Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alan Wake

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 10:08 AM   #1
darrensimmons
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 4
Posts: 240
SLI support...When

Any news on this will be working. Lots of us would love to use our powerful machines properly with this game especially seeing the benchmarks state a single 580 can't maintain 60fps?
darrensimmons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:12 AM   #2
joelegecko
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 116
Posts: 1,032
I'd just try the "alternate rendering" road meanwhile. At least, that's the way I'm going to test the game once it's downloaded
joelegecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:27 AM   #3
HJP
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 268
Posts: 600
Unfortunately, this is something that nvidia needs to work on more than the devs. Hopefully there'll be a profile out soon. I really want SLI support too because the fps dips into the 20s when I shoot a flare gun on a single GTX560 TI.
HJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:30 AM   #4
yogibbear
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 42
Posts: 476
How are you guys playing this already? It literally only came out 30 mins ago.... what sort of insane spy-technology internet download speeds do you get?
yogibbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:31 AM   #5
MarkusRMD
 
Remedy Games
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 227
Posts: 318
SLI is very high on our priorities to investigate and make work.

AMD btw. has a Crossfire profile for Alan Wake (http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...n_win7-64.aspx) that gives 60-75% boost. Nvidia could probably do something similar.
MarkusRMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:33 AM   #6
HJP
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 268
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogibbear View Post
How are you guys playing this already? It literally only came out 30 mins ago.... what sort of insane spy-technology internet download speeds do you get?
Downloaded at like 10MBps for me.
HJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:50 AM   #7
yogibbear
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 42
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by HJP View Post
Downloaded at like 10MBps for me.
Damn that is some awesome speed!

I'm on 24MB/s, but steam is only going at 500kb/s

I'm sure the next driver release from nvidia will include an sli profile.
yogibbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:12 AM   #8
Max-Payne
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 41
No SLI support? It's a shame, good thing I have read the forum.
I think I will pass then, I hope they will add the support in time for the retail version.
Max-Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:23 AM   #9
zynaps
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 26
Posts: 343
From the screens I've seen the only difference between the 360 and PC version appears to be higher resolution and better texture sizes? If the game runs OK on an ancient console why would it need SLI or even a remotely powerful GPU to run OK on a PC? I mean... exactly what makes the engine so slow on a PC that a 580 barely can hit 60fps? I'd expect a 580 to be able to hit several hundred FPS on an old engine like this.
zynaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:26 AM   #10
BangTail
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 56
I wish I'd done a little more research before buying this.

FPS in the low 20s @ 2560 (3930K @ 4Ghz, 580 SLI etc). The 2nd card is absolutely needed for this to run properly in my situation.

I'm guessing since AMD have managed a profile, Nvidia should have no problem either.

JFYI, forcing AFR/AFR2 does engage both GPUs but the FPS was in the mid teens so that is not a solution and since the engine is an in house job made especially for this game and aptly named, the 'Alan Wake' engine, it is difficult to know what existing profile may work for it

@ Zynaps - It has a ton of high end features like Occlusion, AA, Godrays etc and looks way better than the Xbox 360 version - I ran them side by side and the PC version is stunning but severely gimped without SLI (at least at my res/detail settings).

Last edited by BangTail: 02-16-2012 at 11:28 AM.
BangTail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:30 AM   #11
mdk5631
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 89
can u force it though the Nvidia control panel?
mdk5631 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:30 AM   #12
trek554
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 636
Posts: 8,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by zynaps View Post
From the screens I've seen the only difference between the 360 and PC version appears to be higher resolution and better texture sizes? If the game runs OK on an ancient console why would it need SLI or even a remotely powerful GPU to run OK on a PC? I mean... exactly what makes the engine so slow on a PC that a 580 barely can hit 60fps? I'd expect a 580 to be able to hit several hundred FPS on an old engine like this.
perhaps you should look at the graphics settings sticky. and remember just cranking up the res to 1920x1080 and playing at 60 fps takes over 4x the gpu power than 30 fps at 1280x720. throw in some additional graphics options and AA on top of that then it does not take long before even higher end gpus can get pushed a bit. I mean that in general and not just for this game.
trek554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:52 AM   #13
PurSpyk!!
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 165
Posts: 3,401
Damn was jsut about to buy this, will wait, no use if Sli is not currently supported and Nvidia lately have been extremely slow in releasing updates.

Will wait for the first sale, hopefully byu then we will have a fix, but from the screenshots this does look like a really good game. Any idea the length of the game?
PurSpyk!! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 11:54 AM   #14
yogibbear
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 42
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by BangTail View Post
I wish I'd done a little more research before buying this.

FPS in the low 20s @ 2560 (3930K @ 4Ghz, 580 SLI etc). The 2nd card is absolutely needed for this to run properly in my situation.

I'm guessing since AMD have managed a profile, Nvidia should have no problem either.

JFYI, forcing AFR/AFR2 does engage both GPUs but the FPS was in the mid teens so that is not a solution and since the engine is an in house job made especially for this game and aptly named, the 'Alan Wake' engine, it is difficult to know what existing profile may work for it

@ Zynaps - It has a ton of high end features like Occlusion, AA, Godrays etc and looks way better than the Xbox 360 version - I ran them side by side and the PC version is stunning but severely gimped without SLI (at least at my res/detail settings).
Have you tried disabling the 2nd card and seeing if that runs faster? (usually without a profile disabling the 2nd card can speed things up)
yogibbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 12:03 PM   #15
alanzi
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkusRMD View Post
SLI is very high on our priorities to investigate and make work.

AMD btw. has a Crossfire profile for Alan Wake (http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...n_win7-64.aspx) that gives 60-75% boost. Nvidia could probably do something similar.
nice, good to know. now the nvidia boys only have to wait...
alanzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Alan Wake


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.