Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Modern Warfare 3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2011, 08:07 PM   #1
Spicy_noodlez
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
does MW3 install from the disc or the internet?

I bought the retail copy and I want to make sure I'm installing it from the disc and not the internet because we don't have a huge internet package.

The game seems to install pretty fast (like it would if it was installing from the disc) but when I unplug the (excuse my awful tech lingo) internet cord out of my PC the installation stops.

please help.
Spicy_noodlez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:14 PM   #2
Symbiotic
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 92
Posts: 455
You can install from both. Delete the local content, make sure the game says it's uninstalled, and then enter your disc and begin installing from that.
Symbiotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:20 PM   #3
lodidodi
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 16
Posts: 458
If you use the cd it will install from the cd. Altho if you got a halfbroken device like me. It can install 80% of the game from the disc. Then it failed to read the rest. So it downloaded the last part. If you want to be 110% sure. Unplugg the internet cable when you install it.

Sorry. Just saw the last part of the post. What if you go into offline mode in steam?
Even if it requires an online connection. You WILL notice if it starts to download the game. 2 completely different screens that can not be mistaken from eachother

Last edited by lodidodi: 11-16-2011 at 08:22 PM.
lodidodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:29 PM   #4
pistawful
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 52
Posts: 595
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...5357-FSQM-0382
pistawful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:30 PM   #5
Spicy_noodlez
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
ok, I think it's good to go now. fingers crossed I don't eat up all the internet.
Spicy_noodlez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:40 PM   #6
Spicy_noodlez
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
christs sake. I removed the disc while it was installing and I kept going, meaning It's going off the internet

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

now what?
Spicy_noodlez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:14 PM   #7
Symbiotic
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 92
Posts: 455
Now you do exactly what I said in my previous post. Nothing has changed.
Symbiotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:28 PM   #8
the1stwasted
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 904
Posts: 2,141
You have to change the update option.

Start the instal, after cd key verification, cancel the instal, go into steam, and delete the local content, after that, change the update option to "do not automaticaly keep this game up to date", then restart the install process, it will now instal from the disc.
After the instal is done, change the update option back to "always keep this game up to date".
the1stwasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:05 PM   #9
Sylux950
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 588
If you buy the disk,you install the game from disk (disk installation is faster then downloading) - if you buy it through steam,you download it.
Sylux950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:07 PM   #10
the1stwasted
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 904
Posts: 2,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylux950 View Post
If you buy the disk,you install the game from disk (disk installation is faster then downloading) - if you buy it through steam,you download it.
Not true. almost every STEAM game I have on disc will automaticaly start to DL when I install, thats where the update function comes into play.
the1stwasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:05 AM   #11
Spicy_noodlez
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
Took pistawful's advice and it worked like a charm.

YUUUUUUUUSSSSSSSS!
ok /thread
Spicy_noodlez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Modern Warfare 3


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.