Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Anno series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 04:37 PM   #1
Tungurahua
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
UbisoftGameLauncher.exe has stopped working

I recently purchased Anno 2070 and when I attempt to start the game the Ubisoft Game Launcher crashes as it checks for updates. Anyone know how to fix this? I've re-installed both the game and the launcher multiple times. I've done everything in the sticky aswell. Is it something on Ubisoft's side that I'll just have to wait out or what? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
Tungurahua is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #2
dmdilks
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 615
I'm going ASK this to everybody having problems with the launcher. Our your Video Drivers up to date.
dmdilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:54 PM   #3
Tungurahua
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Thanks for the suggestion dmdilks, but even after I updated my drivers the launcher still crashes. Is there anything else I could do?
Tungurahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 11:47 PM   #4
Antharios
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
"UbisoftGameLauncher.exe has stopped working" - never got past that message myself. Tried all the things mentioned on the forums. Why oh why, Steam? My 40 Euros, I miss you so damn much...
Antharios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 11:52 PM   #5
Cpt.Henry
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 64
Posts: 374
Running fine for me, So know that not everyone has that issue. Sorry that happens for you. Try deleting Ubisoftlauncher and reinstalling it. or damn DRM, but Reinstall Anno all together? Sucks because you will use up one of your "reinstall lifes" I believe you only get 3 so you them wisly.

Good day.
Cpt.Henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:32 AM   #6
dmdilks
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 615
No you will not use a activation for just uninstalling it & reinstalling it. There is a hidden folder that has to be delete for you to use another activation. As long as that folder isn't deleted you can do this all day long.
dmdilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 06:30 PM   #7
Tungurahua
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
I've tried uninstalling and re-installing the game and the game launcher many times, no success. No one else has had any trouble with the Ubisoft Game Launcher?
Tungurahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:18 PM   #8
Tungurahua
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
I don't know if this will help but these are the details to the problem:



Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: UbisoftGameLauncher.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4df1e9f0
Fault Module Name: UbisoftGameLauncher.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4df1e9f0
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00282842
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Last edited by Tungurahua: 01-08-2012 at 09:35 PM.
Tungurahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 05:59 PM   #9
Dougalis
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Im having the same issue , its like the ubisoft launcher has uninstalled itself or something and it wont reinstall... really annoying i pay 40 quid for a game and it just stops working iof they are going to have such ridiculous drm it should bloody well work
Dougalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:18 PM   #10
dmdilks
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 615
Sometimes the appcrash could be cause by malware or spyware.
dmdilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:38 PM   #11
Dougalis
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
I see this issue cropping up on all ubisoft games atm, there is a lot of people complaing about it in the assassins creeds games
Dougalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:22 PM   #12
dmdilks
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 615
I have run this game from day one and that is even the beta. I have never ever had a problem with the game. I got mine from Ubisoft digital.

My son inlaw has it from Gamersgate and has never had a problem with the game. My son has a hard copy and has never had any problems with the game. So don't always point you fingers at Ubisoft and the DRM's.

I did some research on this and most of the time it is something that is on your computer that is causing the problem and not the game. Always make sure that your drivers are up to date and you have no malware or spyware on you computer.

I'm not trying to sound like a smartass or know everything but first make sure that everything is right on your computer. If it is than you can say it is the game. But till that point it is a 50/50 deal between the computer & the game.
dmdilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:01 AM   #13
Dougalis
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
I wouldnt be coming to the forums and pointing fingers at the drm if i didnt already know nothing was wrong with my pc....


This problem is cropping up on threads concerning ubisoft games all over the forums.. I want to be able to play the game i played 40 quid for that has just suddenly stopped working...

I have Uninstalled the ubisoft game launcher but it wont let me reinstall it , it gets to the point where i agree to the terms of condintios then the box just dissapers of my screen.
And having to uninstall games and reinstall them isnt really acceptable as a "fix" its time consuming and quite frankly it jaratees me off.

Last edited by Dougalis: 01-12-2012 at 02:08 AM.
Dougalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:18 AM   #14
Dougalis
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
The problem is in fact with Uplay their DRM, now their website is back after being down over the holidays , and not only is there the problem that I am having there is also ANOTHER problem with people being able to sign in due to technical difficulties... so when i say "make sure your drm works all the time if it is this invasive" i mean it.
Dougalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:28 AM   #15
dmdilks
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 35
Posts: 615
So tell me why my son, my son in law & myself don't have the DRM problems. We all have different computers and have got different copies of the game. Plus none of us has a Steam version.

Two of us have digital downloads from two different places and my son got his collector edition copy from New Zealand. If it is a problem with the DRM than everybody would be having a problem.

This isn't the first time Steam hasn't had a problem with a Anno game. I have different copies on 1404 and the only one I have a problem with when I install it is you got it Steam

Yes they is a lot of people out there that are having problems. But there is a lot more people out there that are not having this DRM problem too.

If I had to do this after I installed the game and it didn't work.

...\Steamapps\common\anno 2070\install\DirectX\DXSETUP.exe
...\Steamapps\common\anno 2070\install\vcredist\vcredist_x86.exe
...\Steamapps\common\anno 2070\install\InstallTool.exe
...\Steamapps\common\anno 2070\install\UbisoftGameLauncherInstaller.exe

I would be talking to Steam and not Ubisoft.
dmdilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Anno series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.