Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 03:22 AM   #1
KTHXBUHBYE
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 33
Thumbs up Make Skryim look even better by tweaking your SkyrimPrefs.ini file with ease!

Just what the title says,

http://donotargue.com/cfg-makers/skyrim/




Hope this helps people out, it did me.
KTHXBUHBYE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:00 AM   #2
GreedyLoU
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
wow thats pretty cool but im not ready to start messing with my .ini files my games is running perfect
GreedyLoU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 02:53 PM   #3
KTHXBUHBYE
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Posts: 33
Yeah, I like it. Makes it fairly easy. Just a copy and paste and tells you which settings are better visually.
KTHXBUHBYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:01 PM   #4
KuranesDreamer
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 384
Posts: 1,534
While I would like the game to look a bit cleaner, I've heard from too many people that the game was working fine before messing with their ini, but afterwards got more crashes and other problems.

Since the game runs flawlessly for me right now, I won't mess with my ini.
KuranesDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:22 PM   #5
spartan0078
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1596
Posts: 2,814
Can anyone confirm this does make a difference beyond "ultra" settings? I'd try but would like to see before n after shots.
spartan0078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:25 PM   #6
Lostar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 5
Posts: 91
That is awesome!!! +Repped you!
Lostar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:26 PM   #7
demented669
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
just changed my ini file and wow game is much brighter and looks even better with every thing in that ini to ultra max super mode !!

thanks for this post on how to change up the ini file
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:32 PM   #8
drkessence
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
I just tried this and.....not noticing much of a difference at all, visually. Actually, if anything, the shadows look better BEFORE I edited the .ini.

I took these screecaps:

Normal highest graphics settings: http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q...creenShot3.jpg

Edited .ini: http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q...creenShot4.jpg
drkessence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:16 PM   #9
Dragoonx1234
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTHXBUHBYE View Post
Just what the title says,

http://donotargue.com/cfg-makers/skyrim/




Hope this helps people out, it did me.
clicked the link and my anti virus popped up saying it blocked a malicous attack...hmmmm, explain.
Dragoonx1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 01:12 AM   #10
drkessence
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoonx1234 View Post
clicked the link and my anti virus popped up saying it blocked a malicous attack...hmmmm, explain.
I didn't get any popups and I've got about 3 anti-virus running.

Last edited by drkessence: 11-19-2011 at 01:15 AM.
drkessence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 01:45 AM   #11
JJops
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 11
Posts: 57
Forget the tweaking and download preset configs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=PCdX5oM2euw

http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=337
JJops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 03:05 AM   #12
spartan1down
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 105
So sick.. I love you. Rep'ed you!
spartan1down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 02:07 AM   #13
JJops
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 11
Posts: 57
This got just updated with better configuration for Settings based on system RAM.

Quote:
Skyrim – CFG maker 1.7 update

Easy Save Game fix
* added description at the top of the page.
* easy fix for corrupted, non loading save games
Minimum Mipmaps to be stored
* setting updated
* default 0
Amount of AA samples
* setting updated
Max Anisotropy Filter
* setting updated
Master File Preload (MB)
* setting based on system RAM now
* not forced anymore
Max Preload Size Limit in Bytes
* setting based on system RAM now
* not forced anymore
Exterior Cell Buffer Loading
* setting based on system RAM now
* not forced anymore
Grids To Load
* setting based on system RAM now
* not forced anymore

Be sure to put in your correct System RAM values at the changed options.
JJops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.