Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2011, 03:57 PM   #1
Hartisen
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 399
Posts: 3,308
No longer crashing and higher framerate but still stuttering

These last two weeks I've been very busy so I couldn't play any TF2. I played quite a few games yesterday and today. I noticed the game smoother and I didn't crash even once, but the stutter is still there. It's been months now. Instead of asking when is it going to be fixed, should I ask: is it going to be fixed? Or is it me the only one who's stuttering? I don't see any complain threads.

Last edited by Hartisen: 12-06-2011 at 11:40 AM.
Hartisen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 04:07 PM   #2
PsyErotica
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 130
Posts: 760
Not just you. I still get random sound loops that last around 3 seconds which freezes my game for that long. Needless to say I'm usually in the heat of battle when that happens and end up getting killed, showing the respawn timer when the freezing stops, annoying as .
PsyErotica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 04:21 PM   #3
Hartisen
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 399
Posts: 3,308
Then why is everyone okay with it? I know the crashes were much more annoying, but this is annoying nevertheless.
Hartisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
Dinosaur Rex
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 155
Posts: 1,424
I'm still crashing.
Dinosaur Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:20 PM   #5
Hartisen
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 399
Posts: 3,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinosaur Rex View Post
I'm still crashing.
Oh. Sorry about that ):
Hartisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:01 PM   #6
DeeJayBoS
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 97
I've been complaining about this in-game and on this forum a few times now. I never had this problem before until after recent updates. When everyone was crashing constantly, I was crashing along with them, but never had this stutter problem. Now whenever I play (more noticeable in 32 player servers) I get all sorts of stutters/freezes. They can occur at any given moment, in a battle, or just walking around. I've lowered graphics settings, I've adjusted network settings, even setting them to default, nothing is working to fix it.

When observing the netgraph, what I notice is not so much 'tall' spikes, but rather, large spaces in the lines of the graph occurring during these 'spikes'. I'm not too good with interpreting the netgraph, but I do see the large gaps along with tall spikes every time I get one of these freeze moments.

Again, I never had this problem before and my hardware/connection hasn't changed. This issue needs more attention, because a lot of people are mentioning having it, but no one is really speaking up about it. They just say "yeah, I'm getting that too" and then keep playing and complaining about it.
DeeJayBoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 08:42 PM   #7
DeeJayBoS
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 97
Here's 3 screen shots I took of my netgraph. Lowered graphics settings, max_fps set to 60. As you can probably see, my ping is low, my fps is fine, but there's huge gaps in the graph, when you see that, that's when the 2-3 second freezes are taking place. What's going on? It's making this game incredibly frustrating to play.

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/8...peline0002.jpg

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/1...peline0001.jpg

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/7...peline0000.jpg

Last edited by DeeJayBoS: 11-19-2011 at 08:50 PM.
DeeJayBoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:02 PM   #8
Hartisen
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 399
Posts: 3,308
That's interesting information right there. It can be useful to Valve to understand the problem so they fix it.
Hartisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:58 PM   #9
DeeJayBoS
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 97
Yeah, unfortunately, this thread will be pushed down by multiple "what should I name my stranges?!" or "how many hats should I have my Christmas?" or "If you were an eggplant, which TF2 class would you play most?" ... people need to stop spamming this forum with bullcrap, play imagination somewhere else, and let the threads that contain substance/important information stay up top.
DeeJayBoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 10:02 PM   #10
jindafrom
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 160
Posts: 1,508
I'm a Soldier on Upwards with almost full health. I'm going into a battle, and I see a demoknight in the distance. I was ready to fight him, but the stuttering kicked in.

Oh, the humanity.
The looping sound was discombobulating, and my screen flashed random scenes of pain. I desperately press buttons and move my mouse.

3 seconds later, I'm high up in the air with 4 health. I fall and die the stupidest death known to man.

True story.
I'm going to defrag my comp now. Hope it helps.
jindafrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 10:06 PM   #11
DeeJayBoS
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 97
I wish I could say this was sporadic for me, I'd say every 20-30 seconds, maybe even less, I'm getting these skips. Sometimes, it's a rapid series of them, with only a few seconds between them. It's enough to get me pounding my computer desk, pullin' hair, and quitting the game. It's unplayable if every time I start fighting, the game freezes and I end up being dead by the end of the freeze.

