Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2012, 04:02 AM   #1
hellokevin11
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 38
Posts: 168
Mass effect 1 post patch ini settings

I had to do a lot of tweaking to see what they game would take. After the patch, it changed much of the ini tweak levels and formatting. The old settings found on the net no longer work.

I found these settings to be the highest without locking up
or crashing:

[TextureLODSettings]
//TEXTUREGROUP_Character=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSize= 4096,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_CharacterNormalMap=(MinLODSize=256,Ma xLODSize=4096,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_Effects=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSize=40 96,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_LightAndShadowMap=(MinLODSize=1024,Ma xLODSize=4096,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_RenderTarget=(MinLODSize=1,MaxLODSize =4096,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_Skybox=(MinLODSize=4096,MaxLODSize=40 96,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_UI=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSize=4096,LO DBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_Vehicle=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSize=40 96,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_VehicleNormalMap=(MinLODSize=256,MaxL ODSize=4096,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_Weapon=(MinLODSize=4096,MaxLODSize=40 96,LODBias=-1)
//TEXTUREGROUP_WeaponNormalMap=(MinLODSize=4096,MaxL ODSize=4096,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_World=(MinLODSize=16,MaxLODSize=4096, LODBias=2)
TEXTUREGROUP_WorldNormalMap=(MinLODSize=16,MaxLODS ize=4096,LODBias=2)
TEXTUREGROUP_AmbientLightMap=(MinLODSize=32,MaxLOD Size=512,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Character_Diff=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLOD Size=512,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Character_Norm=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLOD Size=512,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Character_Spec=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLOD Size=256,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Environment_512=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLO DSize=5126,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Environment_256=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLO DSize=256,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Environment_128=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLO DSize=128,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Environment_64=(MinLODSize=64,MaxLODS ize=64,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_VFX_512=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLODSize=51 2,LODBias=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_VFX_256=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSize=25 6,LODBias=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_VFX_128=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=12 8,LODBias=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_VFX_64=(MinLODSize=64,MaxLODSize=64,L ODBias=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_GUI=(MinLODSize=64,MaxLODSize=1024,LO DBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Environment_1024=(MinLODSize=1024,Max LODSize=1024,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_VFX_1024=(MinLODSize=32,MaxLODSize=10 24,LODBias=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_APL_128=(MinLODSize=128,MaxLODSize=12 8,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_APL_256=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSize=25 6,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_APL_512=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLODSize=51 2,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_APL_1024=(MinLODSize=1024,MaxLODSize= 1024,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Character_1024=(MinLODSize=1024,MaxLO DSize=1024,LODBias=-1)
TEXTUREGROUP_Promotional=(MinLODSize=256,MaxLODSiz e=2048,LODBias=-1)

The standard tweaks of trilinear=True and anistropic=16 for the utengine
work, but the texturegroup tweaks above will change the game from blurry
armor with nice faces (they changed the face settings to max in the patch)
to nice everything.

If these tweaks worked well for you please +rep me, thanks.

Last edited by hellokevin11: 02-18-2012 at 04:05 AM.
hellokevin11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 12:59 PM   #2
M.v.L
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 85
Posts: 273
Hey,
I used these settings for my current ME1 playtrough and had no problems up to now. There settings worked fine untill I was playing the Bring down the Sky DLC. When I talked to the leader of the batarians, as soon as he informned me about the bomb the game crashed. I googled my problem and it turned out it was caused by the LOD ini sttings. I chaged them back to the original settings, exept the "charater" LOD setting and now it workes again. Might wanna see if you can fix this, but good settings besides that none the less.
M.v.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:01 AM   #3
hellokevin11
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 38
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.v.L View Post
Hey,
I used these settings for my current ME1 playtrough and had no problems up to now. There settings worked fine untill I was playing the Bring down the Sky DLC. When I talked to the leader of the batarians, as soon as he informned me about the bomb the game crashed. I googled my problem and it turned out it was caused by the LOD ini sttings. I chaged them back to the original settings, exept the "charater" LOD setting and now it workes again. Might wanna see if you can fix this, but good settings besides that none the less.
It's a texture issue.

I too had the crash.

For that one scene, where you confront the batarian boss, I just removed my ini file, let the game make a standard one.

Beat the scenario, and then exited and replace the ini with the tweaked one.

Beat the game with no other issues.
hellokevin11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Mass Effect series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.