Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2011, 09:29 PM   #1
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Preforming First time Startup...

Installing DirectX nonsense, I get this each time I open the game. Not sure why as I can still play the game. Any suggestions?

Edit:

The problem I'm getting is that it keep says that it is installing the DirectX version. Each time I run the game it says "Preforming FIRST TIME setup..."

I've got DirectX installed. It is the right version. I can still play the game (this means that I've let little patcher run it's course every time I play it). Please post relevant things pertaining to this post.

Here is a picture: http://i44.tinypic.com/rh3192.jpg

Once again, I can simply delete the installscript.vdf as mentioned in one of the below posts, which will still cause the "Preforming First time" ordeal, but it's much shorter lasting less than a second. Opposed to the 5 minute wait. Problem being, it re-installs itself each and every time. Letting this run it's full course does nothing. It's not a problem, but a minor annoyance I can do without. Thank you.

Last edited by KillerSheep: 11-29-2011 at 08:46 AM.
KillerSheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:34 AM   #2
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:47 AM   #3
ast65
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 40
Try installing latest DirectX manually.
ast65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:41 AM   #4
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Already have the latest Direct X.
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:48 AM   #5
caphead
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 10
Posts: 283
open up the "installscript.vdf" file and delete the part where it says to install Direct x. can also try and just delete that whole file together... someone else had this problem, dont know if they got it resolved or not.
caphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:01 AM   #6
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by caphead View Post
open up the "installscript.vdf" file and delete the part where it says to install Direct x. can also try and just delete that whole file together... someone else had this problem, dont know if they got it resolved or not.
Where do I find this at?
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:52 AM   #7
marco_polo
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 119
Quickest thing would be to just install it once and it will go away TBH.

Alot of games do this automatically it is certainly very annoying, a little autodetection wouldn't go amiss. Still it doesn't matter how many time you reinstall DX, so I'd just let it run through as it should only less than a minute anyway.
marco_polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:27 PM   #8
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco_polo View Post
Quickest thing would be to just install it once and it will go away TBH.

Alot of games do this automatically it is certainly very annoying, a little autodetection wouldn't go amiss. Still it doesn't matter how many time you reinstall DX, so I'd just let it run through as it should only less than a minute anyway.
... I'm not sure if I should be insulted by what you're implying or concerned about what you're implying...

Still would like to know the location of what was said in the other post. =/
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:19 PM   #9
ollobrains
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Ive tried the thing seems todays patch has broken something is anyone else actually able to get past first screen right at this moment
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:55 AM   #10
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
No clue if what you said has anything at all to do with the problem that is the main topic of this thread.
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 12:22 PM   #11
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Nothing yet Q_Q
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:58 AM   #12
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Still no fix yet, following what a previous post said, about deleting the installscript.vdf, and that only works once per run. As it re-installs itself.
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:07 AM   #13
Kiya
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 561
Posts: 1,205
If you havn't already done so, try right clicking on the game in your steam library, select properties, then in the local files tab, verify the integrity of the game cache.

I would also check that one of the other programs you have installed on your system is not intefering with Steam - https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...9828-SFLZ-9289
Kiya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:44 AM   #14
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
Didn't work, from the above post. Still have the same trial.
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 04:04 PM   #15
KillerSheep
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 26
I guess I'm cursed with this forever.
KillerSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.