Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Battlefield series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2011, 09:21 AM   #1
Rhodsie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 230
Posts: 1,846
Moving Previously Installed Origin Games

I recently wanted to move my installation of BF3 from my D drive to my C drive for testing purposes (thought some in game errors were being cause by a faulty connection). Here's how you do it on Origin without having to redownload the entire game again.
Steps marked with * are optional and are merely for later convenience
1. Create "Origin Games" folder in desired location*
2. Copy (or cut) Battlefield 3 folder to the newly created folder
3. Rename original BF3 folder if you'd like to keep the files*
4. Uninstall BF3 through add/remove programs
5. Change Origin install location to the folder that contains your new copy of BF3 (Origin Games if you followed step 1).
6. Restart Origin
7. BF3 should now say "ready to install," click this and it will go through a quick install (couple minutes)
8. Start up BF3 and everything should be exactly as it was

This process will likely work when reformatting as well, just skip the steps of creating the new location.
Rhodsie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:49 PM   #2
PU235
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhodsie View Post
I recently wanted to move my installation of BF3 from my D drive to my C drive for testing purposes (thought some in game errors were being cause by a faulty connection). Here's how you do it on Origin without having to redownload the entire game again.
Steps marked with * are optional and are merely for later convenience
1. Create "Origin Games" folder in desired location*
2. Copy (or cut) Battlefield 3 folder to the newly created folder
3. Rename original BF3 folder if you'd like to keep the files*
4. Uninstall BF3 through add/remove programs
5. Change Origin install location to the folder that contains your new copy of BF3 (Origin Games if you followed step 1).
6. Restart Origin
7. BF3 should now say "ready to install," click this and it will go through a quick install (couple minutes)
8. Start up BF3 and everything should be exactly as it was

This process will likely work when reformatting as well, just skip the steps of creating the new location.
Thx a lot it worked great, it keept all settings in game as well. Great tip!
PU235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:57 PM   #3
-B.A.Frayd-
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 157
Posts: 1,166
Also, if you are moving to a new computer and don't want to re-download BF3, just install Origin on your new computer, copy your BF3 folder from your old computer and place it in your Origin games folder on your new computer. You may have to do a repair install when you click on BF3 in Origin, but it will only take a few minutes, at most.
-B.A.Frayd- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 04:05 AM   #4
lab406
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Amazing. Worked perfectly. Thanks for the information.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 04:41 AM   #5
dinky2012
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 22
Posts: 793
Or use Steam Mover. google it
dinky2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:15 PM   #6
toasteruk
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
Thanks for this..worked perfect to move it from my old slow ty c drive to my nice ssd d drive. Oh and Origin.
toasteruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:22 PM   #7
toasteruk
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 43
sorry..this has nothing to do with this post..but when I look at previous posts, it looks like theyve been dated 12th of April..when will Americans realise that their products are global and adapt to that.
As a Commonwealth citizen we say blath/st of the blahth/st 19/20blahdeblah
In America you say blath/st month..blah day..19/20blahdeblah
toasteruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:58 PM   #8
Rhodsie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 230
Posts: 1,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by toasteruk View Post
sorry..this has nothing to do with this post..but when I look at previous posts, it looks like theyve been dated 12th of April..when will Americans realise that their products are global and adapt to that.
As a Commonwealth citizen we say blath/st of the blahth/st 19/20blahdeblah
In America you say blath/st month..blah day..19/20blahdeblah
Or we could use the ISO International Standard of YYYY-MM-DD which makes the most sense, I agree though that DD-MM-YY also makes a lot of sense. Americans just have to be different, largest to smallest or smallest to largest is too easy, we have to go middle, smallest, largest...

I normally use the format "17 December 2011" on my papers to avoid confusion, because I like that order the best.

Last edited by Rhodsie: 12-17-2011 at 02:00 PM.
Rhodsie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 02:19 PM   #9
SpectralShade
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 168
Posts: 1,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhodsie View Post
Or we could use the ISO International Standard of YYYY-MM-DD which makes the most sense, I agree though that DD-MM-YY also makes a lot of sense. Americans just have to be different, largest to smallest or smallest to largest is too easy, we have to go middle, smallest, largest...

I normally use the format "17 December 2011" on my papers to avoid confusion, because I like that order the best.
Inches/Feet/Yards/Miles vs the Meter system
Pounds (lbs... how's that for an abbrevation???) vs Kilo

I usually have trouble navigating american measurements :-/
Any game that allows me to display euro standards is heavenly for me in this regard.
SpectralShade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 03:09 PM   #10
Darkman1501
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
This helped me a huge amount. Thank you Rhodsie.
Darkman1501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:07 PM   #11
grimrecka
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 9
Posts: 317
Great work Rhodsie. Thanks
grimrecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:44 AM   #12
Grunwaldt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 27
Posts: 249
You can use a symbolic link to achieve this too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link
Grunwaldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 06:51 AM   #13
outwar6010
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
love how forums can go crazy off topic im going to try this right now thx in advance hopefully
outwar6010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:32 PM   #14
Teufel9000
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 65
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by outwar6010 View Post
love how forums can go crazy off topic im going to try this right now thx in advance hopefully

this failed me now i have redl all 15 GB of data... >_>
Teufel9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:04 AM   #15
rdmx
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 5
Posts: 135
I recently had to do this myself. If you're confident enough with regedit, it's much easier than the manual uninstall process or creating a symbolic link.

1. Shut down Origin
2. Move the BF3 folder to your desired location.
3. Open regedit, navigate to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\EA GAMES\Battlefield 3
4. Change the 'Install Dir' and 'GDF Binary' entries to your new folder location and GDFBinary_en_US.dll location (normally in the same folder)

This worked for all the Origin games I tried (ME3, Crysis 2, Shift 2) - they are in different folders, but if you have enough sense, you'll be able to find them no problem - ME3 is in 'Bioware' for instance.
rdmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Battlefield series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.