Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 04:55 PM   #1
Gordan "Ghost"
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Lightbulb How to Fix Black on Playermodels/Weapons/Props on GMod, HL2, TF2, and C:SS

OK, let's start this. Some of you (even me) has been having problems with the black error. Below is how to fix all the problems on Source Games.
OR you can watch the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aN29roUXv8w

__________________________________________________ _________________
How to fix on TF2:
1: Open Steam
2: Right click on Team Fortress 2
3: Click on Properties
4: Click Set Launch Options
5: Put this into the box: -dxlevel 81
__________________________________________________ _______________
How to fix on other Source Games:
1: Open Steam
2: Right click on (Enter Game Here)
3: Click on Properties
4: Click Set Launch Options
5: Put this into the box: -dxlevel 90
__________________________________________________ _______________
BONUS!!!
How to have TF2 blood on other source games!!! (Requires TF2)
Set the launch options to -dxlevel 81
__________________________________________________ _______________
Anything not working? Post the problem in this thread.
If you need video help, here is the link for you to use: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aN29roUXv8w

Last edited by Gordan "Ghost": 10-25-2011 at 09:02 PM. Reason: YouTube video added.
Gordan "Ghost" is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:30 PM   #2
HYPERBION
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 22
Ok, I'm new at this, but I had a similar problem a few months ago with Tf2. This worked for me.
Go to your steam folder (on mac it's library/application support/steam, and i don't know about windows)
Click 'steamapps'
Click <your username> or 'common' (the game folder could be in either)
Backup and delete the game folder (mine was tf2)
Right click on the game in steam
Click properties
Click 'local files tab'
Click 'verify integrity of Game Cache.'

That worked for me.
HYPERBION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:06 PM   #3
Gordan "Ghost"
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HYPERBION View Post
Ok, I'm new at this, but I had a similar problem a few months ago with Tf2. This worked for me.
Go to your steam folder (on mac it's library/application support/steam, and i don't know about windows)
Click 'steamapps'
Click <your username> or 'common' (the game folder could be in either)
Backup and delete the game folder (mine was tf2)
Right click on the game in steam
Click properties
Click 'local files tab'
Click 'verify integrity of Game Cache.'

That worked for me.
This did not seem to work for me, hence the thread. Also because this process is much simpler, and it literally took a minute to make the video. It will take less time than the video though. Your idea IS good, but this obviously takes less time.

Last edited by Gordan "Ghost": 10-26-2011 at 04:12 PM. Reason: BECAUSE I CAN.
Gordan "Ghost" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 05:12 AM   #4
Gordan "Ghost"
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
And people, this may only be a temporary fix. Try not to cry and come complain that "it does not work ."
Gordan "Ghost" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.