Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 04:56 AM   #1
midhras
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 42
Mass Effect 3 Demo is moddable

Nice! Gibbed has published a tool to mod ME3's Coalesced.ini.

Now you can get shots like these:
"Falling Skies"
"Invasion"
"Chase"
"Jump"
"Dead Husk"
"Heartstrings" (my femshep)
"SX3"
"Abomination"
"I Can Take Care Of Myself"
"Cannibal"
"Guard Dog"
"Shuttle"
"Leap"
"Atlas Shrugged"


And more in the Flickr set.

Last edited by midhras: 02-20-2012 at 04:00 PM.
midhras is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:57 AM   #2
BastardChild
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Fantastic images! Really incredible!! My demo looks nowhere near anything like that. How did you mod it?
BastardChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 02:10 AM   #3
WaxxFetish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
Yes, some additional info on how the enhancements were achieved would be highly appreciated.
WaxxFetish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 02:11 AM   #4
fatalmaverick
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 102
Posts: 96
Hey guys look what I can do! But Im not gonna tell you how, nyah nyah nyah
fatalmaverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:15 AM   #5
midhras
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 42
I gave you the link to the tool did I not? The rest of the information is freely available on the net in the expected locations. But of course it is to be expected that there will always be people that demand to be spoon-fed. I was busy thoroughly enjoying myself after having figured it out, which was not difficult at all.

But for anyone that can't figure it out, or demands easy gratification:

You follow the instructions found in the link and then enter the following (for instance) in the sixth file (06_bioinput.json) (notepad++ can help) generated:

Code:
		"( Name=\"F1\", Command=\"ToggleFlyCam\" )",
		"( Name=\"F2\", Command=\"show scaleform\" )",
		"( Name=\"F3\", Command=\"ghost\" )",
		"( Name=\"F4\", Command=\"walk\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadZero\", Command=\"Shot\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadOne\", Command=\"TiledShot 2 1024\" )",		
		"( Name=\"NumPadTwo\", Command=\"TiledShot 3 1024\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadThree\", Command=\"PlayersOnly\" )",
		"( Name=\"Add\", Command=\"FOV 20\" )",
		"( Name=\"Subtract\", Command=\"FOV 40\" )",
		"( Name=\"Multiply\", Command=\"FOV 50\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadFour\", Command=\"FOV 65\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadFive\", Command=\"FOV 70\" )",		
		"( Name=\"NumPadSix\", Command=\"FOV 80\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadSeven\", Command=\"FOV 90\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadEight\", Command=\"FOV 100\" )",		
		"( Name=\"NumPadNine\", Command=\"FOV 120\" )",
		"( Name=\"Divide\", Command=\"FOV 0\" )",
Put it at the bottom of the "sfxgame.sfxgamemodebase" section. Oh and you need to change the binding for quit (now ALT-F4) to ALT-F12 to avoid conflict.

Good luck. And post some nice pics somewhere to enjoy. Maybe even in the flickr community I linked to (DeadEndThrills).

(And please stop acting like a child.)

Last edited by midhras: 02-17-2012 at 07:17 AM.
midhras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:17 AM   #6
Ayanami Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Reputation: 106
Posts: 546
Eh .. I'd be careful with this.

EA has banned people for less in the past. If this effects the multiplayer aspect, I can see them coming down on it.

/shrug
Ayanami Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:34 AM   #7
WaxxFetish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by midhras View Post
I gave you the link to the tool did I not? The rest of the information is freely available on the net in the expected locations. But of course it is to be expected that there will always be people that demand to be spoon-fed. I was busy thoroughly enjoying myself after having figured it out, which was not difficult at all.
No need for that angry attitude mate, in the end it wasn't that hard to provide information was it ?

Still, thanks for the aid. I wouldn't ask for help if I knew it is just keybinding tweak.

Well, obviously there is a noticable fov difference in your shots, but it also looks like the gfx have been tweaked (something like AO, dunno but it seems to look better).
WaxxFetish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:29 AM   #8
midhras
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 42
I was hardly angry there. I'm really not that bad a type; I spend most of the day gladly helping people. But unsolicited whining is too grating for me to leave wholly ignored. I've posted numerous times on forums, also on Steam, with helpful little how-to's. Often this has led to snide remarks. You can't do it right, whichever way you try.

I've not used any AO. I did use SMAA in some shots (until the game started crashing using it - Origin's fault no doubt), but the effect you seem to be hinting at might be caused by supersampling and using tiledshot to get high resolution shots.

Last edited by midhras: 02-17-2012 at 11:35 AM.
midhras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 03:53 AM   #9
BastardChild
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by midhras View Post
Code:
		"( Name=\"F1\", Command=\"ToggleFlyCam\" )",
		"( Name=\"F2\", Command=\"show scaleform\" )",
		"( Name=\"F3\", Command=\"ghost\" )",
		"( Name=\"F4\", Command=\"walk\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadZero\", Command=\"Shot\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadOne\", Command=\"TiledShot 2 1024\" )",		
		"( Name=\"NumPadTwo\", Command=\"TiledShot 3 1024\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadThree\", Command=\"PlayersOnly\" )",
		"( Name=\"Add\", Command=\"FOV 20\" )",
		"( Name=\"Subtract\", Command=\"FOV 40\" )",
		"( Name=\"Multiply\", Command=\"FOV 50\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadFour\", Command=\"FOV 65\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadFive\", Command=\"FOV 70\" )",		
		"( Name=\"NumPadSix\", Command=\"FOV 80\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadSeven\", Command=\"FOV 90\" )",
		"( Name=\"NumPadEight\", Command=\"FOV 100\" )",		
		"( Name=\"NumPadNine\", Command=\"FOV 120\" )",
		"( Name=\"Divide\", Command=\"FOV 0\" )",
Thanks for that! I managed to get it to work finally!! However, when I used the tiledshot function, I get strange lines in my screenshot. How do I remove this?
BastardChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 03:12 AM   #10
midhras
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by BastardChild View Post
Thanks for that! I managed to get it to work finally!! However, when I used the tiledshot function, I get strange lines in my screenshot. How do I remove this?
You don't. These lines are caused by the vignette effect in Mass Effect's implementation of the Unreal 3 engine. It is possible to take tiledshots in which the vignette effect is absent. However, I don't know what is the general rule behind this. Trial and error. In fact, I've overlooked it in the "Chase" shot myself. I have to retake that particular shot, because as it stands now, there's 2 ugly vertical vignette lines.
midhras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.