Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2011, 10:19 AM   #1
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
Steam Store: A little checkmark beside DLC you already own.

There's a similar topic in the FAQ about seeing games you already own from searches and list views.

This is for a game's DLC slider.

For games with mountains of DLC like Dawn of War 2: Retribution, Civilization V or Railworks it becomes absolute hell trying to find out which DLCs you do or do not have.

Even the mouseover tooltip tells you if friends own that exact DLC, but not if you do. Am I not my own friend?

Right now, the only way to check DLC you already have is to go to the individual store page for the DLC.

...That I am aware of.
Lokarin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 11:12 AM   #2
overfiend_87
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 66
I agree with this. Shogun 2 has tons of DLC packs and when I was looking up the list I had forgotten what I had bought and what I hadn't.
overfiend_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 10:40 AM   #3
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
Just one bump.

If Dawn of War goes on sale I'll bump again to re-iterate my mild frustration.
Lokarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 11:04 AM   #4
DarkVenom
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Reputation: 9
Posts: 722
interesting idea
DarkVenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 11:53 AM   #5
Eunos
 
Banned
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 366
Posts: 1,217
+1
DOW2 DLC list, Oh how I hate you.
Eunos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:23 AM   #6
tragikos
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 28
Posts: 579
Would be nice
tragikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 05:58 AM   #7
Roxor
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 38
Posts: 590
The closest workaround currently available is to add all DLC to your cart. Whatever you already have will be marked as such with the option to remove it.

Yeah, I know it's hardly convenient if you have heaps of DLC already, but it's better than nothing.
Roxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:06 AM   #8
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
I've done that before. It won't let me buy any of them until the DLC's I already own have been weeded out. Furthermore, it doesn't tell me which ones are the troublemakers in question.

However, that particular facet might have been changed recently.
Lokarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 07:00 AM   #9
NalgasDLemur
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 12
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokarin View Post
For games with mountains of DLC like Dawn of War 2: Retribution, Civilization V or Railworks it becomes absolute hell trying to find out which DLCs you do or do not have.
A million times yes. I don't know how something like this doesn't already exist. It's one of the biggest small annoyances in the store part of the client not being able to tell which ones I have and which ones I don't and having to screw around with adding and removing them, checking each page individually, or going through the properties window for the game itself in the library. None of those are simple or convenient. Stop making it so much work for me to give you more money. Heh.
NalgasDLemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 10:42 AM   #10
SierraSonic
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 292
I like this idea, I would also like a "add all DLC to wishlist" option, to save time by not going to each DLC's page to add it.
SierraSonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 10:08 AM   #11
Lokarin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 23
Posts: 340
Magicka DLC!!!

*Add All To Cart*

Purchase for myself... You can't do that "According to our records, you already own some of the above items on Steam. You can purchase these items as a gift or adjust the contents of your cart to continue."

Ok, Remove 5.

Still can't do that.

Remove another 5.

Ok, I "guess" I'm missing 2. (was actually missing 3.)

This is what I mean. It's not easy to buy DLC.

Last edited by Lokarin: 12-16-2011 at 10:12 AM.
Lokarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 06:46 AM   #12
poohbear
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 122
i totally agree! the attention to detail is what'll help distinguish Steam from other download services. its not that hard to implement is it? also for DLC allow us to maximize the window so we can see the full name of the DLC. right now all i see is "Total war Shogun 2....." and can't read which DLC i have.
poohbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:23 AM   #13
MithranArkanere
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 226
Posts: 1,722
I was going to suggest the very same thing.

It gets rather annoying checking all of them one by one. I have to open an external browser, log in, open a tab for each DLC, and then close the ones I have, and I still may sometimes miss one when the game has lots.
Since the Steam client browser has no tabs, it takes ages checking one by one, since you can open several tabs and let them load.

You won't even be told f you have them in the full listing DLC page of a game.
MithranArkanere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 01:54 PM   #14
NalgasDLemur
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 12
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by MithranArkanere View Post
It gets rather annoying checking all of them one by one. I have to open an external browser, log in, open a tab for each DLC, and then close the ones I have, and I still may sometimes miss one when the game has lots.
Since the Steam client browser has no tabs, it takes ages checking one by one, since you can open several tabs and let them load.
I find it a little less tedious to right-click the game in my library, go to properties, and then go to the DLC tab, then look at that list next to the full DLC list on the store page, because that does open in a separate window. It's still a pain, but it beats having to log in using my browser and open a dozen tabs for something like Magicka. Either way, it should be unnecessary, because the stupid client should just tell you.
NalgasDLemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:05 PM   #15
ddrkreature
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 205
Posts: 1,158
I like this idea. I was actually surprised this isn't in steam already
ddrkreature is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.