Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2011, 02:46 AM   #1
TheEnigmist
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
Black screen at "New Game: ..."

When i try to start a new game this will stay at black screen and doesn't start... i follow some advice, but no1 worked for me. I've installed again Divinity and i got this:
I've tried to start a new Ego game, and it started fast, so i've quitted it and tried to stat a Flames games and i got black screen. I forced to close game and now both Ego and Flames doesn't start
What can i do?
EDIT: i've tried a demo before full game, and i didn't get any of this trouble!

Last edited by TheEnigmist: 12-25-2011 at 02:55 AM.
TheEnigmist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 06:05 AM   #2
Sami69
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 335
Posts: 1,146
Read these or send savefile to their support page:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...1637843&page=2

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1637044

Check that your resolution in the game is same which you have at desktop. You could try to reduce resolution to 1280x??? and if it works then save the game and change resolution back to what you use. This worked for me black screen came out of nowhere. Basically just swapping the reso until game accepts it.

Last edited by Sami69: 12-25-2011 at 06:08 AM.
Sami69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 09:19 AM   #3
TheEnigmist
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
I will try and i will say if it works.
My fried, that bought D2 at Steam holyday sale, got this problem...
What can i say is this:
"After a new installation, if i start Ego it starts good, if i start Flames, the game will be corrupted and no new game is accepted"
TheEnigmist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 01:48 AM   #4
Babes
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Hi TheEnigmist...I had same issue, I had media codec pack installed, was not using it, I uninstalled it, probs fixed no more black screen, I read that some codec packs can interfere with games
Babes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.