Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 03:44 AM   #1
Grishnare
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 146
Avast report SteamService.exe as malware

Just started my computer up, avast updates and reports SteamService.exe as Win32:Trojan-gen.

Now I would think this is a false positive but I cannot find anyone else reporting this issue so I dont know. Can anyone point me to if anyone else has got this with a recent avast update? or potential virus thats mimicing steamservices.exe?

Please help I dont know what to do.
Grishnare is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:53 AM   #2
martinz0000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 8
Yea , i have the same problem , turned on my Pc today , avast downloaded the lastest definitions and then picked up SteamService.exe as a virus.

Already Submited to Avast Lab , they must fix it soon as possible.
martinz0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:54 AM   #3
DerisionEQ
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 4
Posts: 20
I have the same problem, just happened this morning when I turned my PC on.
DerisionEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:57 AM   #4
cartman-2000
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 99
Posts: 312
False positive, you can for the time being add the steam directory to the exclusion list, so you can start steam again, wihtout getting those infected file popups.
cartman-2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:58 AM   #5
Allions
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Same problem here. added to the exclusion list, but still avast blocks it...

Last edited by Allions: 02-05-2012 at 04:01 AM.
Allions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:00 AM   #6
Charlie Boy
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman-2000 View Post
False positive, you can for the time being add the steam directory to the exclusion list, so you can start steam again, wihtout getting those infected file popups.
No good, only works for manual scans. Also detects Steamerrorreporting thing as a virus here.
Charlie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:03 AM   #7
Grishnare
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 146
Thanks for the feedback guys at least I know its a False Positive now, this many epople this quickly its a avaste dection problem (most likely).
Grishnare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:06 AM   #8
devious742
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 8
Posts: 58
same here just now
devious742 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:07 AM   #9
Allions
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Can't open Steam at all now. Avast blocks everything. damn it
Allions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:15 AM   #10
martinz0000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 8
Just Turn steam services off for some hours , until they fix it.
martinz0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:22 AM   #11
katorn
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 62
Same here since the update of Avast this morning .
Even i said no problem , Avast keep block Steam .
katorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:25 AM   #12
Charlie Boy
 
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 78
Until Avast sort this mess out I just disabled all shields permanently, Steam runs ok now.

If you're gonna do this remember to stay away from dodgy pr0n sites.
Charlie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:35 AM   #13
Markus1971
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 68
Same here!
Markus1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:35 AM   #14
PulsatingBrain
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
I am having the same issue, I hope they get it sorted soon.
PulsatingBrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:41 AM   #15
alphagamer_sxe
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 112
Same here.

As I won't play anything for a couple of days, I'll just turn steam off and hope it gets fixed by the time Kingdoms of Amalur is released.
alphagamer_sxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.