. Wanna confirm what i found on a couple other sites to know if its not just me and if I should re-install windows.

I have used Prime95 overnight to ensure stability however. So i am doubting the windows re-install.

Dump files from cause by Deus Ex:HR -
http://uploadingit.com/file/1ls1c2mk...1-19843-01.dmp
http://uploadingit.com/file/lajkzf1h...1-28064-01.dmp

Analyzers:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
http://www.sysadminsonline.com/2011/...screen-viewer/

Second Source for problem (Foreign Review using both programs):
http://translate.google.com/translat...r%2F21&act=url

The games worked fine before CPU swap to the new bulldozer series. No other program I know of does this. Inluding benchmark/stress such as Prime95,SiSoftware Sandra Lite, Futuremark Apps.

System Specs
-------------------
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX-8120
AMD Radeon HD 6870
G.Skill 1333 RAM (2x2gb)
Western Digital 1TB SATA II
Corsair HX850W

Windows 7 Premium 64-Bit

Last edited by HottspittaJr: 10-22-2011 at 05:58 PM. Reason: Resolved
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:21 PM   #2
Aulex
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 500
did you oc, and could you post the bios error
Aulex is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:23 PM   #3
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aulex View Post
did you oc, and could you post the bios error
Its not a overclock. And there is no BIOS error. It's a BSOD....
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:24 PM   #4
imeem
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 814
Posts: 2,846
isn't there a way to post what the BSOD says?
imeem is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:24 PM   #5
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by imeem View Post
isn't there a way to post what the BSOD says?
Yeah, except you would make no sense of it because it isn't in plain English how and why the problem occurred.
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:28 PM   #6
Aulex
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 500
lol my bad I meant BSOD, just take a picture of it, many of us can understand what it means from a few key words
Aulex is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:30 PM   #7
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aulex View Post
lol my bad I meant BSOD, just take a picture of it, many of us can understand what it means from a few key words
I can, but there are no key words. It brings back a dump file, which holds information about memory locations/parameters/arguments etc.

Of which caused the crash...
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:32 PM   #8
Aulex
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 500
no no no, try this, force bsod your comp by going into one of the games, and then take a picture of it, the dump file is useless the actual BSOD is a lot easier to understand
Aulex is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:45 PM   #9
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aulex View Post
no no no, try this, force bsod your comp by going into one of the games, and then take a picture of it, the dump file is useless the actual BSOD is a lot easier to understand
It only shows up for a split second and sometime not even shows up. I don't feel like crashing it multiple times...

I custom built this computer anyhow. The dump file is the same thing shown on the screen but more details. You can use a program to emulate what it would look like. :P

Dump files from cause by Deus Ex:HR -
http://uploadingit.com/file/1ls1c2mk...1-19843-01.dmp
http://uploadingit.com/file/lajkzf1h...1-28064-01.dmp

Analyzers:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
http://www.sysadminsonline.com/2011/...screen-viewer/
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:49 PM   #10
Aulex
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 500
wanna post your blue screen analyzer results from your dump files, because I do not have the time to do that, im busy writing a report (this is just my way of procrastinating )
Aulex is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:51 PM   #11
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aulex View Post
wanna post your blue screen analyzer results from your dump files, because I do not have the time to do that, im busy writing a report (this is just my way of procrastinating )
Haha, nice... Yeah i did that with a essay due and got an A. xD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage
to your computer.

The problem seems to be caused by the following file: ntoskrnl.exe



If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
for any Windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
select Safe Mode.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000, 0xfffffa80049848f8, 0x0000000000000000,
0x0000000000000000)

*** ntoskrnl.exe - Address 0xfffff80003b0b6cc base at 0xfffff8000365a000 DateStamp
0x4e02aaa3

It is a System32 file. So i am tempted to say i should re-install windows. Althought i am to lazy. I just like my 8-core proccessor.

Plus i used Prime95 over night just to make sure everything was going alright. But i saw this on another site. So, it makes me more lazy..

The same 2 games were reported on the site i read also.. lol

Last edited by rotNdude: 10-19-2011 at 07:29 AM. Reason: learn how to use the edit feature
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:55 PM   #12
Menaus
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 613
Posts: 1,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by HottspittaJr View Post
It only shows up for a split second and sometime not even shows up. I don't feel like crashing it multiple times...
Click on the Start button and then on Control Panel. Click on the System and Security link. Click on the System link. In the task pane on the left, click the Advanced system settings link. Locate the Startup and Recovery section near the bottom of the window and click on the Settings button.

In the Startup and Recovery window, locate and uncheck the check box next to Automatically restart. Click OK in the Startup and Recovery window. Click OK in the System Properties window. You can now close the System window.

From now on, when a problem causes a BSOD or another major error that halts the system, Windows 7 will not force a reboot. You'll have to reboot manually when an error appears.

Source: http://pcsupport.about.com/od/window...-windows-7.htm
Menaus is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:56 PM   #13
Aulex
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 500
hmm, was there a message above that because usally (well my experiences, there is a message above all that like driver_irql_not_less_or_equal or something like that.

If not than run a chk disk to check for bad sectors, make sure your files in your games aren't corrupted, get the latest drivers for everything and also if none of that works then report back
Aulex is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:57 PM   #14
HottspittaJr
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 35
Posts: 322
Why thanks, plus rep i suppose.
HottspittaJr is offline  
Old 10-18-2011, 04:58 PM   #15
Aulex
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 500
Ok so I just read the posts you posted and you don't have to reinstall windows, if none of the things I said work then try sticking in the windows cd and repairing it, also do what menaus said, and then take a picture of the bsod.
Aulex is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.