Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 02:34 PM   #1
ingameshop
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 10
Failed to lock vertex buffer in CMeshDX8 Crash after 29 Nov Patch (5 Refs for Fix)

After the latest patch on 29 Nov, whenever I try to connect to a server, TF2 will crash with the following error message:

Failed to lock vertex buffer in CMeshDX8::LockVertexBuffer

Before the, TF2 was working flawlessly for me.


I have tried the following:
1. changed TF2's directX version to 8.0, 8.1 and 9.0
2. deleted all files and folders from my Steam folder except for steamapps and Steam.exe
3. added -nod3d9ex to launch options


Anyone has the same problems and knows the fix for this?


REWARD: I shall be happy to pay 5 Refined Metals to the first person who is able to provide me with a working fix. Thank you.

Last edited by ingameshop: 12-02-2011 at 02:38 PM.
ingameshop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:35 PM   #2
DaSpaidarPIG
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 127
Posts: 2,261
Try this command if it works.

-nod3d9ex

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2261937

It may be somewhat related.

EDIT: As a launch option.

Last edited by DaSpaidarPIG: 12-02-2011 at 02:44 PM.
DaSpaidarPIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:38 PM   #3
ingameshop
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 10
Hi DaSpaidarPIG,

I tried the command -nod3d9ex but it doesn't help unfortunately
ingameshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:39 PM   #4
DaSpaidarPIG
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 127
Posts: 2,261
Are your drivers updated?.

Is the applications render on your card config predetermined as automatic ?
DaSpaidarPIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:43 PM   #5
roamzero
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 115
Posts: 1,104
Have you tried verifying the game cache?
roamzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:46 PM   #6
ChaoSynergy
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 408
Posts: 2,509
Try all the usual fixes. Reinstalling, verifying file integrity, defragmenting, deleting clientregister.blobb in the main Steam folder, etc.
ChaoSynergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:50 PM   #7
ingameshop
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 10
DaSpaidarpig: My video card drivers are the latest version

"Is the applications render on your card config predetermined as automatic ? " - Sorry I don't get what you mean by this

roamzero: Yes I have verifed my game cache

ChaosSynergy: My harddisk is defragmented (it auto-defrags every week)... Can you explain what you mean by deleting clientregister.blobb in the main Steam folder?
ingameshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:52 PM   #8
srsblckhp
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 302
Deleting clientregistry.blob makes steam re-update itself, and possibly fix files.
srsblckhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:53 PM   #9
cs188
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 395
Delete your tf2 folder (its in steamapps > you user name > delete team fortress 2) and -autoconfig as a launch option then start tf2
cs188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:54 PM   #10
ingameshop
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 10
srsblckhp: Oh I already did that then, since I have deleted all my Steam files/folders other than steamapps
ingameshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:58 PM   #11
cs188
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 395
Did it work?
cs188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 03:00 PM   #12
ingameshop
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 10
cs188: If I delete that folder, does it mean I have to redownload and reinstall TF2?
ingameshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 03:00 PM   #13
cs188
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by ingameshop View Post
cs188: Hi if I delete that folder, does it mean I have to redownload and reinstall TF2?
Nope.
cs188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 03:05 PM   #14
srsblckhp
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 302
Always safe to make a backup btw
srsblckhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 03:06 PM   #15
cs188
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by srsblckhp View Post
Always safe to make a backup btw
Not really each time you start a source engine game it checks for that folder if its not there it will create it again.
cs188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.