Again... NEVER had this before. Didn't even have mini-occasional freezes. I've changed just about every setting to minimum level to make sure I wasn't pushing my CPU or GPU too hard. This is just plain ridiculous.
DeeJayBoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:55 PM   #12
R2SS
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 130
Posts: 860
I no longer crash, but I do get the 3-5 second stutter from time to time. Most of the time, it's just annoying and then things move on swimmingly.

Other times, like when I pop an uber, and it hits, TERRIBLE.

While I am glad TF2 isn't crashing, this is going to become equally as annoying should it persist.
R2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 12:14 AM   #13
littlephil
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 86
Posts: 572
I've had no problems since Halloween.
littlephil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 01:54 AM   #14
mreeuwij
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 521
Posts: 3,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeJayBoS View Post
Here's 3 screen shots I took of my netgraph. Lowered graphics settings, max_fps set to 60. As you can probably see, my ping is low, my fps is fine, but there's huge gaps in the graph, when you see that, that's when the 2-3 second freezes are taking place. What's going on? It's making this game incredibly frustrating to play.

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/8...peline0002.jpg

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/1...peline0001.jpg

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/7...peline0000.jpg
every time somebody connected to the server....

also what are you settings for:

rate
cl_cmdrate
cl_updaterate
cl_interp is 0.0152 is my guess
cl_interp_ratio

recommended:
rate 60000
cl_cmdrate 67
cl_updaterate 67
cl_interp "0.034"
cl_interp_ratio "2.0"

"half"
rate 40000
cl_cmdrate 34
cl_updaterate 34
cl_interp "0.065"
cl_interp_ratio "2.0"


Also observe that servers better implement some rate caps:

sv_minrate 20000
sv_maxrate 60000
sv_client_cmdrate_difference 10
sv_mincmdrate 33
sv_maxcmdrate 67
sv_minupdaterate 33
sv_maxupdaterate 67
sv_client_min_interp_ratio "2.0"
sv_client_max_interp_ratio "2.0"
sv_client_predict 1

Last edited by mreeuwij: 11-20-2011 at 02:25 AM.
mreeuwij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 09:23 AM   #15
DeeJayBoS
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreeuwij View Post
every time somebody connected to the server....

also what are you settings for:

rate
cl_cmdrate
cl_updaterate
cl_interp is 0.0152 is my guess
cl_interp_ratio

recommended:
rate 60000
cl_cmdrate 67
cl_updaterate 67
cl_interp "0.034"
cl_interp_ratio "2.0"

"half"
rate 40000
cl_cmdrate 34
cl_updaterate 34
cl_interp "0.065"
cl_interp_ratio "2.0"


Also observe that servers better implement some rate caps:

sv_minrate 20000
sv_maxrate 60000
sv_client_cmdrate_difference 10
sv_mincmdrate 33
sv_maxcmdrate 67
sv_minupdaterate 33
sv_maxupdaterate 67
sv_client_min_interp_ratio "2.0"
sv_client_max_interp_ratio "2.0"
sv_client_predict 1
It happens on full servers when no one is connecting/disconnecting, that is just a coincidence. I have tried multiple config file settings, all with similar results.

// Good connection
rate 60000
cl_cmdrate 66
cl_updaterate 66
cl_interp 0.0152
cl_interp_ratio 1
cl_lagcompensation 1
cl_pred_optimize 2
cl_smooth 0
cl_smoothtime 0.01
cl_forcepreload 1

//Bad connection
rate 35000
cl_cmdrate 40
cl_updaterate 40
cl_interp 0.025
cl_interp_ratio 1
cl_lagcompensation 1
cl_pred_optimize 2
cl_smooth 0
cl_smoothtime 0.01
cl_forcepreload 1

//Default Connection
rate 10000
cl_cmdrate 30
cl_updaterate 20
cl_interp 0.1
cl_interp_ratio 2
cl_lagcompensation 1
cl_pred_optimize 2
cl_smooth 1
cl_smoothtime 0.1
cl_forcepreload 0

I also lowered my graphics settings, set to bilinear, removed all 'nice' settings, basically made my game look like crap to make sure it wasn't FPS lag issues. The stuttering continued.
DeeJayBoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.