Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dustforce

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 09:39 AM   #1
Salty-b
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 467
Posts: 3,390
Unhappy Dustforce updated, now I can't open the game. [FIX INSIDE]

I got a message that Dustforce updated today, and after that I can't open the game at all.
I don't get any error message or anything, it just doesn't open at all.
I see my friends icon turn green for few seconds just to turn blue again and nothing happends.
Any clue?

Edit: Temporary solution:
Delete d3dx9_43.dll from the game directory.
This along with the freezing issue on XP will be fixed in the next patch. Sorry about this.
Edit2: Here's a temporary fix for the freezing in windows XP, also should improve performance for people with choppy intro! (replace dustforce.exe in your game directory)
Edit3: Updated exe and fixed low res sprites bug.
-m4ttbush

Last edited by m4ttbush: 02-19-2012 at 04:30 PM.
Salty-b is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:47 AM   #2
zbong
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Also just updated and now Dustforce crashes on start. When starting from Steam it gives me a error about ntdll.dll, however when I start directly from the Dustforce directory it crashes with some error about missing d3dx9_43.dll. On Windows Vista and I had no problems yesterday.
zbong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:47 AM   #3
Thron
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 95
Posts: 404
That's funny. I can start and play Dustforce fine, but I can't seem to quit it or the level I'm on.

I see they added a true quick reset button. I wonder if I'll be able to remap (escape) soon.

Edit: It looks like I have to use Escape and Enter to quit the game or any level now. I see, I see. Sorry about your problems, guys.

Last edited by Thron: 02-17-2012 at 09:52 AM.
Thron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:51 AM   #4
steeh
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Posts: 111
same here, starting the game, insta crash
steeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:02 AM   #5
GenL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 34
Posts: 105
Try to delete the d3dx9_43.dll file from the game directory.
GenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:02 AM   #6
Ducon
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 105
Posts: 662
Same issue, not that it matters with fps Im getting....
Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:07 AM   #7
Gamer@Heart
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 35
Posts: 463
Same problem here of course
Gamer@Heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:09 AM   #8
derrman0426
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1397
Posts: 2,780
Mine updated and i can play it just fine, i didn't do anything special.
derrman0426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:11 AM   #9
Salty-b
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 467
Posts: 3,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenL View Post
Try to delete the d3dx9_43.dll file from the game directory.
I tried this, and it worked I can play the game now, thanks.
Salty-b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:17 AM   #10
steeh
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salty-b View Post
I tried this, and it worked I can play the game now, thanks.
nice worked for me as well :P thx mate
steeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:18 AM   #11
zbong
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenL View Post
Try to delete the d3dx9_43.dll file from the game directory.
Tried that and did not work for me.

Last edited by zbong: 02-17-2012 at 01:30 PM.
zbong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:36 AM   #12
Ducon
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 105
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenL View Post
Try to delete the d3dx9_43.dll file from the game directory.
Worked, cheers. Also it seems fps is good now \o/
Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:53 AM   #13
Kenetec
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Worked too.
Thanks for the tip.
Kenetec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:55 AM   #14
Yakmeat
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenL View Post
Try to delete the d3dx9_43.dll file from the game directory.
Didn't work for me T_T
Yakmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 12:39 PM   #15
The Consultant
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenL View Post
Try to delete the d3dx9_43.dll file from the game directory.
The game started but froze and stopped responding once the window popped up for me.
The Consultant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dustforce


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.