Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Left 4 Dead 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 11:52 AM   #1
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
Game crash after loading screen

I reinstalled windows 7 and every time i launch the game now it crashes without error after the loading screen.

-novid and -lv didnt work. I've tried all of these fixes:
"Crash Without Error.

Potential fix for crashes all together : Link
Thanks to : Bishop7

A lot of players are now getting a crash at random without an error message.

Possible fix : put -lv in your game runpath. Warning! This removes all the gore out of the game. Note, this does not solve the issue all together.
Possible fix 2 :
1. Close Steam if running
2. Go to your Steam\Steamapps folder
3. Delete left 4 dead 2 client.ncf
4. Delete client.dll from your steam\steamapps\common\left 4 dead 2\left4dead2\bin folder
5. Start Steam
6. Right click on L4D2 and validate the game
7. After validation is complete, right click on the game and choose Install
8. Let it redownload the file and install it properly
Credit goes out to : atrpunk08
Solved by valve : Unconfirmed.

Confirmed by :
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1028844
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1028924
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1029081
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1030939
Peacekeeper00

Game crashes after intro

For some players the game just crashes after the intro has stopped playing.
If they use a workaround to skip the intro, it crashes instantly.

Possible fix :
Link
Simply open up a new text document, paste the correct entries for your operating system and save it as "l4d2reg.reg" for example, then just run the .reg file. Observe that this is at your own risk. It's a reg fix floating around the web and while it have fixed the problem for some without creating any other problems I still recommend doing a backup of your registry before trying this. Thanks to : Roxarn
Solved by valve : Unconfirmed.

Confirmed by :
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1028907
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1028914
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1030930"

the registry fix got my the closest. i heard a split second of music then it crashed.

Its not hardware, because it worked before i reinstalled my os.
if it helps im on windows 7 x64 sp1
Sam43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:49 PM   #2
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
bump

i also tried a clean install of l4d2. no fix
Sam43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 10:13 PM   #3
KillzNThrillz
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 110
Posts: 621
Download the latest drivers for your graphics card.
KillzNThrillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 11:27 PM   #4
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillzNThrillz View Post
Download the latest drivers for your graphics card.
did nothing.
do you need to restart after the registry change?
Sam43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:57 AM   #5
r2k.Fire
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 591
Arrow System spec ?

Post system specs. Sometimes you have to downgrade GC drivers.

Get system specs: Start -> Run -> dxdiag ( enter ).

Get info as below

CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 Black Edition 1100T
GC: HD 6950 Saphire Radeon Dirt3 2 GB GDDR 5 CF
DDR: 16 GB DDR3 1333 Quad-kit
Os: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit
PSU: 1000 W
r2k.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:12 AM   #6
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4096MB RAM
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Service Pack 1
PSU: 500 W
Sam43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:40 AM   #7
r2k.Fire
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 591
Arrow Driver - PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam43 View Post
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4096MB RAM
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Service Pack 1
PSU: 500 W
Try to check your driver VERSION, than check .. link below.

Click this link, click SEARCH, and check your driver version Do NOT use beta drivers. Before you install GC drivers make sure you deleted the OLD drivers first.

Also, according to you system specs i noticed your PSU is 500 W. You could do the PSU check because a GC needs extra power for start heavy graphics. If your PSU is on the edge, it could cause into crash back to desktop if your GC can't get the power it needs to start games. Remember, from the day you buy a PSU it will loose his strength, untill its dead. Meaby it says you got 500 W, but if it is some older PSU it could be just get up to 450 w max. ( just a tip ).
r2k.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 08:05 PM   #8
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2k.Fire View Post
Try to check your driver VERSION, than check .. link below.

Click this link, click SEARCH, and check your driver version Do NOT use beta drivers. Before you install GC drivers make sure you deleted the OLD drivers first.

Also, according to you system specs i noticed your PSU is 500 W. You could do the PSU check because a GC needs extra power for start heavy graphics. If your PSU is on the edge, it could cause into crash back to desktop if your GC can't get the power it needs to start games. Remember, from the day you buy a PSU it will loose his strength, untill its dead. Meaby it says you got 500 W, but if it is some older PSU it could be just get up to 450 w max. ( just a tip ).
any other source game runs fine in game. i have them set to fps_max 61 and they never drop below that. its not lack of power because i should be able to at least get to the first menu screen in l4d2 if i can get a constant 60 fps in tf2 (max settings)

i tried updating my drivers and it did nothing.
Sam43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 08:25 PM   #9
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
run as administrator fixed it for me. thanks for the suggestions
Sam43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:02 PM   #10
r2k.Fire
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 591
Thumbs up Roflzz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam43 View Post
run as administrator fixed it for me. thanks for the suggestions

Roflzz .. ok, happy gaming
r2k.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:27 PM   #11
Sam43
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 105
Posts: 1,019
I get past the loading screen, but now i get crashes within a few minutes of playing. It still thinks im in game on steam. i even checked the processes and l4d2 isnt there. help please
Sam43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:15 PM   #12
r2k.Fire
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 83
Posts: 591
Smile Try this ( V -F ).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam43 View Post
I get past the loading screen, but now i get crashes within a few minutes of playing. It still thinks im in game on steam. i even checked the processes and l4d2 isnt there. help please
No Panic .. First try this,

Verify Files,

Open STEAM > Games > View Games Library > Right mouseclick ( Left4Dead2 ) > properties > Local Files > Verify Integrity of Game Cache !

This will take about 5 min or so. It will check all your L4D2 data. If something missing or broken it will be redowloaded automatic.

-
r2k.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:30 PM   #13
fmpfmp
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 8
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam43 View Post
Possible fix 2 :
1. Close Steam if running
2. Go to your Steam\Steamapps folder
3. Delete left 4 dead 2 client.ncf
4. Delete client.dll from your steam\steamapps\common\left 4 dead 2\left4dead2\bin folder
5. Start Steam
6. Right click on L4D2 and validate the game
7. After validation is complete, right click on the game and choose Install
8. Let it redownload the file and install it properly
Credit goes out to : atrpunk08
Solved by valve : Unconfirmed.
It worked for me! I copied L4D2 files from steamapp folder to other computer and it was crashing to desktop after loading screen. After did this procedure game worked! Thanks.
fmpfmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Left 4 Dead 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.