Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 12:18 PM   #1
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Exclamation Serious System Crash with Skyrim

Hello all,

I seem to have a serious problem with Skyrim. I seem to play for a little while and all of a sudden, my desktop crashes. The power to the monitor goes out, and I need t unsafely turn off my PC. This happens on any graphics setting and is really starting to annoy. I love the game but don't want it to kill my PC all the time. The monitor says "DVI-D Power Saving Mode" when system crashes, the saem as when it is off. I have a HDMI cable to the monitor aswell.

Specs:
ATI Radeon HD 6850 Gigabyte overclocked
Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P Mobo
Unlocked AMD Phenom II X4 B50 3.2GHz
LG Flatron E2441 Monitor with HDMI input
6Gb of 1066 MHz RAM
Other than the info I have given above, I used DX11 and no applications in the background.
LolztheGmod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:34 PM   #2
GLaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 718
Posts: 2,539
Is your card factory overclocked or did you do it?

How are your tempetures?

Installed drivers lately? Possibly corrupt install?

Is it only Skyrim or other games too?
GLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:44 PM   #3
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
It is factory overclocked by Gigabyte, I am now measuring the temps, the drivers are seem fine, i will uninstall and reinstall and it's only Skyrim.
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
GLaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 718
Posts: 2,539
If the temps are Ok. I'd try another driver.

Edit: Vanilla or modded game? If modded shut them all off and see.
GLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:51 PM   #5
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Its gets to at least 50 degrees C while playing normally, according to "SpeedFan". Is this acceptable, or too high?
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:52 PM   #6
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLaw View Post
Edit: Vanilla or modded game? If modded shut them all off and see.
It only has Realistic Water Sounds installed, but this happened before I installed it.
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:55 PM   #7
GLaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 718
Posts: 2,539
Thats fine. No worries there. Try a different driver.

To be very sure about a good driver install go to Plyxion.net and get driver sweeper 3.2. Follow the directions then install drivers.

Also, it may be sound related. You could try shutting down the onboard sound in the BIOS and try to recreate the crash.

I really got to finish my thought before posting lol. Also, if you've messed with the preferences file. Go back to your original backup and see if it still crashes.

Last edited by GLaw: 12-28-2011 at 12:59 PM.
GLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:58 PM   #8
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Ok, thank you very much for your help, I'll do that and reply back when I have attempted everything,
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:01 PM   #9
GLaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 718
Posts: 2,539
In order i would go is Preferences, shut down sound in bios and then drivers. One at a time. Good luck. Send me a PM if you need more help. I'll answer it when I'm back on.
GLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:03 PM   #10
5thhors
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 2
Posts: 154
sounds like your power supply is cutting out when the system demands get too high
5thhors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:04 PM   #11
GLaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 718
Posts: 2,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thhors View Post
sounds like your power supply is cutting out when the system demands get too high
That could be it too. Whats your PSU wattage OP?
GLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:05 PM   #12
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thhors View Post
sounds like your power supply is cutting out when the system demands get too high
That sounds quite plausible, I'll check the wattage of my PSU and the demands and probably get a new PSU, cause I know for a fact that it isn't very new.

EDIT: Wattage, not voltage

Last edited by LolztheGmod: 12-28-2011 at 01:09 PM.
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:08 PM   #13
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Ok I have a 650 Watt Whitetech PSU, would that be enough?
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:10 PM   #14
GLaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 718
Posts: 2,539
500 Watt or greater power supply recommended for a 6850 - from AMD.
GLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:14 PM   #15
LolztheGmod
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Ok well, thats sounds alright. Leaves only Driver, sound or preferences. I'm checking the driver right now.
LolztheGmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Skyrim, The Elder Scrolls V


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.