Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Lord of the Rings series, The > Lord of the Rings: War in the North

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 01:49 AM   #46
DVFVS
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Lord of the Rings: War in the North works with my Bulldozer 8120.

Sorry that there are those that were having trouble - turns out my problems were fixed by the age-old 'verify game cache' within steam, and updating the BIOS on my Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 to the latest bios, looks like a beta version, called "F6f" that I downloaded from their website directly, extracted the executable, and updated through the "@BIOS" program that shipped with the mainboard.

For what it's worth, I've had absolutely no compatibility issues with my 8120, and I'll continue to support AMD and ATI.

It's a competitive CPU for the price point, beats the i5-2500K in some, loses in others, the reverse of course is the i5-2500K loses in some, wins in others, and overall I'd say I spent less than a comparative i5-2500K by between $50-$90 depending on the components.

It's certainly better for me than the 1090T I replaced it with within Windows and all other applications I use.

Without competition, Intel would return to its anti-competitive ways and predatory pricing as we saw in the early 80s.

Flame on

Remember; verify local game cache, update BIOS. Worked for me. Not sure if the BIOS did the trick or if the verify game cache did it - I had two damaged files which steam automatically replaced. After that, the game started fine. On my FX-8120 with an Nvidia 250

DVFVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 03:59 PM   #47
Dissolutionskey
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Just my 2 cents

I don't have a bulldozer processor i have a phenom x6. But on my ASUS board i have the ability to shutdown cores or merge cores together. make 6 into 3 or just have 2 cores or whatever your heart desires. Generally when i run into an issue i just move my processor down to a quad or dual core and all issues go away. I mainly have to do this for old windows 95 games that i still play that are very picky

Im an AMD fan. Have been since the athlon series of processors. But I dislike the new ATI/AMD merger. Thus why my board runs AMD with Nvidia FTW.

Anyway off that side rant. Just a thought i had after skimming through this thread. See if you can modify how many cores are on and see if that helps.
Dissolutionskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:39 AM   #48
RevolverAce
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwinghammer View Post
AMD/ATI has always had problems... all the way back to when my ole' AMD-K5 was giving me grief.

Nvidia + Intel ever since and always happy. ^______^
Dind't those K5's melted if they got to warm because they didnt reset at a set temp, or was that an other CPU?
RevolverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 06:22 AM   #49
Tigerdango
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 20
Posts: 249
What the eff are you guys on about? I have a custom built with an AMD Bulldozer FX-8120 that's overclocked to 3.9GHz...I can run WitN perfectly and have not had BSoD or any problem really with any game that I've run that relates to a processor problem. Including most the games mentioned here.
Tigerdango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 10:56 AM   #50
Hellsrage
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerdango View Post
What the eff are you guys on about? I have a custom built with an AMD Bulldozer FX-8120 that's overclocked to 3.9GHz...I can run WitN perfectly and have not had BSoD or any problem really with any game that I've run that relates to a processor problem. Including most the games mentioned here.
Back in the day when the FX series was released there were a few games that had TERRIBLE performance. My old PC that had the FX-4100 in it, got 5FPS in the main menu for Deus Ex: Human Evolution. This was caused by an issue that could only be fixed via a BIOS update, but manufactures were taking their sweet freaking time making them.

Needless to say is seems this game was suffering from the same performance issues back then(thread is a 2 years old). All these performance issues with FX series CPU's should be fixed now through a BIOS update.
Hellsrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Lord of the Rings series, The > Lord of the Rings: War in the North


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.