Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Scoregasm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 08:02 PM   #1
DoomBacon
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Unhappy Game crashing display drivers

Game crashes ATI display drivers at the "Press A" screen.
I've been searching the net for a few days now for possible fixes. Including but not limited to resetting drivers to default settings, updating to newest drivers, and validating/defragging the game via steam. None have worked. I hope someone can help me with this because as cool as buying a game that I can't even get past the start screen is I would really like a fix.

Specs
OS - Win7 64 bit
Graphics card - Crossfire 2x Radeon 5700
Catalyst Version - 12.1

Update: Disabling Crossfire fixes the problem but this is far from optimal as disabling it just for this game and then having to enable it again for doing everything else is a huge pain in the .

If something could be done to fix this issue it would be grand.

Last edited by DoomBacon: 02-16-2012 at 08:11 PM. Reason: update on problem status
DoomBacon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
Wutoholik
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Same Problem

I do have the same problem,too. But I already played the game on Desura and everything works fine. My Computer Components haven't changed since...

Just finished Beat Hazard at 100% and wanted to get back to this one and know it does not work...

Mfg Wutoholik
Wutoholik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:54 PM   #3
Wutoholik
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Okay: Now I reinstalled the Amd-Driver11.12 and it works again. Had the Problems only with the new Amd-Driver12.1. The Driver seems to be the Problem by many of us.
Wutoholik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 01:16 AM   #4
Rankaku
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomBacon View Post
Game crashes ATI display drivers at the "Press A" screen.
I've been searching the net for a few days now for possible fixes. Including but not limited to resetting drivers to default settings, updating to newest drivers, and validating/defragging the game via steam. None have worked. I hope someone can help me with this because as cool as buying a game that I can't even get past the start screen is I would really like a fix.

Specs
OS - Win7 64 bit
Graphics card - Crossfire 2x Radeon 5700
Catalyst Version - 12.1

Update: Disabling Crossfire fixes the problem but this is far from optimal [...]

If something could be done to fix this issue it would be grand.
Same problem, nearly the same specs except I'm running a Radeon HD 5970 (dual-GPU / CrossFireX). Attempting to reset the Catalyst drivers to defaults does not correct the problem, nor does disabling CrossFireX. The game starts up, shows the "Press (A)" at the bottom and nothing else, and then crashes the display driver.

Also, downgrading to the 11.12 drivers did not change the behavior in any way.

Last edited by Rankaku: 02-28-2012 at 01:28 AM.
Rankaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 02:38 AM   #5
maddogx1
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
If anyone is still seeing this error, turning off frame skip fixed this for me.
maddogx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:08 AM   #6
kuroitenshi
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
How do I turn off frame skip when game crashes before it loads?
Is there a possibility to edit config files?

I have a single 5970 right now thought that crossfire was causing the issue. Apparently not and have seen reports of this game not working for those who own AMD cards.
kuroitenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:10 PM   #7
cknight
 
Charlie's Games
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 44
Posts: 155
So, i have no idea what the problem is exactly. While i don't have a crossfire setup, i do have an AMD graphics card running on windows 7 and the game runs fine.

I'll hit up AMD dev support and see if they can shed any light on things. The sheer fact that it runs without a hitch on Nvidia, Intel and most AMD/ATI cards makes me think there's something funny going on.

Cheers
Charlie
cknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Scoregasm


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.