Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 12:22 AM   #1
LoqueNahak
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 32
Posts: 156
Anyone got the pre-patch TESV.EXE file?

It's a 20Mb file more or less and it looks like it solves many of the serious issues introduced with the latest Steam "silent" update. I personally experienced a dramatic fps loss right after the patch was applied.

Unfortunately the only way to get the old .exe is... via backup (or via black market, I suppose).

Anyone out there that could help me?
LoqueNahak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 01:05 AM   #2
chronicpirate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 38
Posts: 250
I played for 80+ hours with exactly 6 crashes(I kept count from the start and was qutie impresses for bethesda software) It didn't even crash once for the first 26 hours and I was playing constantly..but as soon as the update hit I launched the game and it crashed in less then 5 minutes.... HARD... had to reboot. Then again less then 5 minutes crash again....I happened to be able to restore the old exes and it works fine again.. AGAIN WTF STEAM.. I don't care if it's you or bethesdas fault on this one... either way one of you is hurting BOTH your reputations and losing potential repeat/continued customers... FIX YOUR ...AND anybody better not be an idiot and say something like "OH another thread like this" or anything complaining about the numbers.... there will never be enough about it until it's fixed.. They need to realize how many people this is affecting and realize it's time to think what's more important... deterring probably <1% of potential pirates, or, I don't know what number but I know it's going to be a hell of a lot more then >1% of their future revenue because of stunts like this... If anybody important to steam sees this... if this is beths fault and not yours you can still gth until it's fixed but do send my message along to them.
chronicpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 01:17 AM   #3
LoqueNahak
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 32
Posts: 156
I used the "right click => properties => previous versions" option offered by Windows 7 and that's it. I'll see if that will solve my drastic FPS loss I had at home. I hope so...
LoqueNahak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 01:20 AM   #4
Gtamatte
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 7
http://www.mediafire.com/?98cqt2k6d6pbn58
It's not modified tho so you need to do the 4gb thing again

Last edited by Gtamatte: 11-22-2011 at 01:32 AM.
Gtamatte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 01:31 AM   #5
LoqueNahak
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 32
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtamatte View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/?98cqt2k6d6pbn58 I'ts not modified tho so you need to do the 4gb thing again
Thanks for the link mate. I used the Win7 backup trick though. As for the 4gb thing... I never used/needed it, the game ran perfectly until yesterday (patch).
LoqueNahak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:42 AM   #6
winternacht
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtamatte View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/?98cqt2k6d6pbn58
It's not modified tho so you need to do the 4gb thing again
You are a life saver. F u c k you steam for pushing out the broken patch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 08:54 AM   #7
Hrodeth
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 11
Posts: 100
I posted the new way to enable LAA, you don't need the original file.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2246907
Hrodeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:40 PM   #8
icer22x
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 4
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrodeth View Post
I posted the new way to enable LAA, you don't need the original file.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2246907
Even with the new LAA, I am getting crashes out the . Apparently, so are many people who have tried the new LAA. It's working for some, but my guess is they haven't played enough to see it crash.
icer22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:15 PM   #9
hatchbackhoun
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Tried, no dice

tried that .exe file and it worked for about an hour. I might add that 1 hour is the longest that iv played without a crash but still... I know that i have the newest drivers on my rig and i have tried that audio trick. I guess i just have to wait..

Asus Crosshair III formula
Phenom II X4 965 3.8
16 GIG DDR3 1333
2GIG AMD 6950 running
GPU clock 825 Mhz,
MEM clock 1320 Mhz
Creative SB X-Fi
24 bit 44100 Hz
hatchbackhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 09:27 PM   #10
GamersCast
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtamatte View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/?98cqt2k6d6pbn58
It's not modified tho so you need to do the 4gb thing again
+rep to you, sir. much appreciated.
GamersCast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.