Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Tom Clancy collection > Rainbow Six series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 02:35 PM   #1
FORCExRECON
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
Critical error when launching Rainbow Six 3!

I get an error after launching rainbow six 3. I am currently running on windows 7 professional 64bit. The error message says:

OS: Windows NT 6.0 (Build: 6000)
CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 3411 MHz with 1023MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 (8562)

Assertion failed: RenDev [File:.\WinViewport.cpp] [Line: 471]

History: UWindowsViewport::OpenWindow <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine

Can anyone help me?
FORCExRECON is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 04:51 PM   #2
FORCExRECON
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
no one can answer this?
FORCExRECON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
R4mpage
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 105
Go to Steamapps - Common - Rainbow six 3.

Try to find the .exe file that starts up the game, right mouse click, properties, select the scroll down list to have the game played under Windows XP SP3 mode.

Hope that works for you!

EDIT: I find your lack of RAM... Disturbing... to run a 64-bit operating system... But if it works for you...

Last edited by R4mpage: 01-01-2012 at 05:04 PM.
R4mpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:15 PM   #4
stinkytaco
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 690
Posts: 1,387
you need to disable windows compositing too if you are using vista or win 7. Otherwise you get flickering and shaking.

The menus are all in 640x480 too, so you never really know if you changed the resolution correctly or not. You will only see changes ingame, not in any of the menus.

If your monitor does not support 640x480 then you might want to gift the game to someone, it will not run if it can not get into that resolution.
There is an INI file near the exacutable you can change for window mode with, if you are technically inclined.

All of you laptop and netbook users should take note of these games, they run on very modest hardware. And they push the envelope with special effects for that era of games.
stinkytaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:23 PM   #5
FORCExRECON
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by R4mpage View Post
Go to Steamapps - Common - Rainbow six 3.

Try to find the .exe file that starts up the game, right mouse click, properties, select the scroll down list to have the game played under Windows XP SP3 mode.

Hope that works for you!

EDIT: I find your lack of RAM... Disturbing... to run a 64-bit operating system... But if it works for you...
I have 8 gb of ram. Is that not enough?
FORCExRECON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:55 PM   #6
FORCExRECON
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
yeah still isnt working. it gives me the same message but replaces it with the other OS in the critical error message. I want a refund.
FORCExRECON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:58 PM   #7
FORCExRECON
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
the editor works fine
FORCExRECON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Tom Clancy collection > Rainbow Six series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.