Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Universe Sandbox

Old 01-03-2012, 03:16 PM   #1
Tavajigen

An open letter to Dan Dixon

Dear Dan Dixon,

I'm Matteo from Italy and this is my first post in Steam's forums. Please excuse me for my poor english.

First of all I want to say that this game is really awesome. I'm still a noob in playing, but i like very much trying to do everything is possible in the game. One of the dream of my life is to be able, in the future, to write a sci-fi book, and maybe I'll use Universe Sandbox to elaborate new "star systems" where I'll set my story. :P

But

Please, explain to me the meaning of the two achievements "Startup Too Many" and "One Year". I know that some achievements in Universe Sandbox want to "prove" the attachment to the game, but I think that the others (Startup Kilo and One Month for example) are really enough to prove it.

I'm one of the "100% achievements maniac hunters", this is because when I buy a game I like to play it in all of its parts: all missions (primary and secondary), all secrets, all achievements. In my life I've collected some very difficult achievement, but in all of them I had to play to get them, not only waiting like in these two in Universe Sandbox. To get a difficult achievement I must play at my best, this is the sense of it in my opinion. I don't know if in your past you already played games for over 300 hours, here on Steam you can see that I have almost 300 hours in Fallout New Vegas + all the DLC and I have done everything in the game; how could I get over 8700 hours in Universe Sandbox? I have to play it for my entire life? There's no meaning for this, and if there is, please explain it to me. :P

Now I make to you a proposal: eliminate these two achievements. If you want you can put in the game others achievement, really difficult if you like, but concerning the way of play, and not the time of playing.