Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2012, 11:11 AM   #1
exj
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Reputation: 4
Posts: 174
Realtek related nasty stuttering in TF2

Hello, I've recently found the reason for the stuttering galore that my TF2 has become into. I've been having problems since I had to update my realtek sound drivers due to issues with the microphone in skype (which were fixed). Since then the game has been unplayable unless I use the -nosound command.

I've tried to rollback to the older drivers at my laptop manufacturer's site and to update to the newer ones but the problem remains. Any idea on how can this be fixed?
exj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
exj
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Reputation: 4
Posts: 174
Bump. Come on, I know I'm not alone in this.
exj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:06 PM   #3
PELUXA1
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1289
Posts: 9,126
What did you do to solve the previous problem? because if updating the drivers doesn't work, then you fried your OS...
PELUXA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
exj
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Reputation: 4
Posts: 174
The problems with the microphone were fixed with the drivers update, that was when the stuttering started. If I play without sound then it runs just like before, so I don't think I fried my OS since I only have problems when running TF2, and it seems a lot more people are experiencing this.
exj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:20 PM   #5
PELUXA1
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1289
Posts: 9,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by exj View Post
The problems with the microphone were fixed with the drivers update, that was when the stuttering started. If I play without sound then it runs just like before, so I don't think I fried my OS since I only have problems when running TF2, and it seems a lot more people are experiencing this.
How many sound devices are shown in your Device Manager?
PELUXA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 07:25 PM   #6
exj
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Reputation: 4
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by PELUXA1 View Post
How many sound devices are shown in your Device Manager?
2. High definition audio device (which is disabled) and Realtek high definition audio
exj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:35 AM   #7
exj
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Reputation: 4
Posts: 174
(I think I) Fixed it through changing the TF2's audio options to headphones instead of speakers, in case anyone's interested...
exj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 02:52 PM   #8
Capyvara
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Hello,

I found some people complaining about the same problem on other games, one of the users mentioned this solution and it seems to work:

- Go to Control Panel > Sound
- Select your default Playback device (In my case Realtek High Definition Audio)
- Click Properties
- In the Advanced tab, select 16 bit, 44100Hz (CD Quality)
- Turn off "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device"
- Press OK

Anyone else can try and report if it worked for you or not?

Thanks
Capyvara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.