Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2011, 10:36 AM   #1
OisacX
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Playing non-steam game with a launcher on Steam

Hi, I've searched forums about this but couldn't find the right answer for my question. And I'm probably not even in the right place for this, but I have to ask somewhere, so here it is.
I'm playing a non-steam game with a launcher starting it (SWTOR actually). I added the link to the launcher of SWTOR to my Steam gamelist (as a non-steam game). Problem is that Steam is showing me playing a non-steam game when the launcher is up, but not when i'm actually in the game (probably because the game is another .exe) I tried linking the exe of the game, but it won't start without going through the launcher. Adding a link to the launcher and one to the main exe of the game won'T do it either.
So is there anyway to get Steam interface to show that I'm in this non-steam game after the launcher have started the game?

Hope there's a way, I love the steam software and all my gaming friends are on it.
OisacX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:43 AM   #2
CenturyChild
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 119
Posts: 627
As far as Im aware, any Non-Steam game you add will play and you will have the Steam Overlay in-Game (for most games)
But thats it.

It will not track Playtime, or show you as In-game for non-Steam games. Itll just show as "Online" to your friends.

The only way (that I know of) to get it to track everything and show friends what you are playing, is if the game itself was from Steam.
CenturyChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:47 AM   #3
Fat Cat
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 182
Posts: 1,216
well, if you really want to play it using steam wait 1 week for xmas or maybe tomorrow, then buy it when its 50% off again.
Fat Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:49 AM   #4
CenturyChild
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 119
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Cat View Post
well, if you really want to play it using steam wait 1 week for xmas or maybe tomorrow, then buy it when its 50% off again.
+1

I actually consolodated most of my games to Steam and did this.

During sales, I replaced some older ones for like 3-5$ each untill my entire library was all Steam.
CenturyChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:51 AM   #5
jenovaweapon
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 454
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Cat View Post
well, if you really want to play it using steam wait 1 week for xmas or maybe tomorrow, then buy it when its 50% off again.
Considering The Old Republic isn't being released on Steam.
jenovaweapon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:10 AM   #6
roflmao
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 18
Posts: 253
Yea SWTOR and SWKOTOR are different games ^^
roflmao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:40 AM   #7
CenturyChild
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 119
Posts: 627
I was thinking KOTOR ... my bad.

Hes talking bout the new MMO.
CenturyChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:05 PM   #8
ColdstoneTGS
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
I think the idea behind the launchers are to make sure that you have a way to update the game from the publisher, and to give you a chance to change options before the game even launches (for example, video resolutions that would normally involve a restart of the game anyhow)

With some games you can bypass the launcher and just run the main game instead. I've done this with Neverwinter Nights (since honestly, I don't expect a new patch on a game that's 5 years old anymore). With Neverwinter it's a matter of running nwnmain.exe instead of the launcher of nwn.exe, and Steam will show all my current game time.

Some games might require you to pass a command line to the launcher (something like -nolaunch for example) which can be done by bringing up the properties for the game in the Steam Library, and putting it in the "Set Launch Options". And some games absolutely require you to use the launcher to make sure the game stays patched to the latest version, especially if it's a massively multi-player game.

You may have to research for your game to see if it can be started without the launcher.
ColdstoneTGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:56 PM   #9
OisacX
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Thanks for the replies,
@CenturyChild : When the launcher was up and running, Steam was showing me as playing SWTOR.
@ColdstoneTGS : I don't want to bypass the launcher, I just want Steam to show me as "playing SWTOR" but it won't since it puts me back to "online" when it switch from the launcher to the main exe.
Am I the only one who wants to do this and not switch to Origin? Damn!
OisacX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:12 PM   #10
Colonel_Black
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 74
I'll bump this as I want to be able to play SWTOR with steam interface ingame
Colonel_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:23 PM   #11
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3946
Posts: 17,601
I suggest purchasing it on Steam if it means that much to you. I don't see a way to get it to work the way you want otherwise...

EDIT: ------------------

Sorry, I misread that and I don't believe it is available on Steam. My bad.

Hopefully, it will come to Steam.


EDIT: ------------------

ugh. Origin. Won't be coming to Steam.

__________________
Nothing to see here

Last edited by Silicon Vampire: 12-14-2011 at 07:31 PM.
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:26 PM   #12
Colonel_Black
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silicon Vampire View Post
I suggest purchasing it on Steam if it means that much to you. I don't see a way to get it to work the way you want otherwise...

The game is not on steam...
The game is SWTOR which won't be on steam store
Colonel_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:32 PM   #13
Silicon Vampire
 
Silicon Vampire's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 3946
Posts: 17,601
Yeah, noted in my edits...

That's another title I won't be getting. Ever.

__________________
Nothing to see here
Silicon Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:08 PM   #14
somini
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 184
Thumbs up

A lot of confused people here...

Now, I haven't tested this method yet, because I'm not currently playing any game that has a launcher, but after searching for a while the solution might not be so direct.

You will want to create a BAT file that simply points to the executable.
Then convert that BAT to an EXE(with this program, or other equivalent), define the original icon and add that EXE to Steam instead.
That program has a lot of options, like starting with no command windows, etc.

If you need more help, just post here the exact location of the launcher and I can help you further.
somini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:26 PM   #15
OisacX
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
@ Somini : Well, I quite understand the point of the .bat here, but I really don't know how to make one that would start the launcher, and wait for the main .exe to close to terminate... at this point I'm not that geek ;oP

Launcher is at \\Star Wars-The Old Republic\launcher.exe
Main EXE is at \\Star Wars-The Old Republic\swtor\retailclient\swtor.exe
OisacX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.