Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Killing Floor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2011, 08:43 AM   #1
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Cant start game

I get the following message when i try to start Killing floor. I paid for the bloody game now i cant play it and i have a high end pc. Build UT2004_Build_[2004-11-11_10.48]

OS: Windows NT 6.1 (Build: 7601)
CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 3392 MHz with 4095MB RAM
Video: No Video

General protection fault!

History: UWindowsViewport::TryRenderDevice <- UWindowsViewport::OpenWindow <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:23 AM   #2
skark2
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
with me is a little diferent, when i try to start the game a message shows up : ''game currently unavailable. try again at another time'' and i just bought the game, at monday night after the free weekend's end

  Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:55 AM   #3
Daimao
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 74
Posts: 579
Try verifying gamecache.
Also, what videocard do you have ?
Daimao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:06 AM   #4
daflipp
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 181
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpEcIaLiSt0069 View Post
I get the following message when i try to start Killing floor. I paid for the bloody game now i cant play it and i have a high end pc. Build UT2004_Build_[2004-11-11_10.48]

OS: Windows NT 6.1 (Build: 7601)
CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 3392 MHz with 4095MB RAM
Video: No Video

General protection fault!

History: UWindowsViewport::TryRenderDevice <- UWindowsViewport::OpenWindow <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
Try what Daimao suggested first, if that does not help and the error keeps showing up, try this:
- delete the system folder in x:\x\Steam\steamapps\common\killingfloor
- change download location in steam settings (steam -> settings -> downloads)
- restart steam
- verify game files

Quote:
Originally Posted by skark2 View Post
with me is a little diferent, when i try to start the game a message shows up : ''game currently unavailable. try again at another time'' and i just bought the game, at monday night after the free weekend's end
Change the server in the steam settings and try again. Sometimes it helps.
daflipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:03 PM   #5
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Cant start game

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daimao View Post
Try verifying gamecache.
Also, what videocard do you have ?
My whole system is Intel P67BG, Core I7 2600K 3.4gig, 4 x 4gig Kingston Extreme memory, 2 x Gigabyte GTX 580 in SLI.
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:14 PM   #6
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by daflipp View Post
Try what Daimao suggested first, if that does not help and the error keeps showing up, try this:
- delete the system folder in x:\x\Steam\steamapps\common\killingfloor
- change download location in steam settings (steam -> settings -> downloads)
- restart steam
- verify game files


Change the server in the steam settings and try again. Sometimes it helps.
I cant even get into the game to change anything. Its not cool man, I paid for the gamer and now cant play it. Will i ever get my money back if the game cant work? I wanna play man!!!!
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:33 PM   #7
Daimao
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 74
Posts: 579
Well the problem is with your videocard.
Do you have the latest drivers ?
The game does not find your vid cards.
So I would try this :

Go into the killing floor folder and find killingfloor.ini , in there change

NVidiaGPU=False

to

NVidiaGPU=True

and see if that helps.
Daimao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:44 PM   #8
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daimao View Post
Well the problem is with your videocard.
Do you have the latest drivers ?
The game does not find your vid cards.
So I would try this :

Go into the killing floor folder and find killingfloor.ini , in there change

NVidiaGPU=False

to

NVidiaGPU=True

and see if that helps.
Yes ibe got the newest drivers. Cant find the .ini. file. I deleted the content and restored the back up and the game worked just now. When i left the game and went back in, the next problem started. Now my pc restarts once the game loads
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:48 PM   #9
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpEcIaLiSt0069 View Post
Yes ibe got the newest drivers. Cant find the .ini. file. I deleted the content and restored the back up and the game worked just now. When i left the game and went back in, the next problem started. Now my pc restarts once the game loads
I found the ini file and changed the GPU to True. What can be the problem that my pc restarts now every time i start the game?
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:53 PM   #10
Daimao
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 74
Posts: 579
Hmmm, not quite sure.
Maybe the game doesn't like SLI.
Try another verify of your gamecache.
If that doesn't work, delete the killing floor.ini
Daimao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:59 PM   #11
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Dude... I disabled my SLI and now the game works fine. OMG, can you believe that one stupid setting can ruin things like that?
Now for the next question... When im in the game, i dont have guns. How do i get weapons?
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 12:09 AM   #12
Daimao
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 74
Posts: 579
I figured it might be that since it's an old engine.
One gtx580 will do the job nicely anyway
That question is easy : after each round you can go to the trader where you can buy them. Some weapons also randomly spawn in the maps.
Daimao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 03:38 AM   #13
SpEcIaLiSt0069
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
many thanks for all the help Daimao. You rock!!!
SpEcIaLiSt0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Killing Floor


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.