Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
TVisitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 19
Can I move Steam games from one computer to another?

Hi all,

I have a Windows XP 32bit system at the moment.

I built a new system, a Windows 7 x64 system.

Is it valid for me to backup my games through Steam (I created a backup on my hard drive), move the backup to the new system, and restore them?

It *does* seem to work, but I've had some strange issues with games terminating abruptly and Windows 7 saying the game has stopped working. It's happened with both Dead Island & Portal 2 (actually Portal 2 just blipped out to the desktop, no "crash" so to speak).

I haven't followed up all leads, but I figured I'd ask this.

Thanks.
TVisitor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 09:03 PM   #2
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3942
Posts: 17,602
I would recommend vaildating all the games before attempting to run them.

__________________
Nothing to see here
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:33 AM   #3
dementedlullaby
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 84
Posts: 1,304
^

What he said. Verify the game cache before you play it =].
dementedlullaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:39 AM   #4
R4mpage
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 105
It worked for me when I had to reďnstall my laptop. But yeah, validate them first.
R4mpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:45 AM   #5
Vitis Vinifera
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 40
Posts: 124
does validate mean verify integrity of game cache, or is this something else?
Vitis Vinifera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:49 AM   #6
redentor
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 12
Posts: 20
Yes, it's that one.
redentor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:17 PM   #7
TVisitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 19
Hi Guys,

I haven't gotten a chance to do much, but on the night I posted that, I uninstalled Steam & all the games, reinstalled Steam, and then downloaded Portal 2 again.

I haven't played it yet (been busy with work unfortunately) but tonight I got back to it, and am going to try it.

I did a validation on the game cache, but it consistently comes up with that 1 file needs to be downloaded again. What gives with that?

Off to try the game again now anyway...

OK, well, I just played it for about 20 minutes. Couldn't really last longer than about 5 or so before. I need to follow up, I did read in another post online about virtual CD programs causing these types of issues on Windows 7; I did uninstall mine before trying. So I kind of have 2 variables now.

Last edited by TVisitor: 12-07-2011 at 05:37 PM.
TVisitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:28 PM   #8
kkcheung
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 208
just a reminder~~
do not do it with games that uses Securom

*Revoke it first!! (Get the revoke tool from Securom website.)
kkcheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:58 PM   #9
Ichirou
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 24
Posts: 276
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2260532
Ichirou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.