Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2011, 04:24 AM   #1
JorgeVdB
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Steam on two computers

Hello everyone, I've got a couple of questions I hope someone could help me with!

1 - Recently I bought a laptop. I constantly switch between my laptop and my desktop, and Steam (in browser and in program), asks for a security code because I'm using a "new browser or computer" (even when I'm not) . This gets rather annoying because my Internet connection sucks at the moment. Is there a way to "attach" my steam account to both computers so it just asks for a code if I login on another computer other than these two of mine?

2 - As I've stated earlier, my connection sucks. As a result, most of the times I try to access Steam, I get an error (connection took too long, or something). Ok, I'll just login as offline, and... I can't, because, even if my internet connection sucks and can't access Steam, it still is an internet connection and Steam won't let me use it offline. Is there a way to go to offline mode even if I have internet connection?

EDITED the 2nd question, silly me

Last edited by JorgeVdB: 12-14-2011 at 04:35 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:32 AM   #2
sosorel
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 48
1. That code comes because you have you account VAC secured. You can disable that, but I don't recomand you. I don't know why is asking for a code everytime. I have an account that I enter on it from 2 computers, and asks just once. Maybe your IP adress is changing everytime. Everytime they find a new IP, they ask for a code.

2. Where's the question?
sosorel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:39 AM   #3
TeKraken
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7355
Posts: 7,671
1, Mine also forgets sometimes, I prefer it this way as I know my account is safe. (rather than it not asking at all)

2, you need to have any updates downloaded before you can go into off line mode. I think there is a 'sticky' somewhere...

Last edited by TeKraken: 12-14-2011 at 04:43 AM.
TeKraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:41 AM   #4
Aeni
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 19
Posts: 115
Recovering OLD account

Steam is built to run on one CPU at a time I believe
Aeni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:51 AM   #5
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 2833
Posts: 16,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosorel View Post
1. That code comes because you have you account VAC secured. You can disable that, but I don't recomand you. I don't know why is asking for a code everytime. I have an account that I enter on it from 2 computers, and asks just once. Maybe your IP adress is changing everytime. Everytime they find a new IP, they ask for a code.
SteamGuard has nothing to do with VAC. And they don't ask for a new SteamGuard key if your IP changes, if that would be the case, i'd go insane.
Nekomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:00 AM   #6
JorgeVdB
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nekomancer View Post
SteamGuard has nothing to do with VAC. And they don't ask for a new SteamGuard key if your IP changes, if that would be the case, i'd go insane.
Well, yes, when I restart my pc, I need a new SteamGuard code, even if I don't switch between computers
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.